Governor Pete Ricketts announced the end of Nebraska's coronavirus state of emergency. The Governor issued the state of emergency declaration on March 13, 2020. It officially ended at 11:59 PM on Wednesday, June 30, 2021. The Governor issued Executive Order (EO) 21-09 to rescind pandemic-related executive orders. With a few exceptions, the coronavirus executive orders will expire on July 30, 2021, which is thirty days after the state of emergency ends. Full text of EO 21-09 is available by clicking here.
License types (click here for list) that were deferred per Executive Order 20-10 will have their expiration dates extended to 10/31/21 and must be renewed by that date.
NOTE: If the license has already been renewed, this deferral and extension does not apply.
Within the next 30 days, the Licensure Unit will send a postcard to those licensees who have not renewed, advising that they will have until 10/31/21 to renew.
To renew, click here. After the renewal processing is complete, the license will reflect the next regularly scheduled expiration date. Click here to print a wallet card to verify the renewed license.
For information regarding Continuing Competency Waivers, click here.
Types of Credentials Issued by Nebraska:
Psychologist (doctorate degree in psychology) is an individual who provides psychological testing/evaluation or assessment of personal characteristics; counseling, psychoanalysis, psychotherapy, hypnosis, biofeedback, behavior analysis and therapy; diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders, alcoholism and substance abuse, disorders of habit or conduct, and the psychological aspects of physical illness, accident, injury, or disability; psychoeducational evaluation, therapy, remediation, and consultation.
Psychological Assistant (master's degree in psychology) is an individual who administers and scores and may develop interpretations of psychological testing under the supervision of the licensed psychologist.
Provisional License as a Psychologist is issued to a person who needs to obtain the required 1-year of supervised postdoctoral experience in psychology (obtained in Nebraska) to obtain a license as a psychologist.
30-Day Practice Authorization allows a licensed psychologist (doctorate degree) in another jurisdiction to provide no more than a total of 30 days of professional services as a psychologist in Nebraska during the 12 month period beginning with the first date of issuance of the authorization letter.
Requirements - Please see the regulations for detailed requirements.
Please contact us for an application.
National Standardized - Eligibility: In order to take the EPPP, you must:
Board-Developed Jurisprudence - Eligibility: In order to take the jurisprudence examination, you must:
The Board-Developed Jurisprudence Examination consists of 100 multiple-choice questions covering knowledge about: Counseling Psychology; Industrial/Organizational Psychology; School Psychology; Ethics; Nebraska Statutes, Rules and Regulations; Federal Requirements; Professional and Sexual Relationships; Advertisements; and Research.
This examination is open-book.
NOTE: A provisional license cannot be renewed or extended. An individual who does not complete the supervised experience hours required may re-apply one time for another provisional.
Psychology or Special License:
Process: To reinstate from either inactive or expired status, you must:
Renewal dates and number of CE hours:
DHHS Licensure Unit
Attn: PsychologyPO Box 94986
Lincoln NE 68509-4986
Nebraska State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South
14th & M Streets, 1st Floor
Lincoln NE 68508
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.