License Renewals

 
 
 
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

​Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts has issued Executive Order 22-02

Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts has issued Executive Order 22-02, to expire on September 30, 2022. This Executive Order extends Executive Orders 21-12 and 21-15, which were due to expire on March 31, 2022 per Executive Order 21-18. The identical statutory waivers and conditions contained in Executive Order Nos. 21-12 and 21-15 shall continue through September 30, 2022, except that Medication Aide renewals will no longer be deferred after March 31, 2022. You can view the Executive Order here. See all Governor's Executive Orders here​


  • If your license type is not listed in the left-hand column below, it is not able to be renewed online. Please wait until your license type is listed before attempting online renewal.

  • To renew online, click the Renew Online button below.
  • To renew with the paper application you mail in, click your profession in the right-hand column below.

Tip

When renewing online, if you need to log out, you can do so at any time without losing information you've already entered. 

License types currently renewing: 

Click here to RENEW ONLINE 

Renew online:

  • Alcohol and Drug Counselor
  • APRN-Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM)
  • APRN-Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)
  • APRN-Certifed Nurse Practitioner (NP)
  • APRN-Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS)
  • Esthetician
  • Esthetics Instructor
  • Genetic Counselor
  • Independent Mental Health Practitioner
  • Marriage and Family Therapist
  • Master Social Worker - CMSW
  • Mental Health Practitioner
  • Professional Counselor
  • Physician
  • *Osteopathic Physician & Surgeon
  • Registered Nurse (RN)
  • Social Worker

*Attention physicians/osteopathic physicians & surgeons:

If you were issued your medical license via the IMLC pathway, you must renew your license directly through their website: www.imlcc.org.​ PLEASE NOTE: After renewing your license through IMLC you MUST submit this “Supplemental Renewal Notice" form​ to the Nebraska DHHS on or before 10/01/2022 to avoid expiration of your Nebraska license. 

Please Note

We no longer provide a wallet card license. If you wish to print a wallet-size card, please go to dhhs.ne.gov/lookup. When your name comes up in the search results, click it. On the next page, click the green button that says Generate Wallet Card.

More information:
  • For issues with renewal fee payments, please call (402) 471-2115 or email DHHS.LicensureSupport@nebraska.gov.
  • Licensees can place their licenses on inactive status at no charge, either online or by paper renewal form, prior to the license expiration date. Being on inactive status means that the licensee cannot perform licensed activity until the license is reinstated.
  • If you missed your renewal deadline, your license has expired. You cannot practice until it is reissued or reinstated. Licensees who practice after the expiration of their licenses will owe DHHS an administrative penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000. Other disciplinary action may be taken specific to your license type.

    To reapply or request reinstatement of your license, go to the Professions and Occupations page, click on your license type, click on Applications, and complete the Application for License or Application for Reinstatement. Please note that we cannot provide same-day processing. Submit the form, any additional documentation required, and a check or money order for the fee to the Licensure Unit.