Funeral Establishment: Is a place of business located at a specific street address devoted to the care and preparation of dead human bodies for burial, disposition, cremation OR to conducting OR arranging funeral services for dead human bodies.
Branch Establishment: Is a place of business located at a specific street address which is a subsidiary of a licensed funeral establishment where any portion of the funeral service or arrangements for the disposition of a dead human body is conducted. It contains a casket display room, a viewing area, or an area for conducting funeral services, or all of them. A Branch Establishment DOES NOT include a prep room.
Crematory: Is a building or portion of a building which contains a cremation chamber and holding facility for performing cremations.
Click here for the Funeral Directing & Embalming page.
NOTE: The designated manager is responsible for all transactions conducted at the establishment, in compliance with the statutes, rules and regulations relating to funeral directing and embalming and establishments.
Change in Location: Submit a NEW application to the Department at least 30 days prior to the change.
Change in Manager: Submit an application to the Department at least 15 days prior to the change.
Change in Name: Submit an application to the Department at least 30 days prior to the change.
Change in Owner: Submit an application to the Department at least 15 days prior to the change.
Change in Services Provided or Adding a Prep Room: Notify the Department of the establishment's intent to have a preparation room; and must have received a successful inspection rating within 30 days of the anticipated change in services.
Branch and Funeral Establishment: Pay the renewal fee and complete the renewal application. Licenses expire February 1 of even-numbered years.
Pay the renewal fee and complete the renewal application. All crematory licenses issued by the Department expire five years after the date of issuance.
Branch and funeral establishments and crematories cannot reinstate a license that has expired; submission and approval of a new complete application is required before the business may operate.
Consumer Advocate for Cemeteries Greg Easley (402) 451-1000
Nebraska Cemetery Association Mike Hutchinson Wyuka Cemetery and Funeral Home 3600 O Street Lincoln NE 68510 Phone (402) 474-3600
Nebraska Funeral Directing Association 521 First Street PO Box 10 Milford NE 68405 Phone (402) 761-2217 Fax (402) 761-2224 E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
DHHS Licensure Unit
PO Box 94986Lincoln NE 68509-4986
Nebraska State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South
14th & M Streets, 1st Floor
Lincoln NE 68508
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.