The Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, in accordance with Nebraska State Regulation, Title 179, Chapter 20, and Nebraska Statute Sections 71-5303, 71-5306, and 71-2619, manages a program to certify laboratories to perform testing for drinking water. Performing analyses to determine the quality of public drinking water systems must be performed by a certified laboratory. Laboratory Certification is offered under the Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA). Any Laboratory that holds a valid Nebraska Certification may request to enter into an Agreement with the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health to perform compliance testing for Public Water Systems in Nebraska.
The EPA approved methodology for the Safe Drinking Water Act is referenced in 40 CFR Parts 141 and 142. Strict adherence to the approved methodology is a minimum requirement for certification under the Nebraska Laboratory Certification Program.
Laboratory certifications requirements include:
The following forms are required forms for Laboratory Certification. You may print them and fill them out and mail them in with all other required documents. If you are unable to print these documents you can request a Laboratory Certification Packet by calling (402) 471-2122.
The following manual may help you in your certification process.
A laboratory requesting Nebraska certification because they hold accreditation from a national accrediting body, another state that is Environmental Protection Agency certified, or Environmental Protection Agency or state certified laboratory located outside the State of Nebraska may be certified by:
To maintain certification by the Department a laboratory shall: notify the Department in writing within 30 days of any changes to the following:
Document that the Laboratory has successfully analyzed a proficiency testing (PT) sample annually for each test method certification is requested. PT samples must be purchased from a National Institute of Standards and Technology approved PT provider. If the results of a PT sample is unacceptable, the laboratory should submit corrective action taken to ensure accuracy of future results. At least one PT per year must be acceptable for each test method and analyte in which certification is requested.
The Department shall notify all primary certified laboratories and all laboratories that have entered into an agreement with the Department 60 days prior to the expiration date of the current certification or agreement that renewal is required and explain the process for renewal. It is the responsibility of laboratories that are certified by reciprocity and that have not entered into an Agreement to initiate certificate renewal.
All laboratory certifications shall be valid for a period of time not to exceed 36 months, expiring on December 31 of the third year or when reciprocal certification expires or is revoked. Certifications based upon reciprocity will be valid based on the expiration date of the certifying body's certificate.
agreements shall expire each year on December 31.
The following pertains to all laboratories located in Nebraska:
The Department shall conduct an inspection at least once every three years to determine if the laboratory is meeting the required standards for certification based on the requirements of Federal and State regulations. The Department may recognize an on-site inspection conducted by EPA or National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program (NELAP), provided their standards are at least as stringent as those required by State of Nebraska regulations.
The Department can conduct an inspection of a certified laboratory or a laboratory applying for certification at any time during standard working hours.
The Department shall document any deficiencies from the standards and/or note any recommendations for the laboratory within 45 working days of the inspection.
The inspected laboratory shall respond in writing to each deficiency and/or recommendation noted in the onsite inspection report with an acceptable plan of correction and completion date within 30 working days.
There will be a charge for each inspection performed: