Apply for an Initial, Reinstatement, or Temporary EMR, EMT, AEMT, or Paramedic License including Military Spouse Temporary License
Apply for a Basic or Advanced Emergency Medical Service
Apply for a Basic or Advanced EMS Training Agency
Apply for Initial or Reinstatement EMS Instructor License
Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts has issued Executive Order 22-02 extending Executive Orders 21-12, 21-15 to expire on September 30, 2022. which provides waivers of specific statutes and applicable regulations.. View the Executive Order.
The State of Nebraska licenses all Emergency Medical Responders, Emergency Medical Technician, Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians, Emergency Medical Technician - Intermediate, Paramedic, Basic and Advanced Life Support Emergency Medical Services, EMS Instructors, and Basic and Advanced Training Agencies.
Applications and supporting documents are preferred to be completed, signed, and sent electronically to the email address listed on the application. Please follow all directions to ensure there or no delays in processing your application.
Note: There is a $35.00 fee for all Reinstatement Applications.
Initial, Reinstatement, or Temporary Application, includes Military Spouse Temporary License
Initial and Reinstatement Application for Emergency Medical Service Instructors
Application for a Basic or Advanced Emergency Medical Service Training Agency
Application for a Basic or Advanced Life Support Emergency Medical Service
EMS Services that have more than one station location are required to complete the Multiple Site Form
View the EMS Inspection Guidance Document to assist in passing your inspection
Military Spouse Temporary Credential: If you have an active credential in another state and you are a military spouse, you may be issued a temporary credential pending completion of the permanent credential requirements. A temporary credential specifically for military spouses is available under Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129.01 and is issued for a period not to exceed 1 year. Review the requirements in both the initial and temporary license application to determine which process is right for you.
To apply for this temporary credential, you need to be a resident of Nebraska and submit the following:
CE hours must meet the standards of the national component of the National Continuing Competency Program's continued competency requirements or be Nationally Registered at the license level you are renewing. Refer to Title 172 NAC 11 Section 007 to see all continuing competency requirements for providers.
National Continuing Competency Requirements
Number of Licensed Providers
EMS Services must meet the requirements in Title 172 NAC 12 for renewal.
EMS Services will be inspected at least once on a triennial basis. Your Regional EMS Specialist will be contacting your service when it is due for inspection. Please feel free to contact your Regional EMS Specialist if you have questions.
The Office of Emergency Health Systems is providing the following Guidance Document to assist you in preparing for your inspection. Additional documents can be found below to assist you with your inspection.
2022 On-Site EMS Service Inspection List
EMS Instructor Renewal Information:
CE hours are only one of the continuing competency items needed to renew your license. Refer to Title 172 NAC 11 Section 14 to see all continuing competency requirements for instructors.
License verification requests may be done through the Licensure Lookup System.
License certification requests may be sent directly to another state licensing agency. Send a written request to the address below and include:
Certification Fee - $25.00
Certification Requests includes: