Effective May 16th, 2022, DHHS will pay the full cost ($45.25) of fingerprinting and processing for all child care providers, staff, and required household members through September 30th, 2023.
Federal Mandate requires National Criminal History Record Checks - Fingerprints for all child care workers. With the passing of Nebraska Legislative Bill 1185, this requirement now extends to License Exempt and In-Home Subsidy providers. Requirements and instructions can be found below.
Licensed providers can find information through Children's Services-Licensing.
The Child Care Subsidy Program completes background checks annually on all new and renewing child care subsidy providers and anyone in the household age 13 and older if care is provided in the provider's home. The Child Care Subsidy Program will complete background checks annually on Child Care Center directors. The Child Care Center is responsible for conducting background checks on their staff. If the provider has resided outside of the State of Nebraska in the last 5 years, the provider will be responsible for obtaining the information below from the previous state(s) where residency was held.
The background checks include but are not limited to:
Notification Letter to Public - Central Registry
CCDF Background Check Release Form
The Department will not enter into a Subsidy Provider Enrollment with a potential individual provider if a history of convictions for misdemeanor or felony actions that endanger the health and safety of anyone is indicated. This includes crimes against a child or vulnerable adult, crimes involving intentional bodily harm, crimes involving the illegal use of a controlled substance or crimes involving moral turpitude on the part of the potential provider.
The Department staff will deny or terminate service provider approval when conviction has occurred in the following areas:
Pending charges must be reviewed by the Department Resource Developer to determine whether the client's safety is in jeopardy. Other convictions must be considered using the guidance in 392 NAC 4-002.03(A) and weighted to similar offenses included in this list.
Providers have the right to appeal a denial of Subsidy Enrollment based on Background Check findings within 30 days of mailing of the notification of denial. The provider must contact their Resource Developer to begin the appeal process.