Physician Assistant


What would you like to do?

What you need to know

​​​Guidance: Health Care Workforce Executive Orders Expired June 30, 2023

Executive Orders pertaining to Health Care Workforce expired on June 30, 2023. Click here for more information. ​

A Physician Assistant means any person who:

Applications, Requirements & Fees

Credential information for military spouses



  • Proof of graduation from an approved program
  • Certified proof of passing the Physician Assistant National Certifying Examination (PANCE) offered  by the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA)
  • Proof of age (such as photocopy of driver's license or birth certificate)
  • Completed application form and required documentation
  • Application fee of $150.00, payable to DHHS Public Health Licensure Unit
  • Criminal Background Check

A person who has not yet taken or passed the NCCPA exam may obtain a temporary license.

  • The temporary license will expire one year from the date of issuance or upon issuance of a license. Please refer to for applications and additional registration information.
  • To become permanently licensed, a physician assistant must pass the Physician Assistant National Certifying Examination (PANCE) offered by the National Committee on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA). The results must be sent directly to our office from the NCCPA before permanent licensure is granted. Please refer to for applications and additional registration information.

For supervisor requirements, please see the statutes. 


  • Fee Schedule​ 172 NAC 2
  • Criminal background check fee: $45.25.

Nebraska State Patrol fingerprinting locations
This site also includes a link to other public LiveScan fingerprinting locations in Nebraska. 

DEA Information

Federal Controlled Substances (DEA) Registrant Information can be accessed by credentialing organizations, hospitals, and pharmacies after obtaining a user ID and password. To obtain a user ID and password contact the Licensure Unit by e-mail at

In addition to general license information this version of the data contains Federal Controlled Substances Registration numbers and expiration dates for health care providers who hold a Nebraska license and have submitted proof of holding such Federal Registration. Federal controlled substances (DEA) registrant information is validated on licenses at the time of issuance and updated on a quarterly basis. 

Renewal, Continuing Education & Reinstatement Information

Renewal Information

Physician Assistant licenses expire October 1 on odd-numbered years. The renewal fee is $110.

Continuing Education Requirement for License Renewal

You must meet ONE of the following:

  • Complete 50 hours of category 1 continuing education coursework approved by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), or the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), or the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA). Hours must have been earned within the 24 months immediately preceding the expiration of the license, with the exception that a licensee who has earned more than the 50 hours required for one renewal period may carry over up to 25 hours for the next renewal period.
  • Meet the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) re-registration requirements within the 24 months immediately preceding the expiration of the license.


  • Application for Reinstatement

If a license has been disciplined, contact us to request an Application to Reinstate a Physician Assistant License with Discipline. 


Office of Medical & Specialized Health
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-2118
Fax Number
(402) 742-8355
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit

Attn: Physician Assistants

PO Box 94986

Lincoln NE 68509-4986


Nebraska State Office Building

301 Centennial Mall South

14th & M Streets, 3rd Floor

Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.