Physical Therapy

 
1
 
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

​​​​​​​​​​​Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts has issued Executive Order 22-02

Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts has issued Executive Order 22-02, to expire on September 30, 2022. This Executive Order extends Executive Orders 21-12 and 21-15, which were due to expire on March 31, 2022 per Executive Order 21-18. The identical statutory waivers and conditions contained in Executive Order Nos. 21-12 and 21-15 shall continue through September 30, 2022, except that Medication Aide renewals will no longer be deferred after March 31, 2022. You can view the Executive Order here​​.​ See all Governor's Executive Orders here​.

​​ ​​

Applications, Requirements & Fees

  

​Fee Information

The below forms may be completed online but must be physically signed and dated. Please fill out the form, then print, sign, and date it and mail it to our office with the appropriate fee.

Applications  

Examinations - Register and pay examination fee(s) and transfer exam scores with FSBPT​

NELAW (Jurisprudence) Examination Study Material
Nebraska candidate handbook CDs are no longer mailed to applicants.

All study materials are located in the links below. Please download or review the Candidate Information Booklet and the Study Guide first. Then follow the Study Guide. The Study Guide indicates what category and section in a statute or regulation you should review for the NELAW examination. Anything not listed in the Study Guide will not be in the NELAW Examination.

Foreign Trained Physical Therapists

Approved Education Credential Evaluators:

Please refrain from visiting the below website if you are not a licensed Physical Therapist or Physical Therapy Assistant. Overuse of the site can prevent licensed individuals from accessing it as needed.
Nebraska Law Tutorial – requirement for license renewals and reinstatements only 

Compact Information

The Physical Therapy Compact allows eligible licensed physical therapists to practice and licensed physical therapist assistants to work in a Compact member state, other than their home state, without going through the usual process for licensure in the remote state. 

In order to obtain a compact privilege in Nebraska, you must:

  • Hold an unencumbered active license in a state that is a member of the Physical Therapy Compact and be a permanent resident in that state
  • Be free of disciplinary actions for at least two years and have no encumbrances on any license
  • Apply for the compact privilege through the Physical Therapy Compact's website: www.ptcompact.org.

For more information about the PT Compact, or to see if your state is a member, please visit www.ptcompact.org or:

If you did not find a licensee please also check the PT Compact Commission verification page to see if the PT or PTA holds a compact privilege in Nebraska.

Renewal & Continuing Competency

The Board of Physical Therapy does not pre-approve Continuing Education or Continuing Education Providers.

Physical Therapist:

  • Expiration date: November 1 of each odd-numbered year.
  • Continuing Education (CE) Requirements: 20 hours of acceptable CE

Physical Therapist Assistant:

  • Expiration date: November 1 of each odd-numbered year.
  • Continuing Education (CE) Requirements: 10 hours of acceptable CE

Acceptable Continuing Education 

Continuing Competency Waiver Information


Advisory opinion: Sharp Wound Debridement​​

Office of Rehabilitation & Community Services
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-2299
 
Fax Number
(402) 742-1152
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit

Attn: Physical Therapy

PO Box 94986

Lincoln NE 68509-4986

 

Nebraska State Office Building

301 Centennial Mall South

14th & M Streets, 1st Floor

Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.