Pharmacy Technician


What would you like to do?

What you need to know

​​Governor Ricketts Ends Coronavirus State of Emergency

Governor Pete Ricketts announced the end of Nebraska's coronavirus state of emergency. The Governor issued the state of emergency declaration on March 13, 2020. It officially ended at 11:59 PM on Wednesday, June 30, 2021.  The Governor issued Executive Order (EO) 21-09 to rescind pandemic-related executive orders.  With a few exceptions, the coronavirus executive orders will expire on July 30, 2021, which is thirty days after the state of emergency ends. Full text of EO 21-09 is available by clicking here.

Renewal Update as of 6/28/21: The governor of the State of Nebraska has announced that the COVID-19 State of Emergency expires at 6/30/21 at 11:59 p.m. 

License types (click here for list) that were deferred per Executive Order 20-10 will have their expiration dates extended to 10/31/21 and must be renewed by that date.

NOTE: If the license has already been renewed, this deferral and extension does not apply.

Within the next 30 days, the Licensure Unit will send a postcard to those licensees who have not renewed, advising that they will have until 10/31/21 to renew. 

To renew, click here​​. After the renewal processing is complete, the license will reflect the next regularly scheduled expiration date. Click here to print a wallet card or to verify the renewed license.

For information regarding Continuing Competency Waivers, click here.


For FDA guidance concerning COVID-19 please click here for the FDA website.

A pharmacy technician must:
  • be at least 18 years old
  • be a high school graduate or recognized by the State Department of Education as having the equivalent level of education
  • have never been convicted of any non-alcohol, drug-related misdemeanor or felony
  • be registered by DHHS as a pharmacy technician

A pharmacy technician may only perform tasks which do not require professional judgment and which are subject to verification to assist a pharmacist in the practice of pharmacy.  

Registration, Renewal and Reinstatement Information

Anyone employed as a Pharmacy Technician must be registered before the first date of working as a pharmacy technician. If you were registered as a Pharmacy Technician as of January 1, 2016, you must be able to demonstrate completion of a board approved state or national pharmacy technician certification program. If you were first registered after January 1, 2016, you must be certified within one year from the registration date.

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Technician

  • Registrations are renewable January 1 of odd-numbered years.
  • The registration fee is $25.00.
  • The registration may be placed on Inactive Status at any time.

To reinstate your registration, you must submit:

  • A completed Pharmacy Technician Reinstatement Application 
  • The renewal and reinstatement fees
  • Additional documentation requested, if applicable, based on the answers you give to the questions on the application for reinstatement.
Office of Medical & Specialized Health
Department of Health and Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-2118
Fax Number
(402) 742-8355
Mailing & Physical Addresses

Licensure Unit
Attn: Pharmacy
PO Box 94986
Lincoln NE 68509-4986


Nebraska State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South
14th & M Streets, 1st Floor
Lincoln NE 68509
Hours: Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Closed on federal holidays