Governor Pete Ricketts announced the end of Nebraska's coronavirus state of emergency. The Governor issued the state of emergency declaration on March 13, 2020. It officially ended at 11:59 PM on Wednesday, June 30, 2021. The Governor issued Executive Order (EO) 21-09 to rescind pandemic-related executive orders. With a few exceptions, the coronavirus executive orders will expire on July 30, 2021, which is thirty days after the state of emergency ends. Full text of EO 21-09 is available by clicking here.
Types of licenses issued in Nebraska:
Nursing Home Administrator Applications:
Please see the regulations and statutes for detailed requirements for an initial Nursing Home Administrator license.
National Examination: In Nebraska, applicants for an initial license are required to take the National Association of Boards of Examiners for Nursing Home Administration written examination (NAB). Nebraska does not require a state examination.
You MUST apply for the examination on the NAB website at: nabweb.org.
Results: You will be given same-day results. The Licensure Unit will send the detailed score report to applicants within approximately 10 days.
Re-Testing: Those who fail may retake the exam by applying to the NAB. The applicant must pay the examination fee for the computer-based exam each time the test is taken.
Renewal Dates and CE Hours
Supervising and AIT/Mentor: If a preceptor supervises an AIT/Mentor during the renewal period, the preceptor will be granted eight hours of preceptor CE for supervising one AIT/Mentor and a total of 16 hours for supervising 2 AITs/Mentors during the four-year renewal period. These hours may also be included in the required CE hours to renew the NHA license.
If a preceptor does not supervise an AIT/Mentor during the four-year renewal period, in order to maintain an active preceptor certification the preceptor must complete a board-approved preceptor training program.
The board does not approve CE programs for nursing home administers.
CE and Carry-Over Hours: A licensee may carry over up to 25 hours earned beyond the 50 hours for the next renewal period. No more than the total number of approved hours offered in Nebraska will be required during this period. Hours are defined as:
To reinstate from either inactive or expired status, you must:
DHHS Licensure Unit
Attn: Nursing Home Admin.
PO Box 94986
Lincoln NE 68509-4986
Nebraska State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South14th & M Streets, 1st Floor
Lincoln NE 68508
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.