Nursing Controlled Substance Information

Professions & Occupations

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

​​​​​ APRN Prescribers DEA Registration

APRN Prescribers DEA Registration
  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs) who intend to prescribe controlled substances directly to consumers must obtain a federal Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) controlled substance registration.
  • DEA registrations must be completed for each state where the APRN intends to prescribe controlled substances.
  • Nebraska does not issue a separate state-controlled substance registration.
  • Registration forms and support can be accessed at

DEA Regional Office:

U.S. Department of Justice
St Louis Field Division
317 So. 16th
St Louis MO 63103
Phone: (314) 538-4600

Mandatory Opiate Prescribing CE Requirements
Nurse Practitioners and Certified Nurse Midwives

LB731 was passed by the 2018 Legislature. LB731 requires health care professionals that prescribe controlled substances, including Nurse Practitioners (NPs) and Certified Nurse Midwives (CNMs), to complete 3 hours of continuing education (CE) in opiate prescribing in order to qualify for license renewal beginning in 2020 and ending with the 2028 renewal.

Continuing education may include, but is not limited to, education regarding prescribing and administering opiates; the risks and indicators regarding development of addiction to opiates; and emergency opiate situations. One half hour of the 3 hours of CE shall cover a Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP).

Nebraska DHHS offers qualifying programs at no cost. The DHHS programs are not peer-reviewed and may not meet requirements for continuing education hours for the renewal of board certification. Certificates of completion will be emailed following successful completion of questions to assess learning.

The DHHS programs will be reviewed and updated with information that is specific to Nebraska prescribers and evidence-based practice recommendations at 6-12 month intervals.

  1. Naloxone videos (0.5 hrs) 
  2. Pain Management videos (4 videos total of 2.5hrs)
  3. PDMP On-Demand Training Video (0.5 hrs)
    (Content is intended to facilitate participation in the Nebraska PDMP)

Nurse practitioners and CNMs may also participate in CE offerings for opiate prescribing education from other professional education sources of their choice. The PDMP content in courses from outside of the state may not meet the needs of Nebraska prescribers for participation in the Nebraska PDMP. 

A random audit will be conducted by the Nursing Licensure Unit to assure compliance with LB731 requirements for opiate education. Individuals selected for audit will be notified and required to submit certificates of program completion totaling 3 hours.  

Questions regarding the CE requirements can be directed to Ginger Rogers (​ or (402) 471-6443.

Credentialing Organizations, Hospitals and Pharmacies

Federal controlled substances (DEA) registrant information can be accessed after obtaining a user ID and password. To obtain them, contact the Licensure Unit at

In addition to general license information, this version of the data contains federal controlled substances registration numbers and expiration dates for health care providers who hold a Nebraska license and have submitted proof of holding such federal registration. Federal controlled substances registrant information is validated on licenses at the time of issuance and updated on a quarterly basis. Federal Controlled Substance Registrant

For questions regarding Nebraska Pharmacy regulations, please contact Vonda Apking, or
(402) 471-2118.

Back to Nursing home page