Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts has issued Executive Order 22-08, to expire on June 30, 2023. View the Executive Order here. This Executive Order applies to:
A Temporary Medical Radiographer is a student in a medical radiography education program who has completed at least 12 months of that program. This person can perform the duties of a limited radiographer. A temporary license expires 18 months from the date it's issued and cannot be renewed.
A Limited Radiographer may perform:
A Medical Radiographer may practice medical radiography on any part of the human body for interpretation by and under the direction of a licensed practitioner, except for interpretive interpretative fluoroscopic procedures.
Temporary Limited Computed Tomography (CT) Radiographer
A person registered in nuclear medicine can apply for a temporary limited CT license. This license expires 24 months after it's issued and cannot not be renewed. Persons licensed as temporary limited CT radiographers can perform medical radiography restricted to CT while under the direct supervision and in the physical presence of licensed practitioners, medical radiographers, or limited CT radiographers.
Limited Computed Tomography Radiographer
This person may practice medical radiography restricted to CT scan. Note: A nuclear medicine technologist may perform CT without being licensed under the Medical Radiography Practice Act if such practice is limited to X-rays produced by a combination nuclear medicine-CT system and administered as an integral part of a nuclear medicine procedure that uses a CT protocol for purposes of attenuation correction and anatomical localization only and if the nuclear medicine technologist has received documented device-specific training on the combination nuclear medicine-CT system.
A Licensed Practitioner is a person licensed to practice medicine, dentistry, podiatry, chiropractic, osteopathic medicine and surgery, or as an osteopathic physician.
For complete definitions of the above license types, please see the regulations for medical radiography.
Please see the regulations and the application form for details on requirements for licensure.
Medical Radiographers, Limited Radiographers, and Limited Computed Tomography Radiographers:
Temporary Medical Radiographers and Temporary Limited Computed Tomography Radiographers:
All licenses expire on Dec. 1 of even years.
Twenty-four hours of acceptable continuing education earned during the preceding 24-month period prior to the license expiration date are required to renew your license.
A continuing education audit will be performed after the renewal.
If you are randomly selected for an audit to provide proof of continuing education, you will be notified by mail at a later date. Retain all documentation of continuing education activities completed for the renewal of your credential for at least four years.
Medical Radiographers can submit a copy of their current unrestricted ARRT card as proof of meeting the continuing education requirements.
***Do NOT submit continuing education certificates to this office unless you are requested to do so.***
In order to reinstate your license, you must submit:
DHHS Licensure Unit
Attn: Medical Radiography
PO Box 94986
Lincoln NE 68509-4986
Nebraska State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South
14th & M Streets, 1st Floor
Lincoln NE 68508
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.