Audiology and Speech Language Pathology

 
1
Professions & Occupations
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

​​​​​​​​​Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts has issued Executive Order 22-02

Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts has issued Executive Order 22-02, to expire on September 30, 2022. This Executive Order extends Executive Orders 21-12 and 21-15, which were due to expire on March 31, 2022 per Executive Order 21-18. The identical statutory waivers and conditions contained in Executive Order Nos. 21-12 and 21-15 shall continue through September 30, 2022, except that Medication Aide renewals will no longer be deferred after March 31, 2022. ​You can view the Executive Order here​​.​ See all Governor's Executive Orders here​.


New regulations effective December 13, 2020

Please see the Audiology & Speech Language Pathology​ regulations, 172 NAC 23 & 24, in the Regulations & Statutes box on the right side of this page.

Continuing Competency Waiver Information


Audiology: Audiologists perform the functions necessary for the prevention, assessment, habilitation, rehabilitation, and maintenance of persons with hearing, auditory function, and vestibular function impairments and related impairments.

Speech-Language Pathology: Speech-Language Pathologists apply principles and methods associated with the development and disorders of human communication skills and dysphagia for the purpose of improving quality of life by reducing impairments of body functions and structures, activity limitations, participation restrictions and environmental barriers.

The practice of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology does not include medical diagnosis, medical treatment or surgery.

Effective August 24, 2017, a licensed Nebraska Audiologist will no longer be required to obtain and maintain a Hearing Instrument Specialist license in order to dispense hearing instruments.  Neb. Rev. Stat. §38- 1509 (2) will now read, “A licensed audiologist who maintains a practice pursuant to licensure as an audiologist in which hearing instruments are regularly dispensed or who intends to maintain such a practice shall be exempt from the requirement to be licensed as a hearing instrument specialist."

FAQs

Compact Information

The Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Interstate Compact (ASLP-IC) allows eligible licensed audiologists and speech-language pathologists an alternative method for providing services in other member states. If you are interested in learning more about the ASLP-IC please click here​.  

Click here for information regarding ASLP-IC meetings, proposed rules, and comment submission. 

Continuing Education & Renewal Information

Continuing Education

On December 1 of even-numbered years, each audiologist or speech-language pathologist holding an active license in the State of Nebraska must have completed at least 20 hours of approved continuing education during the preceding 24-month period.

The Department waives continuing competency requirements for individuals who were first credentialed within the 24-month period immediately preceding the renewal date.

Please see the regulations at right for additional continuing education criteria.

RENEWAL INFORMATION

Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology licenses expire on December 1 of each even-numbered year. The Licensure Unit will send a renewal notice to the license holder's last address of record at least 30 days before the expiration date. An Audiology or Speech Language Pathology license holder can renew either online using a credit card or by mailing the paper application form found on our website along with a check for the renewal fee. During the renewal period, these options are available on the Licensure Unit's renewal web page.

For detailed information on the renewal, revocation and reinstatement process, please see the regulations relating to Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology at right.

Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology Assistant credentials expire one year from the date of issuance. The Licensure Unit will send a renewal notice to the license holder's last address of record at least 30 days before the expiration date. During the timeframe for credential renewal, an Audiology or Speech-Language Pathology Assistant credential holder can renew by mailing a paper application form with a check for the renewal fee. The application will be found on the Licensure Unit's renewal web page.

For more information on the renewal, revocation and reinstatement process, please see the regulations relating to Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology Assistants at right. 


Office of Rehabilitation & Community Services
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-2299
 
Fax Number
(402) 742-1152
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit
Attn: Audiology/SLP Licensing

PO Box 94986
Lincoln NE 68509-4986

 

Nebraska State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South

14th & M Streets, 1st Floor
Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.