GDL allows young drivers to safely gain experience before obtaining full driving privileges (GHSA*). GDL laws reduce teen-related motor vehicle crashes because they keep teens out of high risk situations like those listed below. Since the implementation of the Nebraska GDL law in 1998, teen crashes have been reduced by at least 60 percent.
A teen's crash risk is affected by brain development, personality, level of experience and driving in high-risk driving situations. GDL provisions work to reduce a teen's exposure to high risk situations in order to reduce the likelihood of involvement in a crash.
The following are Nebraska's GDL driving restrictions and why they are important for a teen's safety.
Holder of a POP (Provisional Operator Permit) shall not drive from midnight to 6 AM unless to or from school activities or work.
For the first 6 months, holder of a POP is limited to one passenger younger than 19 who is not an immediate family member.
Holder of a School Learners Permit (LPE), School Permit (SCP), Learners Permit (LPD) or Provisional Operators Permit (POP) shall not use any type of interactive wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle.
All persons being transported, including the driver, must use a seat belt.
Anyone under age 21 is prohibited from driving with any measureable amount of alcohol in their body, zero tolerance.