Expiration Dates for Some License Types Extended To June 30

News Release
For Immediate Release: 3/1/2021

Garret Swanson, Office of Communications, (402) 480-0883;


Lincoln – On March 27, 2020, Governor Pete Ricketts signed Executive Order 20-10 which suspended several statutes and their implementing regulations from the Uniform Credentialing Act, pushing back the renewal deadline for several licenses until 30 days after the COVID-19 State of Emergency is lifted.​

Licensees whose renewal was impacted by Executive Order 20-10 who choose to renew prior to the closing date of the executive order may now do so. Licensees are being notified via postcard when renewal is available. 

To renew, go to dhhs.ne.gov/renew. The record of those who choose to renew before the Executive Order expires will reflect the expiration date that coincides with the next regular renewal period. A wallet card can be printed to verify the new expiration date at dhhs.ne.gov/lookup.

If the licensee chooses to continue to defer renewal, the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Licensure Unit will notify him or her when renewal is required. Licensees will then have 90 days to renew. For information regarding Continuing Competency waivers, check out http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Documents/ContCompWaiverInfo.pdf. ​

License types with renewal deferred by EO 20-10 include:

  • Medicine and Surgery: Physicians (MD), Temporary Educational Permits (TEP), Physician Assistants (PA), and Acupuncturists
  • Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery: Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons (DO)
  • Advanced Practice Nursing: Certified Nurse Midwives (CNM), Nurse Practitioners (NP), Clinical Nurse Specialists (CNS), and Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNA)

License types with renewal deferred by EO 20-10 continued:​

  • Emergency Medical Services: Emergency Medical Responders (EMR), Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT), Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians (AEMT), Emergency Medical Technicians – Intermediate (EMT-I), and Paramedics
  • Mental Health Practice: Licensed Independent Mental Health Practitioners (LIMHP), Licensed Mental Health Practitioners (LMHP), Certified Marriage and Family Therapists (MFT), Certified Professional Counselors (PC), Certified Master Social Workers (CMSW), and Certified Social Workers (CSW)
  • Nursing: Registered Nurses (RN)
  • Pharmacy: Pharmacy Technicians
  • Perfusion: Perfusionists
  • Psychology: Psychologists
  • Respiratory Care: Respiratory Care Practitioners
  • Surgical Assisting: Surgical First Assistants

Go to
All News Releases