Governor Pete Ricketts announced the end of Nebraska's coronavirus state of emergency. The Governor issued the state of emergency declaration on March 13, 2020. It officially ended at 11:59 PM on Wednesday, June 30, 2021. The Governor issued Executive Order (EO) 21-09 to rescind pandemic-related executive orders. With a few exceptions, the coronavirus executive orders will expire on July 30, 2021, which is thirty days after the state of emergency ends. Full text of EO 21-09 is available by clicking here.
Per Legislative Bill 18, dental assistants working in a dental office may continue working in an unlicensed status or pursue a license as a dental assistant professional in the office.
An unlicensed dental assistant, when employed by a licensed dentist, is authorized to assist the dentist in the performance of his/her clinical-related duties. The unlicensed dental assistant is restricted to performing the following duties or functions.
A Licensed Dental Assistant is allowed to perform all clinical duties as listed for an unlicensed dental assistant and, upon completion of education and testing, may apply for additional permits.
A Licensed Dental Assistant qualifies by 1) having passed the Certification Exam for Dental Assistants (CDA)* offered by the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB) and 2) either
Application for License to Practice as a Dental Assistant
License by Examination - Individuals who have taken and passed the CDA certification exam offered by DANB.
License by Reciprocity – Individuals who have been licensed in another state/jurisdiction and actively practiced dental assistance for at least three years (one of those years must be within the last three years).
All applicants are required to successfully complete the Nebraska dental assistant jurisprudence examination with a minimum score of 75 percent.
Verification of CDA credential must be sent directly from DANB to our office. Verification may be mailed to:
DHHS - Division of Public Health Licensure Unit PO Box 94986 Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
or emailed to: DHHS.MedicalOffice@nebraska.gov
* Information about the CDA exam, including eligibility requirements, can be found here.
** Training, education, or service gained while a member of the armed forces of the United States may be accepted toward the minimum standards of a credential upon submission of satisfactory evidence of substantial similarity to the education required for the credential. (Nebr. Rev. Statute § 38-1,141.)
Thirty (30) hours of acceptable continuing education earned during the preceding 24-month period prior to the license expiration date are required to renew your license.
A continuing education audit will be performed after the renewal. If you are randomly selected for an audit to provide proof of continuing education, you will be notified by mail at a later date.
Retain all documentation of continuing education activities completed for the renewal of your credential for at least 4 years.
All general anesthesia/deep sedation/moderate sedation permit holders are required to attend at least 6 hours of continuing education directly related to the administration and management of anesthesia/sedation for the dental office.
The Board of Dentistry expects licensees to attend acceptable continuing education courses. Acceptable continuing education courses are located in 172 NAC 56.
***Do NOT submit continuing education certificates to this office unless you are requested to do so.***
Reinstating from Inactive or Expired Status:
Dental Reinstatement Application
General Anesthesia/Deep Sedation Reinstatement Application
Moderate Sedation Reinstatement Application
Minimal Sedation Reinstatement Application
For Reinstatements After Disciplinary Action please contact Vonda Apking at (402) 471-2118 or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Application for Expanded Scope Function for Dental Assistants
Approved Courses for Expanded Scope Function
A supervising licensed dentist must be physically on the premises during any procedure.
The Nebraska Board of Dentistry is currently developing regulations for Expanded Function Restorative Level I and Level II permits established by Legislative Bill 18 (signed March 28, 2017).
Approved Program List Expanded Function - Restorative I and II
Expanded Function Restorative Level I Permit
Application for Level I Permit
A Licensed Dental Assistant or Licensed Dental Hygienist who holds a permit may place simple restorations (one surface) when a supervising licensed dentist is physically present on the premises.
An applicant for an Expanded Function Level I Restoration permit must:
Expanded Function Restorative Level II Permit
Application for Level II Permit
A Licensed Dental Assistant or Licensed Dental Hygienist who holds a permit may place complex restorations (multiple surfaces) when a supervising licensed dentist is physically present on the premises.
An applicant for an Expanded Function Level II Restoration permit must:
Expanded Function Jurisprudence Exam for Dental Hygienists and Dental Assistants
Dentistry home page