Athletic Training

 
1
Professions & Occupations
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

 

New regulations effective Oct 20, 2020

Please see the Athletic Training regulations, 172 NAC 017, in the Regulations & Statutes box on the right side of this page

NEW: Continuing Competency Waiver Information


Athletic Training means the prevention, evaluation, emergency care, first aid, treatment, and rehabilitation of athletic injuries utilizing the treatments set out in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-408.

Applications, Requirements & Fees

Applications - These can be completed on the computer, then printed, signed, and mailed to the address on the form.

Requirements - Please see the regulations at right for athletic trainer licensing requirements.

Fees - Fees are payable to the Licensure Unit.


 

Examination Requirements

The qualifying examination for an athletic training license is administered through the Board of Certification (BOC). Please contact the BOC for any questions regarding the examination:

Board of Certification
1415 Harney Street, Suite 200
Omaha, Nebraska 68102-2205
Phone: (402) 559-0091
Fax: (402) 561-0598
www.bocatc.org 

Continuing Education & Renewal Information

Continuing Education

Each person holding an active athletic training credential must, on or before the date of expiration of the credential, comply with the continuing competency requirements for his or her profession, unless the requirements are waived in accordance with 172 NAC17-005.03 and 172 NAC 17-005.04. Each credentialed individual is responsible for maintaining certificates or records of continuing competency activities.

On or before May 1 of each odd-numbered year each athletic trainer who has an active license must:

  • Have current certification from the Board of Certification for the Athletic Trainer (BOC, Inc.) or
  • Complete 25 hours of continuing education during the preceding 24-month period; and
  • Hold a current cardiopulmonary (CPR) certificate from a nationally recognized organization that issues CPR certificates

Renewal

All Athletic Training licenses expire on May 1 of every odd-numbered year.

A renewal notice will be mailed out to all license holders at least 30 days prior to the expiration of their license. A current address should be on record with the Department to make sure that the renewal notice is received.

In order to renew a license, submit the following: 

  • Completed renewal application
  • Attestation to having met the continuing competency requirements
  • Renewal fee.

National Contacts

 

Office of Rehabilitation & Community Services 
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-2299
 
Fax Number
(402) 742-1152
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit
Attn: Athletic Training
PO Box 94986

Lincoln Nebraska 68509-4986

 

Nebraska State Office Building

301 Centennial Mall South
14th & M Streets, 1st Floor

Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.