

### NEBRASKA APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR ATHLETIC TRAINING

**LICENSE FEE WAIVER:** Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license fee and temporary license fee <u>may be waived.</u>

- 1. Young Worker: You are between the ages of 19 and 25 (under the age of 26).
- 2. <u>Low-Income Individual:</u> You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, <u>QR</u> your household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
  - If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to be submitted.
  - If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a document showing current enrollment.
  - If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see the current income guidelines,
     https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf

     To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return
- 3. <u>Military Family:</u> You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

#### **APPLICATION PROCESS - To apply for a License:**

Homeland Security. This process may take 4-6 weeks.

#### STEP 1: Get copies of the following documents:

NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS. Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language. You must submit a copy of the original document and the translated document. The translation must be and original document and contain the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his/her own documents.

	izenship/Lawful Presence (must be at least 19 years old): itizens. a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following: Birth certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted) U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired). Certificate of Naturalization. Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.
A Driv	er's License is NOT acceptable.
NOT a	U.S. Citizen (Current Immigration Status) a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:
	Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of
	the card; Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) <u>AND</u> an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US
	Anni 1-34 (Anni al-Departure Mecola) And an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired 00
	visa: or
	visa; or Employment Authorization Card <u>AND one of the following</u>
_	Employment Authorization Card AND one of the following  An approved deferred action status (DACA);
	Employment Authorization Card AND one of the following  An approved deferred action status (DACA);  A pending application for asylum in the United States;
_	Employment Authorization Card AND one of the following  An approved deferred action status (DACA);  A pending application for asylum in the United States;  A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or
	Employment Authorization Card AND one of the following  An approved deferred action status (DACA);  A pending application for asylum in the United States;  A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or  A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for
_	Employment Authorization Card AND one of the following  An approved deferred action status (DACA);  A pending application for asylum in the United States;  A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or

2. 🗆	Education and Transcript: You must have your school or electronic transcript service submit an
	Official college or university transcript directly to our office. If sending by e-mail, send to_
	dhhs.rehaboffice@nebraska.gov

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service: If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is <u>substantially similar</u> to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.

- 3. 

  Other State License Information: If you hold or have held a health-related license in any state you must contact that state and request a verification of your license (do not send a copy of your license).
- 4. ☐ Conviction Information: If you have EVER\_received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or felonies. You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required to list infractions, diversions or dismissals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanor/felony convictions.

#### If you have convictions, you must submit:

- A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;
- (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and
- (iii) A letter from the applicant's probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently on probation.

If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), we encourage you to request that the treatment provider submit all evaluations and discharge summaries directly to the Department.

#### The following provides **SOME** examples of convictions; this is **NOT** an all-exclusive list:

- MIP
- DUI / DWI
- Controlled Substance
- Open Container
- Tobacco Use by Minor
- Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary
- Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
- Disturbing the Peace
- Assault
- Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
- Reckless Driving

- Driving under Suspension / Revocation
- License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
- Fail to Appear in Court
- False Information or Reporting
- Leave the Scene of an Accident
- · Operator not Carrying License
- Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
- Parks Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
- Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
- Littering / Fireworks
- Bad Check
- Not Wearing Seat Belt

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: <a href="https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx">https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx</a> or by phone at 402-471-0175.

b. ⊔	<u>Examination:</u>	Request the official BOC	Score Report	(bocatc.org)	be sent to	this office
------	---------------------	--------------------------	--------------	--------------	------------	-------------

6.	<u>Verification of Board of Certification. Inc (BOC) certification</u> – if you graduated with a 4-year degree from an
	accredited college or university (not from an athletic training program) and completed at least 2 consecutive years
	as an athletic training student under the supervision of an athletic trainer, you must have documentation verifying
	certification by the Board of Certification, Inc. (BOC) sent directly to the Department from the issuing agency.

# Submit your application to the Licensure Unit Completed Application Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document Education Documents Conviction Records (if you have convictions) License Certifications (if licensed in another state) BOC Score Report The License Fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver). Pay by check/money order; debit or credit card is not accepted.

#### Application Review: All applications are reviewed in date order received.

STEP 2: Complete all pages and questions on the Application

- If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail; the e-mail will list the information that is required to compete your application. You have 90 days to complete your application; if not completed within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed. A new application will then be required.
- If your application is complete, you will receive by e-mail that your license has been issued.

Records Retention Schedule: When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records.



Revised: 5/8/2024

## APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE FOR ATHLETIC TRAINER

Division of Public Health – Licensure Unit P.O. Box 94986 – Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Phone #: 402-471-2299

Please print or type application

Ī	am appl	ving for a	credential	in A	Athletic	Training	and
	aiii appi	villy lot a	CIEGEIILIAI	111 <i>/</i>	11111111111111111111111111111111111111	I I all lilling	anu

Lara	I graduated with a four-year degree and completed at least two years as an athletic training student											
	I graduated with a degree in Athletic Training.											
	I graduated with a degree in Athletic Training.  I am licensed in another state and currently working as an athletic trainer. List the state you are currently licensed in:											
LICENS	E FEES:											
If you me	A.Fee Waiver:  If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license and temporary license fee may be waived. Check only one box:  Young Worker: I am under 26 years old.  Low-income Individual:  I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program; OR  My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.  Military Family: I am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States.											
Detern	B. Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers:  Determine the month and year in which you are submitting your application. Pay the amount in the corresponding box.  If the correct amount is not included with the application, the application will be returned.											
Year	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	June	July	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec
Even	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$29.25	\$29.25
Odd	\$29.25	\$29.25	\$29.25	\$29.25	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117	\$117

#### Pay by check or money order to: Licensure Unit

Your cancelled check is your proof of payment. Payment is processed upon receipt. Debit or credit card is not accepted.

	rsonal Information –NOTE: t advise this office.	: All mailing	s will be	sent to the addr	ess you indi	cate below – If yo	ou change your		
Legal Name	First:		Middle	/MI:		Last:			
	mes you have ever beening maiden name and yourth certificate.								
	Street/PO/Route:								
Mailing Address	City:		State o	or Country:		Zip:			
	<b>Additional information requested</b> - This information will not be displayed on the internet. Submit the required documentation of age, citizenship, etc. as listed in the instructions.								
Date of Birth:	Month/Day/Year:	Place of B	irth:		City/State	or Country:			
Check the	Social Security Number	(SSN);			SSN#				
Appropriate	Alien Registration Numb	oer ("A#");			A#				
Box(s):	Form I-94 (Arrival-Depa				I-94 #				
Neb. Rev. Stat. §	SSN and an A# or I-94 num 3 38-123 mandates disclos S may disclose it for child	sure of you	rsocial	security numb					
Phone #:	o may disclose it for ormic	<u>г заррогт ст</u>		Fax #:		сы изка веран	nem of Nevenue.		
E-Mail Address:					<b>'</b>				
Have you ever bee	en denied the right to take a  If yes, explain:	license exar	mination	in any State?					
	CATION – List all colleges t Request an official transc						re space is needed, use		
UNDERGRADUAT	E: 								
Institution Nam									
Address	Street/PO/Box:								
	City/State:					Zip:			
Date of Graduati	on		Major						
Institution Nam									
Address	Street/PO/Box: City/ 3tate:					Zip:			
Date of Graduati	on		Major						
GRADUATE:									
Institution Nam	e								
امل <i>ه</i> ۸	Street/PO/Box:								
Address	City/State:	Т		Γ		Zip:			
Date of Graduati	on		Major						

#### Information Relating to Military Education. Training. or Service:

If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.

<b>SECTION C –ATHLETIC TRAINING STUDENT –</b> All applicants applying on the basis of a 4-year degree from an accredited college or university and completion of two years as an athletic training student must provide documentation verifying certification by the Board of Certification, Inc. (BOC) sent directly to this office from the BOC.						
Board of Certification Information						
Date Certified	From (N	Y) To (M/Y)				
Certification Number						

SECTIO	ND – Board of Certification Information – All applicants must complete
! !	I am a new graduate and have taken and passed the BOC exam. Provide the date that you passed the Board of Certification Examination Contact bocatc.org and request verification of your certification be reported directly to Nebraska. You may request the verification be sent to our office or you may request an <a href="mailto:electronic verification">electronic verification</a> be emailed to: <a href="mailto:dhhs.rehaboffice@nebraska.gov">dhhs.rehaboffice@nebraska.gov</a>
Д Д	passed the BOC exam more than three years prior to this application and am not practicing at this time. I am including: A copy of documentation showing 25 hours of continuing education and a copy of the front and back of current CPR card OR A copy of your current BOC card; OR f the licensure examination was retaken, send in current passing score.
Α Α	am (or was) licensed in another jurisdiction (state) and I am not currently practicing. I am including: A copy of documentation showing 25 hours of continuing education and a copy of the front and back of current CPR card OR copy of your current BOC card; OR fitne licensure examination was retaken, send in current passing score. Complete Section E.
	am licensed in another jurisdiction/state and I am currently practicing in another jurisdiction/state. Complete section E and ontact bocatc.org and request verification of your certification be reported directly to Nebraska.

SECTION E - Applicants Must	Comple	te this	section.					
Do you hold or have you ever held a credential that was issued by another state(s) to provide health services, health-related services, or environmental services?								
List all state(s) that you have ever	r been I	censed	d in.					
State(	s)			License Num	ber(s)			
Give facility name, address, and of an additional sheet if space is ina			were actively engaged in practice o	fathletic training. (Co	ntinue on reverse side or use			
Facility			Address		Dates			
			athletic trainer license sent to Nebi Applicant's License In Athletic Train					
OFOTION F. ALL A. II. (								
SECTION F – ALL Applicants			ete this section.					
Has your credential ever been denied, refused renewal, limited, suspended, revoked, or had other disciplinary measures taken against it?	YES	NO	Type of Credential Action	Date of Action	Name of Entity that took action			
Certification of your licer	nse in e	ach sta	ove, you must request the following te that you hold or have held a licer rd in which the disciplinary action w	ise	irectly to this office:			
regardless of when the action of Answer each of the following qu	ccurred estions	could by plac	RE INFORMATION – Failure to discresult in disciplinary action, includincing an (X) in the appropriate box (Yained in detail and you must submit	g, but not limited to, pa es or No) and comple	ayment of a civil penalty.  ting the information  entation.			
	Yes	No	Type of Crime or Licensure Action	Date of Action	Name of Court/Entity Taking action			
Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?					·			

#### If you have convictions, you must submit:

- (i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;
- (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and
- (iii) A letter from the applicant's probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently on probation.

SECTION H – PRACTICE PRIOR TO CREDENTIAL – An individual who practices prior to issuance of a credential is subject to								
assessment of an Administrative Penalty of \$10 per day up to \$1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations								
governing the credential.		1						
		Yes No						
Have you actively practiced in Nebraska as an Athletic Trainer prior to licen	sure?							
If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced Athletic Training in	Nebraska and what is the business	# of days:						
name, location and telephone number of the practice:		•						
Name of Business:	City/State							
Name of Business.	Oity/State							
Name of Supervisor :	Telephone							
Section I - Attestation								
Attestation: For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-1	08 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check	ONE of the						
boxes below):								
I attest that:								
Long a siting of the United States								
I am a citizen of the United States.								
I am <b>NOT</b> a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the F	ederal Immigration and Nationality Act o	r a non-						
immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a								
Initingrant lawfully present in the Officed States, with documentation such as a	permanent resident card, 1-94 documen	i, asylum, etc.						
I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment	: Authorization Document (EAD) and doc	umentation						
listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending								
I am <b>NOT</b> a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified al	ien under the Federal Immigration and N	ationality Act.						
I further attest that:								
1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me								
2. All statements on the application are true and complete; and,								
3. I am of good moral character.								
•								
Print Name:								
- <u> </u>								
Signature:	Date:							

<u>MILITARY:</u> To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at <a href="https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx">https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx</a>