The Statewide Blood Lead Risk Assessment and Testing Plan provides a set of criteria to determine which children should receive a blood lead test. A summary of blood lead testing recommendations are summarized below.
Children should get a blood lead test if they meet any one of three criteria:
Blood lead test if child lives in a targeted community. Children living in the following targeted communities should be tested:
Alliance - 69301 Beatrice - 68310 Central City - 68826 Columbus - 68601 Fairbury - 68352 Fremont - 68025 Grand Island - 68801, 68803 Hastings - 68901 Lincoln - 68502, 68503, 68504, 68507, 68508, 68510, 68521Nebraska City - 68410 Norfolk - 68701Omaha - 68102, 68104, 68105, 68106, 68107, 68108, 68110, 68111, 68112, 68131, 68132 Schuyler - 68661Scottsbluff - 69361 York - 68467
*As more blood lead data and demographic data are obtained, targeted communities will be re-evaluated annually and revised on the Blood Lead Testing Plan.
Medicaid requires testing a child at 12 and 24 months, and WIC requires staff to ask whether a participating child has had a blood lead test done in the past 12 months.
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services requires that all children receive a screening blood lead test at 12 months and 24 months of age. Children between the ages of 36 months and 72 months of age must receive a screening blood lead test if they have not been previously screened for lead poisoning. A blood lead test must be used when screening Medicaid-eligible children.
For more information on Medicaid Requirements, visit:
If child does not live in targeted community or enrolled in Medicaid or WIC, providers should use a verbal risk assessment to help determine other factors that could place a child at risk. The questions are below:
Childhood Lead Exposures: Medical Management Recommendations for Health Care Professionals
Adult Lead Exposures: Management Recommendations for Health Care Professionals
Guidelines for Public Health and Case Management for Children with Elevated Blood Lead Levels
According to Nebraska Regulations, 173 NAC 1, health care providers and/or laboratories are required by law to submit reports of all blood lead tests, including capillary and venous tests regardless of the result, within seven days of detection.