Veterinary Medicine and Surgery

 
1
 
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

For a complete definition of the below professions, please see the regulations and statutes.

Veterinarian

A veterinarian is a person who has received a doctor's degree in veterinary medicine from an accredited school of veterinary medicine or its equivalent. A veterinarian can practice veterinary surgery, obstetrics, dentistry, and all other branches or specialties of veterinary medicine.

Veterinary Technician

Veterinary Technicians work under the supervision of veterinarians. A veterinary technician is a person who has graduated from an AVMA accredited Veterinary Technician School or program, and has a passing score on the Veterinary Technician Examination (VTNE).

Veterinary Technician (Temporary)

A temporary license may be granted for no more than one (1) to a person who has graduated from an AVMA accredited Veterinary Technician School or program, pending the results of a passing score on the Veterinary Technician Examination (VTNE).


Applications, Requirements & Fees

Credential Information for Military Spouses

Applications

The below application forms may be filled out on the computer, but must be printed, signed, and mailed to the address on the form.


Veterinarian

Veterinary Technician

To register for the VTNE, please contact: American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB)

Requirements: Please see the regulations for detailed requirements for licensure.

Nebraska State Patrol fingerprinting locations
This site also includes a link to other public LiveScan fingerprinting locations in Nebraska.

Fees:

DEA Information

Federal Controlled Substances (DEA) Registrant Information can be accessed by credentialing organizations, hospitals, and pharmacies after obtaining a User ID and Password. To obtain a User ID and Password contact the Licensure Unit by e-mail at dhhs.licensuresupport@nebraska.gov.

In addition to General License Information this version of the data contains Federal Controlled Substances Registration numbers and expiration dates for health care providers that hold a Nebraska license and have submitted proof of holding such Federal Registration. Federal controlled substances (DEA) registrant information is validated on licenses at the time of issuance and updated on a quarterly basis.

Federal Controlled Substance (DEA) Registrant

Renewal, Continuing Education & Reinstatement Information

Veterinarian

  • Licenses expire April 1 of every even year, regardless of when the license is issued.
  • To renew a license you must have earned 32 hours of one or a combination of approved categories of continuing requirements within the renewal period immediately preceding the license renewal date.
  • You may place your license on Inactive status at any time by sending a written request to this office at dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov.

Veterinary Technician

  • Licenses expire April 1 of every even year, regardless of when the license is issued.
  • To renew a license you must have earned 16 hours of one or a combination of approved categories of continuing requirements within the renewal period immediately preceding the license renewal date.
  • You may place your license on Inactive status at any time by sending a written request to this office at dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov.

Vet and Vet Tech Continuing Education Approval Form

Reinstatement

Reinstating from Inactive or Expired Status:

Reinstating After Disciplinary Action



 

Office of Medical & Specialized Health
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-2118
 
Fax Number
(402) 742-8355
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit

Attn: Veterinary

PO Box 94986

Lincoln NE 68509-4986

 

Nebraska State Office Building

301 Centennial Mall South

14th & M Streets, 1st Floor

Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.