Nebraska Law Requires National Criminal History Records – Fingerprints for Anyone Who Works In a Residential Child Caring Agency. Here are the Requirements and Instructions:
In Nebraska, anyone who provides foster care or adoption services to children and youth must be licensed. There are two types of licenses: Residential Child-Caring Agency: An organization which is incorporated for the purpose of providing care for children and youth in buildings maintained by the organization for that purpose. Child-Placing Agency: An organization which is authorized for its articles of incorporation and by its license to place children in foster family or adoptive homes.
Initial Licensing To apply for an initial license, you must submit an application to the department. Upon receipt of a completed application, contact will be made to schedule an initial inspection date. You must not provide any services to children or youth in Residential Child-Caring or Child-Placing Agencies until the inspection has been completed and a license has been issued. All licenses are effective for one year. Renewal Licensing All licenses expire one year from the day they are issued. Notice of renewal is sent to your preferred mailing address not later than 90 days prior to the license expiration date. To renew a license, you must submit the following:
If you submit a completed renewal application 30 days or more before the license expiration date, the license shall remain in effect until the department either renews or denies the application. Mail all information to:
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Licensure Unit Children's Services Licensing PO Box 94986 Lincoln, NE68509-4986
Any licensee who needs to make a change to the license must obtain approval from the Department of Health and Human Services. To obtain approval, the licensee must submit a completed application to amend the license to:
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Licensure Unit Children's Services Licensing PO Box 94986 Lincoln NE 68509-4986
Changes in the license include:
The department investigates all allegations of licensing violations in children and youth care facilities. Complaints related to a licensed Residential Child-Caring or Child-Placing Agency can be made by one of the following methods:
Department of Health and Human Services Children's Services Licensing PO Box 94986 Lincoln, Ne 68509
When making the complaint, please include the following:
Fee must be received before a license will be issued. Fees are non-refundable. Cash is not accepted.
You are required to have pre-licensing inspections before you can begin operation. The department will investigate to determine if you are able to ensure the proper care and treatment of children. Types of inspections include:
DHHS Licensure Unit
Attn: Children's Services Licensing
PO Box 94986
Lincoln NE 68509-4986
Nebraska State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South
14th & M Streets, 1st Floor
Lincoln NE 68508
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.