Renewals are currently on hold, per Executive Order 20-10, for the following professions: medicine and surgery (MDs), osteopathic physicians (DOs), advanced practice nursing, emergency medical services, mental health and social work, nursing, osteopathy, pharmacy, perfusion, psychology, respiratory care, and surgical assistants.
If you hold a license in one of the above professions, you will not be receiving a renewal notice at this time. Your license will not expire on the original expiration date; expiration dates for professions listed above will be extended to 12.31.2020. *This expiration date may need to be adjusted if the state of emergency continues longer*. When the expiration date is extended (approximately 30 days prior to the curent expiration date), you will be able to print a wallet card to verify the extended expiration date at dhhs.ne.gov/lookup.
When the state of emergency is lifted, the Licensure Unit will send renewal notices to all licensees. You will then have 90 days to renew by:
Provisional Temporary License Information
Nebraska Assembly of Nursing Deans and Directors Policy Brief for Employers
Criminal Background Checks - Appointments for fingerprinting at Nebraska State Patrol offices will not be available to nursing license applicants until late May. RN, LPN, and APRN license applicants who have submitted all required items except for criminal background check and/or application fee will be issued a temporary license.
NEW: Continuing Competency Waiver Information
The Nebraska Board of Nursing approves pre-licensure nursing programs located in Nebraska.
The Nebraska Board of Nursing does not approve on-line or post-licensure programs, therefore, approval from the BON is not required.
Nebraska follows the recommendation set forth by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. Practice is where the student is located. Therefore, if the student is located in a state different from the home state of the nursing program, faculty require licensure in the state where the student is located.
Just as nurses who work in clinical settings and care for patients in another state via telehealth, faculty who teach online students located in another state require additional nurse licensure. See page 3 in March 2017 Leader to Leader.
Faculty teaching APRN students require APRN licensure in Nebraska.
Nursing Programs are responsible for working directly with clinical facilities to arrange preceptors for students. Preceptor qualifications for on-line programs and post-licensure programs are established by the nursing programs.
Notice of Proposed NLC RulemakingLPN law
LPNs and IV Therapy - article from Nursing News Winter 2018 newsletter
Locations for IV Therapy class
Nurse License Types Issued by Nebraska:
Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)Licensure follows nine months to one year of education and successful completion of the National Council Licensure Examination Practical Nurse (NCLEX-PN). The LPN provides direct patient care services.
Registered Nurse (RN)Registered Nurses have completed two to four years of education at a college or university, and passed the NCLEX-RN in order to qualify for licensure. The RN plans and directs the plan of nursing care for patients.
Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) An APRN is a registered nurse (RN) with a master's or doctoral degree and national board certification to qualify for licensure. Advanced Practice Registered Nurses apply advanced nursing principals in the provision of patient care services to specific patient populations.
Licensure UnitAttn: NursingPO Box 94986 Lincoln NE 68509-5026
Nebraska State Office Building301 Centennial Mall South, 1st floor14th & M StreetsLincoln NE 68508Hours: Monday-Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Closed federal holidays.