A Nurse Aide works in a nursing home and is active on the nurse aide registry. The Nurse Aide helps nurses by assisting in the performance of personal care and comfort measures.
Click here for the requirements to be a Nurse Aide in Nebraska.
Click here for the Nurse Aide Registry - a list of those who meet the requirements to be a nurse aide
Expiration dates - none noted unless lapsed or ineligible.
Print a Card: On the Registry page, once your name comes up in the search results, click it. You can then click the green "Generate Wallet Card" button to print your own card.
Question: Are there certain types of places a nurse aide must be employed in order to stay active on the registry?
Yes. To stay active on the registry, you must have worked as a nurse aide in a paid position within the past two years in an approved employer setting.
Question: Is there a limit to the use of lifts by nurse aides?
Yes, there is an age restriction on the use of lifts by nurse aides. The nurse aide must be at least 18 years of age to use a lift on their own. A nurse aide who is 16 to 17 years of age may assist in the use of a lift. This restriction was established by the Department of Labor.
Source: Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Field Assistance Bulletin No. 2011-3 (Posted: 9/21/2018)
Question: Is there anything a nursing home can do when they are prohibited from participating in Nurse Aide Training?
A nursing home may apply for a waiver of the prohibition. (Posted 9/21/2018)
To complete the verification section, some states have a verification form you will need to complete and forward to us. Nebraska does not have forms required by other states. Contact that state to obtain their forms. We do not issue physical certificates or licensure cards for nurse aides. You can obtain a verification from the registry. Nebraska does not charge a fee to complete this form. Requests are processed as soon as quickly as possible.
If you are faxing your application to us, make sure it is on white paper. (Colored paper does not fax well—if it is on colored paper, you will need to make a copy and use the white copy when faxing.) It can be faxed, emailed or sent to firstname.lastname@example.org or fax (402) 742-1151. The phone number is (402) 471-0537.
Licensure cards for nurse aides are not issued in Nebraska. You can print one from the registry, here.
To become registered in Nebraska:
Send your completed form to the address on the form.
License cards for nurse aides are not issued in Nebraska. Please search for your name on the Nurse Aide Registry. When your name comes up, click it. Then click the green button that says Generate Wallet Card to view or print your card.
DHHS Licensure Unit
Attn: Nurse AidePO Box 94986Lincoln NE 68509
Nebraska State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South
14th & M Streets, 1st FloorLincoln NE 68508
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.