Medical Nutrition Therapist

 
1
Professions & Occupations
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

Nebraska requires a license to provide medical nutrition therapy, which involves the assessment of patient nutritional status followed by treatment.

A patient is a person with a disease, illness, injury, or medical condition which requires nutritional interventions as an essential component of standard care of the person.

If you provide Medical Nutrition Therapy in Nebraska, services must be performed under the consultation of a physician licensed in Nebraska.

NOTE: Nebraska does NOT license dieticians or nutritionists.

A license is NOT required to provide general nutrition services. General nutrition services include:

  • Identifying the nutritional needs of individuals and groups in relation to normal nutritional requirements
  • Planning, implementing and evaluating nutrition education programs for individuals and groups in the selection of food to meet normal nutritional needs throughout the life cycle. 

Applications, Requirements & Fees

Application

Please read the application instructions carefully. They provide more information on the requirements to obtain a license.

For complete requirement details, see the regulations.

There are four different methods to obtain a license:

  1. Hold a dietician registration with the American Dietetic Association
  2. Have a Bachelor's Degree from an accredited college/university with a major course of study in human nutrition, food and nutrition, dietetics, or an equivalent major course of study and have:
    • Passed the Registration Examination for Dietitians examination
    • Completion of a program of supervised clinical experience which includes not less than 900 hours of a planned continuous experience in human nutrition, food and nutrition, or dietetics under appropriate supervision
  3. Have a master's or doctoral degree from an accredited college or university in human nutrition, nutrition education, food and nutrition, or public health nutrition or in an equivalent major course of study. Have passed the Registration Examination for Dietitians examination.
  4. Have a master's or doctorate degree from an accredited college/university which includes a major course of study in clinical nutrition. Such course of study consists of not less than a combined 200 hours of biochemistry and physiology and not less than 75 hours in human nutrition and have passed the Registration Examination for Dietitians examination.

Fee Schedule

Renewal Requirements, Continuing Education & Reinstatement

To renew your license, you must earn at least 30 hours of approved continuing education within each renewal period.  Renewal is September 1st of odd-numbered years.

Requirements:

Please see the regulations and statutes on this web page.

Application to Request Continuing Education Program Approval:

Reinstatement

To reinstate your license from either inactive or expired status: 

  • Earn the continuing education requirement (30 hours) within the prior 24 months
  • Submit a complete reinstatement application and renewal and reinstatement fees as listed on the reinstatement application. Hours taken to reinstate your license can also be used to renew your license at the end of that renewal period so you are not required to have additional hours for renewal. 
  • Reinstatement Application


Click here for the Medical Nutrition Therapists and Ancillary Staff Brochure

Other:

Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-2117
 
Fax Number
(402) 742-1106
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit

Attn: Medical Nutrition
PO Box 94986

Lincoln NE 68509


 

Nebraska State Office Building

301 Centennial Mall South
14th & M Streets, 1st Floor

Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.