Hearing Instrument Specialist

 
1
Professions & Occupations
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

New regulations effective June 16, 2020.

Please see the Hearing Instrument Specialist regulations, 172 NAC 75, in the Regulations & Statutes box on the right side of this page.

NEW: Continuing Competency Waiver Information

NEW: Executive Order: Provisional License Information


Hearing Instrument Specialists sell and fit hearing instruments. To fit hearing instruments, they measure human hearing using an audiometer or another means approved by the board. They also make impressions for earmolds. A Hearing Instrument Specialist, at the request of a physician or a member of related professions, may make audiograms for the professional's use in consultation with the hard-of-hearing.

Hearing instrument means any wearable instrument or device designed for or offered for the purpose of aiding or compensating for impaired human hearing and any parts, attachments, or accessories, including earmolds, but excluding batteries and cords.

Licensed Nebraska Audiologists are no longer required to have a Hearing Instrument Specialist license in order to dispense hearing instruments. 


Applications, Requirements & Fees

To obtain a Hearing Instrument Specialist license in Nebraska, you must:

  • Pass the International Licensing Examination for Hearing Healthcare Professionals (ILE)
  • Pass the Nebraska Practical Examination
  • Complete the license application process  

For information on the examinations, please see the Examinations section below.

The following forms may be completed online; however, each one requires an original signature. Complete the form, then print it, sign and mail it to the Licensure Unit. 

Fee Information 

Fees are payable to the Licensure Unit.

Continuing Education, Renewal & Reinstatement

Continuing Education

To renew the license, all Hearing Instrument Specialists must have completed 24 contact hours of continuing education within the two years preceding the renewal period. Hearing Instrument Specialist licenses expire on December 31st of every even year. 

See the Regulations for additional information regarding Continuing Education. 

Renewal

All Hearing Instrument Specialist licenses expire December 31 of each even-numbered year. The Licensure Unit will send a renewal notice to the active license holder's last address of record at least 30 days before the expiration date.

All Temporary Hearing Instrument Specialist licenses will expire 12 months from the date of issuance. If you are unable to successfully pass the licensing examination with one year, a temporary license may be renewed once for a 12-month period. 

Reinstatement

Examination Information

To obtain a Hearing Instrument Specialist license in Nebraska, you must:

  • Pass the International Licensing Examination for Hearing Healthcare Professionals (ILE)
  • Pass the Nebraska Practical Examination
  • Complete the license application process  

International Licensing Examination for Hearing Health Care Professionals (ILE)
The International Hearing Society administers the ILE through a computer-based testing service. When you are ready to take this examination you must submit a Nebraska Hearing Instrument Specialist license application and pay the application fee. Once the application process is completed, the Department will notify the International Hearing Society (IHS) that you are approved to take the examination. IHS will send you an e-mail message with instructions to create an account and schedule your examination.

IHS will also email you a link to the study guide for the examination. It is required that you pass the ILE prior to taking the Nebraska Practical Examination. 

Nebraska Practical Examination 

The Nebraska Practical Examination is developed and administered by the Nebraska Board of Hearing Instrument Specialists. This examination will be offered two or three times per year. Complete the application process in order to take the practical examination. The 2020 examination dates and dates by which you must apply are below.

Practical Examination and Application Received-by Dates:

  • Exam date: June 12, 2020          Cancelled
  • Exam date: October 16, 2020       Application must be received by 9/8/20.

International Hearing Society
16880 Middlebelt Rd., Ste. 4
Livonia, MI 48154
(734) 522-7200

Office of Rehabilitation and Community Services
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-2299
 
Fax Number
(402) 741-1152
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit

Attn: Hearing Instrument Specialists

PO Box 94986

Lincoln NE 68509-4986


 

Nebraska State Office Building

301 Centennial Mall South

14th & M Streets, 1st Floor

Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.