Funeral Directing and Embalming

 
1
Professions & Occupations
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

Funeral Director and Embalmer: Includes the counseling of families relating to conducting funeral services for dead human bodies for burial, disposition, or cremation or directing or supervising burial, disposition, or cremation of dead human bodies; and preparing a dead human body for burial or other final disposal.

Apprentice: Is completing a full 12-month apprenticeship (or 6-month split apprenticeship) under the supervision of a licensed funeral director and embalmer practicing in the State of Nebraska. The licensed funeral director and embalmer is responsible for all funeral assists and embalmings completed by the apprentice.


FAQs

Click here for Funeral Establishments

Examination

National Examination: The national examination is administered through an accredited mortuary science college. 
 
Jurisprudence and Vital Statistics Examinations: To take these examinations, you must either be in an apprenticeship or have your license application approved via reciprocity and submit an examination registration application. The examinations are administered on set dates during the months of January, April, July and October.

Nebraska requires a score of 75 percent or above on each examination.

The written jurisprudence examination consists of 50 true and false/multiple choice questions. Questions will be developed from the following:

The Nebraska Vital Statistics Forms Examination requires completion of the following six forms:

  • Certificate of Death
  • Certificate of Fetal Death
  • Application of Disinterment Permit
  • Disinterment Permit
  • Permit for Transit or Cremation

Renewal Requirements, Continuing Education, and Reinstatement

Requirements

Funeral Directors & Embalmers: License expiration is February 1 of even-numbered years.

To renew your license, you must:

  • Pay the renewal fee
  • Have completed at least 16 hours of approved continuing education earned within each renewal period
  • Take and pass the Jurisprudence Examination at least one time every 10 years. See the regulations and statutes section of this webpage. 

Reinstatement

Funeral Directors & Embalmers:

To reinstate your license from either inactive or expired status, you must:

  • Meet the continuing education requirement (16 hours) earned within the prior 24 months
  • Submit a complete reinstatement application and renewal and reinstatement fees as listed on the reinstatement application. Hours taken to reinstate your license can also be used to renew your license at the end of that renewal period so you are not required to have additional hours for renewal. 

Reinstatement Application

Unlicensed Activities Allowed

A licensed funeral director and embalmer must be present at each organized or scheduled funeral service (including a wake where an organized service is conducted or a religious service), burial and interment, whenever a dead human body is present. No person who is not licensed as a funeral director and embalmer or serving as an apprentice can embalm dead human bodies for burial or cremation.

Unlicensed Persons: Persons who are not licensed as funeral directors and embalmers may assist in implementing arrangements made by a licensed funeral director and embalmer as long as they are under his/her supervision and responsibility. These activities include:

  • Driving/maintenance of funeral vehicles and facilities
  • Administrative duties
  • Applying cosmetics
  • Arranging or shampooing the hair of the deceased
  • Ceremonial assistance (such as bathing, clothing/dressing and casketing the deceased body)
  • Religious services pursuant to 68-005, item 1.

First Calls: Unlicensed persons may, at the direction of a licensed funeral director and embalmer, make first calls or removals of dead human bodies. Exception: Instances in which removals are performed by public authorities in emergency situations.

Students: A student may participate in a student practicum/internship in a licensed funeral establishment in Nebraska if the student's school is accredited by and in good standing with the American Board of Funeral Service Education (ABFSE). The student may assist with funeral directing and embalming services when the student is in a recognized practicum/internship, under the supervision of the school of mortuary science, and under the direct on-site supervision and responsibility of a Nebraska licensed funeral director and embalmer.

Other Contact Information

Consumer Advocate for Cemeteries
Greg Easley (402) 451-1000
Dept. of Insurance/Pre-need Insurance
The Terminal Building
941 O Street Suite 400
Lincoln NE 68508
Phone: (402) 471-2201
www.doi.ne.gov

The International Conference of Funeral
Service Examining Boards, Inc.
Phone (479) 442-7076
Fax (479) 442-7090
https://theconferenceonline.org/ 
Licensee Assistance Program
Center Point Professional Plz
9239 West Center Road
Omaha NE 68124
Phone (402) 354-8055
Toll Free (800) 851-2336
www.lapne.org

Nebraska Cemetery Association
Mike Hutchinson
Wyuka Cemetery and Funeral Home
3600 O Street
Lincoln NE 68510
Phone (402) 474-3600
Nebraska Funeral Directing Association
521 First Street   PO Box 10
Milford NE 68405
Phone (402) 761-2217
Fax (402) 761-2224
E-mail: staff@nefda.org

Nebraska Anatomical Board
986395 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha NE 68198
Phone (402) 559-6249
E-mail: pbecker@unmc.edu
Vital Records (Death Certificates, etc.)
Gold's Building
1033 O Street Suite 130 (11th & N St)
Lincoln NE 68509
Phone (402) 471-2871

Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services Licensing
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-2117
 
Fax Number
(402) 742-1106
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit
Attn: Funeral
PO Box 94986
Lincoln NE 68509-4986

 

Nebraska State Office Building

301 Centennial Mall South

14th & M Streets, 1st Floor

Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.