Dialysis Patient Care Technician

 
1
Professions & Occupations
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know


The DCPT renewal notice was sent without reference to the $95 renewal fee.

If you are submitting a renewal notice, please include a check or money order for $95 payable to: DHHS Licensure Unit.

A dialysis patient care technician may administer hemodialysis under the authority of a registered nurse, licensed pursuant to the Nurse Practice Act, who may delegate tasks based on nursing judgment to a dialysis patient care technician based on the technician's education, knowledge, training and skill.

Qualifications

  • Must be a minimum of 19 years of age Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129(1) Uniform Credentialing Act
  • Possession of a high school diploma or a general educational development certificate
  • Training which follows national recommendations for dialysis patient care technicians and is conducted primarily in a work setting
  • Obtaining national certification by successful passage of a certification examination within 18 months after becoming employed as a dialysis patient care technician; and
  • Recertification at intervals required by the organization providing the certification examination, including no fewer than 30 and no more than 40 patient contact hours since the previous certification or recertification


Dialysis Patient Care Technician Registry - Click to check application status and/or obtain registry number.

FAQs


Applications, Forms & Fees

Helpful Links

National Certification Programs

To be registered as a dialysis patient care technician all applicants must pass an exam given by one of the following organizations. The exam must be completed within 18 months after becoming employed as a dialysis patient care technician. Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-3705(3). Proof of successful completion of a national certification examination (a photocopy of certificate) is to be submitted to Dialysis Patient Care Technician registry.

The Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing Technology (BONENT) 

Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission (NNCC)

National Nephrology Certification Organization (NNCO)

Vital Records

If you need a copy of your birth certificate or a copy of a marriage license or divorce decree (to show a name change), you can contact the DHHS Office of Vital Records if these events occurred in Nebraska.

 

 Office of Nursing Support
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-4322
 
Fax Number
(402) 742-1151
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit

Attn: Dialysis Patient Care Tech

PO Box 94986
Lincoln NE 68509-4986

 

Nebraska State Office Building

301 Centennial Mall South

14th & M Streets, 1st Floor

Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.