NEW: Continuing Competency Waiver Information
NEW: Executive Order: Provisional License Information
Chiropractic practitioners shall observe and be subject to all state and municipal laws and regulations relative to the control of contagious and infectious diseases, and all matters pertaining to public health. They shall report to the proper health officers just as other practitioners do. Chiropractic practitioners may sign death certificates. When performing acupuncture, a chiropractor licensed under the Uniform Credentialing Act shall provide the same standard of care to patients as that provided by a person licensed under the Uniform Credentialing Act to practice medicine and surgery, osteopathy, or osteopathic medicine and surgery.
Requirements: For requirements for chiropractic licensing, please see the regulations at right.
On or before August 1 of even-numbered years, each chiropractor holding an active Nebraska license must have completed at least 36 hours of approve continuing education during the preceding 24-month period. The Department waives continuing competency requirements for individuals who were first credentialed within the 24-month period immediately preceding the renewal date. Please see the regulations at right for more information regarding continuing education.
Chiropractic licenses expire August 1 of each even-numbered year. The Licensure Unit will send a renewal notice to the license holder's last address of record at least 30 days before the expiration date.
During the timeframe for license renewal, a licensed chiropractor can renew online using a credit card or mail in a paper renewal application with a check for the renewal fee. To renew, please visit the renewal page on our website.
DHHS Licensure Unit
PO Box 94986Lincoln NE 68509-4986
Nebraska State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South14th & M Streets, 1st FloorLincoln NE 68508
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.