Body Art Profession

 
1
 
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

Click here for the Body Art Facility home page

Types of licenses issued by Nebraska:

Body Art Facility: A place where body art is performed or where the business of body art is conducted.

Body Piercer: Punctures the skin for the purpose of inserting removable jewelry or other objects through the body. A license is not required when only puncturing the external part of the earlobe.

Brander: Makes a permanent mark on a person by burning it into the skin.

Permanent Color Technician: Includes permanent makeup/cosmetic tattoo. Inserts nontoxic dyes for cosmetic purposes.

Tattoo Artist: Inserts nontoxic dyes into the skin to form permanent designs.

To practice in Nebraska, you must hold a Nebraska license and you must practice in a Nebraska-licensed body art facility.

Advisory Opinions

Advisory statements are issued by the Board of Cosmetology, Electrology, Esthetics, Nail Technology and Body Art for informational purposes only; they are NOT legal opinions and are non-binding. The advisory opinions define acts which in the opinion of the board are or are not permitted in the practice of body art.

Dermal Punches - No, this practice does not fall within the category of body piercing.

Suspension Hooks - Yes, this falls under the category of body piercing.

Dry Tattooing - Dry tattooing is within tattooing IF it includes inserting dyes for the procedure. (12/4/2017)

Paramedical Tattooing - Yes, falls within the scope of practice for tattooing or permanent color technology.

Remember: With any service, one must be competent and trained in providing the service and must practice within the Body Art scope of practice for which s/he is licensed. 

Applications, Requirements & Fees

FOR A BODY ARTIST:

Please read the application instructions carefully. They provide more information relating to the requirements for being licensed.

Body Artist Initial Application

Requirements

Please see the regulations for complete requirements.

Several cities/counties in Nebraska also require a license to practice or operate a business. Be sure to check with your local offices.

Fees

FAQs

Conviction Reporting

Q. When do I need to report convictions?

A. If you have a misdemeanor or felony conviction or credential discipline, you must report such actions to the Office of Investigations within 30 days of the conviction/action. Failure to disclose any such convictions/credential discipline could result in disciplinary action.

Q. Am I required to report traffic convictions?

A. Yes, if the conviction was a misdemeanor or felony and you were sentenced or paid a ticket through traffic court. (Infractions, such as speeding, are not required to be reported.) Some examples are: no valid registration, no driver's license on person, and driving under suspension.  

Reinstatement

Body Artists:

To reinstate your body art license from either inactive or expired status, you must:

  • Complete at least two hours of Bloodborne Pathogens (disease) training within the previous 24 months.
  • Submit a complete reinstatement application and fees as listed on the reinstatement application. Hours taken to reinstate your license can also be used to renew your license at the end of that renewal period so you are not required to have additional hours for renewal. 

Reinstatement Application

Renewal Information

All body art licenses for persons and facilities expire on March 31st of odd-numbered years.

Body Artists:

To renew, a licensee must complete at least two hours of Bloodborne Pathogens (disease) training, which includes sanitation, infection control and sterilization; and requires an examination as a condition of training completion. The examination must include questions relating to the following:

  • Sanitation
  • Safety (including emergency procedures)
  • Infection control including cross contamination and barrier control
  • Sterilization including use of an autoclave

This training may be obtained through any of the following:

  • a nationally accredited organization
  • sponsorship by local government
  • sponsorship by a hospital
  • sponsorship by a college;
  • sponsorship by OSHA (Occupation and Safety Hazards Act)
  • the American Red Cross
Office of Behavioral Health & Consumer Services
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Phone Number
(402) 471-2117
 
Fax Number
(402) 742-1106
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit

Attn: Body Art

PO Box 94986

Lincoln NE 68509-4986

 

Nebraska State Office Building

301 Centennial Mall South

14th & M Streets, 1st Floor

Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.  Closed federal holidays.