Asbestos Occupation Licensing

 
1
Professions & Occupations
 
 
Yes
No

What would you like to do?

What you need to know

NEW: Continuing Competency Waiver Information


Any person working on an asbestos project or in an asbestos occupation in Nebraska must obtain a license.

An asbestos occupation means an inspector, management planner, project designer, project monitor, supervisor or worker. License means an authorization issued by the department permitting an individual to work in an asbestos occupation.

An asbestos project includes the following activities which may only be performed by licensed individuals: determining whether asbestos-containing material exists, assessing the condition of asbestos-containing material, preparing plans and specifications for an asbestos project, performing the asbestos project, and performing final clearance air sampling or soil sampling at the end of an asbestos project.

Initial Application, Requirements & Fees

To qualify for a license in an asbestos occupation in Nebraska you must, within the past year:

  1. Complete a course approved by the Department for the asbestos occupation for which you are seeking a license.  Score at least 70 percent on the final written examination;
  2. Complete a course approved by the Department of at least four hours that covers Nebraska law, Rules and Regulations.  Score at least 70% on the final written examination;
  3. Be examined by a physician and declared to be physically capable of working wearing a respirator. Must have an original signature from the physician (MD or DO).

Initial Application for Asbestos Occupation Certification and Limited Certification

Fee Schedule

Fee waiver information NEW (Dec 2019)

 

Renewal Information, Continuing Education & Reinstatement

All asbestos licenses expire two years from the date of issuance.

To renew a license, submit the following: 

  • Renewal notice
  • Renewal fee
  • Documentation of completing both a Department approved asbestos refresher training course and a Department-approved four-hour Nebraska law, rules and regulations course.
  • Documentation of being examined by a physician and declared to be physically capable of working while wearing a respirator.  Must have an original signature from the physician (MD or DO).

A renewal notice will be mailed by the Department to your last known address at least 30 days prior to the expiration of your license. Note: The Licensure Unit no longer mails wallet licenses. Please visit the License Lookup site to see your license status and view or print a wallet license at no charge, if desired.

An individual, once licensed, must successfully complete an approved annual review course in order to renew his or her license, and must furnish proof of completion of such course during renewal.

For information on approved courses, contact DHHS.HealthHazardIndoorAir@nebraska.gov by e-mail or call (402) 471-0549.

Reinstatement

An application for reinstatement to practice an asbestos occupation is required if your license has been revoked, expired, placed on inactive status, lapsed or voluntarily surrendered without disciplinary action.

Reinstatement Application for Asbestos Occupation Certification and Limited Certification

 

Click here for the Asbestos Program home page. 

Office of Rehabilitation & Community Services
Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit
Licensing Phone Number
(402) 471-2299
Asbestos Program Phone Number
(402) 471-0386
Licensing Fax Number
(402) 742-1152
Mailing & Physical Addresses

DHHS Licensure Unit
Attn: Asbestos Licensing

PO Box 94986

Lincoln NE 68509-4986

 

Nebraska State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South
14th & M Streets, 1st Floor
Lincoln NE 68508

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.