Stem Cell Research Project

Community and Rural Health Planning
Public Health

What would you like to do?

What you need to know


The Stem Cell Research Act (Neb.Rev.Stat. § 71-8801 et seq) was passed during the 2008 legislative session. It established the Stem Cell Research Advisory Committee which is responsible for developing a grant process and making grants to Nebraska institutions or researchers to conduct stem cell research that does not use human embryonic stem cells.

The stem cell grants are funded with state tobacco settlement dollars.

Nebraska Stem Cell Research Advisory Committee

Members of the Nebraska Stem Cell Research Advisory Committee include the dean of each medical school in Nebraska accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (Creighton University School of Medicine and the University of Nebraska Medical Center), or their designee. In addition, four scientists from outside Nebraska, with experience in non-embryonic stem cell research funded by the National Institutes of Health, also serve on the Committee, once they are appointed by the Nebraska Legislature. Current members of the Committee include:

  • Bradley Britigan, M.D., Dean, University of Nebraska Medical Center, College of Medicine
  • Robert Dunlay, M.D., Dean, Creighton University School of Medicine 
  • Rebecca Morris, Ph.D., The Hormel Institute at the University of Minnesota 
  • Alysson Muotri, Ph.D., University of California-San Diego 
  • Dennis Roop, Ph.D., University of Colorado-Denver
  • Rui Yi, Ph.D., University of Colorado-Boulder

Stem Cell Grants

Nebraska Stem Cell Grants

Annual Reports