A hospital is a facility where diagnosis, treatment, medical care, obstetrical care, nursing care or related services are provided on an outpatient or inpatient basis for a period of more than 24 hours to people who are ill or injured or to aged and infirmed people requiring or receiving convalescent care. A 'Hospital' includes a facility or a distinct part of a facility which provides space for a general acute hospital, a rehabilitation hospital, a long-term care hospital, a critical access hospital, or a psychiatric hospital.
Transplant hospital information is available here.
Hospital licenses are renewed annually and expire on December 31st.
An application for a hospital license must meet the requirements in:
A hospital may not operate until the inspection has been completed and the Department determines a license can be issued.
A change in location or ownership of the facility voids the license. A new license is required prior ot providing patient care and services.
CON prohibits new nursing home and rehabilitation beds, with a few specific exceptions. If you want to create, increase, relocate, convert, or change ownership of beds, please email DHHS.LicensureUnit@nebraska.gov with a brief description of your proposed project.
Phone: (402) 471-2115Fax: (402) 471-3577
Title 175 Chapter 9: Regulations Governing Licensure of Hospitals
Initial and Renewal Licensure Fees:
All hospitals must also pay with their renewal licensure fee an additional fee under the Outpatient Surgical Procedures Data Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 81-6,111 to 81-6,119, as follows:
Duplicate of original license: $10
Refunds for denied applications:
A facility must notify the Department in writing of the following changes:
Please submit your written change notices on facility letterhead/signed by a facility officer to:
DHHS Public Health – Licensure UnitAcute Care Facilities OfficePO Box 94986Lincoln, NE 68508-9489
OR you can submit the signed letter via email to: DHHS.firstname.lastname@example.org.
The Department conducts onsite inspections of hospitals in accordance with 175 NAC 9 Regulations Governing the Licensure of Hospitals and in accordance with Centers for Medicare & Medicaid (CMS) mandates.
Per 175 NAC 9, the Department may conduct an onsite inspection of the facility at any of the following times:
Results of inspections/surveys and other facility related information can be found at:
Hospital pharmacies that do not hold a commercial pharmacy license must submit a completed Hospital Pharmacy Quality Review Assessment (HPQAR) form and an Inventory of Controlled Substances to the Department by May 1st, annually.
Change in Pharmacist in Charge
The Department must be notified within 30 days of a change in the hospital pharmacist in charge. Please note there is no grace period for the facility to be without a pharmacist in charge. If you have a change, please complete and submit the change form below and the controlled substance inventory to the below address.
Please send all documents to:
or mail to:
DHHS Licensure UnitAttn: Acute Care Facilities PO Box 94986Lincoln, NE 68508-9489
Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP)
DHHS Licensure Unit
Attn: Hospital Licensing
PO Box 94986
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986
Nebraska State Office Building301 Centennial Mall South
14th & M Streets, 1st Floor
Lincoln NE 68508
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Closed federal holidays.