
                                                                                                                                                                 

                      
           
Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 
402-471-2399  susan.chocholousek@nebraska.gov  
 
 
 
Mail this application to the address listed above.                                     You must complete all sections of this application 
 
TEMPORARY LICENSE TYPE:   

 

Indicate the Type of Temporary License Being Requested:               
 

  Cosmetologist   Esthetician  

  Electrologist    Nail Technician 
 

 

TEMPORARY LICENSE FEE:  $25    
 
 

A.  Fee Waiver:  If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your temporary license fee is waived.   
Check only one waiver: 

□  Young Worker:   I am under 26 years old. 

□  Low-income Individual:   

□ I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the  
medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, OR  

□ My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.   

□  Military Family:  I am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably  
discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried 
surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.  

 
 

B.  Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers you must pay $25. 
 

Pay by check or money order to:  Licensure Unit 
Your cancelled check is your proof of payment.  Payment is processed upon receipt.  Debit or credit card is not accepted. 

 

 
 
Temporary practitioner means a person licensed under the Cosmetology, Electrology, Esthetics, Nail Technology, and 
Body Art Practice Act to perform any or all of the practices of cosmetology for a limited time under the supervision 
at all times of a designated supervisor. 
 
SECTION A:  INFORMATION   
 
Name: 
 

First Middle Last 

 
Address:              (Street)  
                    
              (City, State, Zip)  

 
 
 

 
Social Security Number:  _____________________________________.   
 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS.   Although your number is NOT public information, 
DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue. 

 
SECTION B:  COSMETOLOGY/ESTHETICIAN EDUCATION   
 
School/Apprenticeship Attended:  

 
 

 
Location:                                           (Street)  
                    
                                            (City, State, Zip)  

 
 
 

  

TEMPORARY PRACTITIONER 
REGISTRATION  

 
COSMETOLOGY, ELECTROLOGY ESTHETICS or 

NAIL TECHNOLOGY  
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SECTION C:  SALON INFORMATION 
 

The below Information must be taken from the current salon license: 
 
Name of Salon Owner: 

 
 

 
Name of Salon where practice will occur: 

 
 

 
Location:                                           (Street)  
                    
                                            (City, State, Zip)  

 
 
 
 

 
Salon License Number: 

 
 

 
OPTIONAL - Telephone Number: 

 
 

 
 
Supervisor(s) information - licenses must be active and appropriate to the category being supervised: 
 
Name of Designated Supervisor: 

 
 

 
Designated Supervisor's License #: 

 
 

 
Name of Alternate Supervisor: 

 
 

 
Alternate Supervisor's License #: 

 
 

 
 

SECTION D:  EXAMINATION INFORMATION  
 

I have submitted the application for a Nebraska license 
by examination?  yes  no  
 

 

If Yes, indicate date it was submitted: ________________________ 
If No, a temporary license will not be issued until an acceptable 
application is received 

   
            
SECTION E:  ATTESTATION   
An individual who practices prior to issuance of a credential is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day 
up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential. 
 
Applicant Must Complete the following 
 
I hereby state that I am the person making application, I am of good moral character, and the statements on this application are 
true and complete.  I further state that: 
 
  I have not practiced in Nebraska prior to this application for a temporary license; or 
 I have practiced for ____ number of days in Nebraska prior to this application for a temporary licensure. 

 
Identify below the name of the establishment where you practiced: 
   

Name of Establishment Lic # City Telephone # 
 
 

   

 
 

   

 
                      

            ____________________________________ 
                 (Signature of Applicant) 
  

            ____________________ Date 
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Section F must be completed by your supervisor(s) 
 
SECTION F:  ATTESTATION OF SUPERVISOR(s)   
Both the designated supervisor and the alternate supervisor (if an alternate supervisor is on staff) must complete this section of 
the application 
 
A salon which allows an individual to practice prior to issuance of a credential is subject to action as provided in the statutes and 
regulations governing the credential. 
 
Supervisor(s) Must Complete the following 
 
I (we) are the person(s) referred to on this application and that the statements herein are true and complete.  Furthermore, it is 
understood that a registered temporary practitioner must be supervised at all times by the designated licensee or alternate 
licensee named on this application and agree to supervise the applicant whose name appears on this application.  
 
 
_________________________________________    _______________________________________ 
DESIGNATED SUPERVISOR'S SIGNATURE     ALTERNATE SUPERVISOR'S SIGNATURE 
 
________________          ________________  
(License Number)          (License Number)  
 
_________________________ date      _________________________ date  
 
 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
NOTE:  The temporary registration will NOT be issued until the application for licensure by examination & fee has been 
received and approved by the Department.  Upon the issuance of a temporary license, the applicant may begin practice in 
an appropriately licensed establishment. 
 
 
38-1073.  Licensure as temporary practitioner; requirements. An applicant for licensure as a temporary practitioner shall show 
evidence that his or her completed application for regular licensure has been accepted by the department, that he or she has not 
failed any portion of the licensure examination, and that he or she has been accepted for work in a licensed establishment under 
the supervision of a licensed practitioner.  
 
38-1074.  Registration; temporary licensure; not renewable; expiration dates; extension. Licensure as a temporary 
practitioner shall expire 8 weeks following the date of issuance or upon receipt of examination results, whichever occurs first, 
except that the license of a temporary practitioner who fails to take the first scheduled examination shall expire immediately unless 
the department finds that the temporary practitioner was unable to attend the examination due to an emergency or other valid 
circumstances, in which case the department may extend the license an additional eight weeks or until receipt of the examination 
results, whichever occurs first. No license may be extended in such manner more than once. 
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