

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Department of Health and Human Services Division of Public Health Licensure Unit P.O. Box 94986 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Telephone #: 402-471-2299

Effective: 06/23/2012 Revised: 03/05/2021

Print or type application and mail to address on the left APPLICATION MUST BE PRINTED <u>ONE-SIDED</u>ONLY AND MUST BE ACTUAL SIZE.

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT TO PRACTICE AS A PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT (Non-disciplinary Revocation, Expired, Inactive, Lapsed or Voluntary Surrender unrelated to Discipline)															
SECTION A – Fee															
Reinstatement Application Fee:															
	The physical therapist assistant reinstatement application fee is \$125.00. If your PTA certificate is reinstated														
	within 180 days prior to the expiration date of November 1 of odd-numbered years, the reinstatement														
application fee is prorated and will be \$60.00. <b>Make your check payable to "Licensure Unit.</b> All physical therapist assistant certificates expire on November 1 <sup>st</sup> of odd-numbered years.															
												,		Nev	Dee
Yea		Jan	-	eb	Mar	Apr	May	Jun	Ju		Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec
Eve		\$125	-	125	\$125	\$125	\$125	\$125	\$12	-	5125	\$125	\$125	\$125	\$125
Od	d	\$125	\$1	125	\$125	\$125	\$60.00	\$60.00	\$60.0	00 \$6	60.00	\$60.00	\$60.00	\$125	\$125
							applican								
			<u>ill b</u>			on the IN	TERNET	at http://		e.gov/l	licensu	ure/pages		I-therapy	/.aspx
1	Lega	I Name		Last: Firs				First:	·st:			Middle:			
Maiden Name, Name,															
Maiden Name Name: Certificate number:															
2	Present Street/Box/Route:														
Address															
			City:						State:			Z	ip:		
3	Othe	r Info		Other names you are known as:					Phone # :						
			-	Emo		20:				Fax#:					
				Email Address:						Optional					
Add	ditiona	I Informa	atio	n rea	uested:					Option					
				Social Security Number (SSN);					SSN#:						
	Appropriate														
	Box(s): Alien Registration Number ("A#"); or					A#:									
	Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) number				numbe	er I-94#:									
							st report k								
	social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not public information, DHHS may disclose it for														
	child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue.														

THIS BOX IS FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY						
BACKGROUND CHECK						
BOARD REVIEW						
REINSTATEMENT # AND DATE						

dis	<b>SECTION C – Conviction and Certification Information</b> (All applicants must complete this section) Failure to disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in									
disciplinary action, including, but not limited to payment of a civil penalty.										
	Answer each of the following questions with regard to the time period since your certificate was last renewed.									
	Answer each of the following questions by placing a check mark in the appropriate box (yes or no) and									
	completing the information requested. All 'yes' responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested documentation. (Continue on reverse side or use additional sheet if space is inadequate.)									
#										
π	Question	103	110		Sure Action	Date of F		Court/Entity		
								Taking Action		
1	Have you ever							raining / totion		
· ·	been convicted in									
	any jurisdiction of									
	a misdemeanor or									
	felony?									
١f \	ou answered YES to	the que	estion a	L bove, you must submit fo	llowing docum	nents with	vour ar	polication:		
,		•		hich includes charges an	-		your ap	phoadon.		
				ents leading to the convic		•	oro wh	v) and a summary		
				ddress the behaviors/act						
	•			aluations and proof of tre						
				reatment was obtained a			(3) 1100	ived a drug and/or		
				fficer addressing probat		,	current	status if you are		
	currently on pro			incer addressing proba			current	status, ii you are		
Th	· · ·		e to cr	edential(s) that you hol	d or have hel	d in healt	h servi	ces health		
				ervices in Nebraska or a						
#	Question	Yes	No	State(s)/Jurisdiction(s)	<b>_</b>	Type of	credent	tial		
2	Are you or have			If yes, what States(s)/J	urisdiction(s)			edential do you		
	you been			are you credential in?		hold?		, <b>,</b>		
	credentialed in									
	any state or									
	jurisdiction?									
	(Current or expired									
	credentials must be listed.)									
2	,			Turne of Oredontial	Data of Acti			Tatitu taking potion		
3	Has your			Type of Credential	Date of Acti	on Na	ame of E	Entity taking action		
	credential ever									
	been denied,									
	refused renewal,									
suspended, revoked or had										
disciplinary										
	measures taken									
	against it?									
<u> </u>		ES to	aucoti	ons 2 and/or 3 above,			rtificati	ion of your		
	2				,			2		
1	Creaenilais(S) (Cui			ed) to be sent to Nebra		AllaChm	en A (	Certification In		
	Another Jurisdiction	nn 1 + - +	ha am	vonrioto ligonalma a						

	SECTION D – Practice Prior to Reinstatement: An individual who practices prior to reinstatement of a							
credential is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of \$10 per day up to \$1,000 or such other action								
as 1	provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential. Have you practiced as a <b>Physical Therapist Assistant</b> in Nebraska since							
'	your certificate was placed on expired, inactive, non-disciplinary revocation,	Vee	No					
	lapsed or following voluntary surrender unrelated to discipline?	Yes	No					
2	If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in Nebraska and	Number of days:						
	what is the business name, location (address) and telephone number of the							
	practice.	Name of Business	:					
		Location/Address	<u></u>					
		Business	01					
		Dusiness						
		Phone Number of	Business:					
SE	CTION E - CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS – PHYSICAL THEF	RAPIST ASSISTAN	Т					
1	To reinstate your physical therapist assistant certificate you must successfully complete the	he Nebraska Law Tut	orial. The					
	Nebraska Law Tutorial is a free, online open book tutorial developed by the Physical The	rapy Board for the put	rpose of					
	assuring that all physical therapist assistants understand the Physical Therapy Practice A to the Practice of Physical Therapy – 172 NAC 137. You must receive a score of 100%.							
	and Physical Therapy Regulation are located on the Physical Therapy Webpage under "							
	at: https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/pages/physical-therapy.aspx							
-	The NE Law Tutorial is located on the Physical Therapy webpage under 'Renewal Information of the Ph	mation'						
	at: https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/pages/physical-therapy.aspx	·						
_	Have you completed the <b>NE Law Tutorial</b> with a score of 100%?		10					
2	Physical Therapists Assistants are required to have completed at least ten (10) hours of a within the preceding twenty four months of this application.	continuing education p	orograms					
-	In order for a learning experience to be accepted for renewal or reinstatement of a physical therapist	license or physical thera	apist					
	assistant certificate, the learning experience must relate to physical therapy and it may focus on research, treatment, documentation,							
	management or education. The Board may accept as continuing education for the following learning experience to include: 1. Programs at State and National meetings which relate to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of physical							
	therapy for example, a meeting of the Nebraska Physical Therapy Association and/or the American Physical Therapy Association; or							
	<ol> <li>Formal education courses or presentations in which:</li> <li>a. The courses or presentations are formally organized and planned instructional experiences that have: (1) A date; (2) Location; (3)</li> </ol>							
	Course title; (4) Number of contact hours; (5) A signed certificate of attendance; and (6) Are open to all licensees and certificate holders; b. The objectives relate to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of physical therapy; and							
	c. The instructor has specialized experience or training to meet the objectives of the course;							
	<ol> <li>University sponsored courses relating to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of physical</li> <li>Home study relating to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of physical</li> </ol>		ertificate holder					
	may complete a maximum of ten hours of continuing education by home study each 24 month renew							
	<ul><li>have a testing mechanism;</li><li>Management courses which relate to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of the testing testing to the practice of the testing tes</li></ul>	ctice of physical therapy.	A Licensee o					
	certificate holder may complete a maximum of four hours of continuing education utilizing management							
	<ol> <li>Videotapes or satellite programs that meet the following criteria:</li> <li>a. There is a sponsoring group or agency;</li> </ol>							
	<li>b. There is a facilitator or program official present each time the videotapes or satellite programs a licensees;</li>	re presented to monitor a	attendance of					
	c. Any program official who wishes to receive credit for a videotape or satellite program may not self-r	monitor attendance; and						
	d. The objectives of the program must relate to the theory or clinical application of theory pertainin Licensee or certificate holder may complete a maximum of ten hours of continuing education uti							
	programs each 24 month renewal period;	0 1 1						
	<ol> <li>Completion and publication of a scientific review of a research paper for a professionally recognized example, APTA Hooked on Evidence, Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro). A Licensee</li> </ol>		,					
	maximum of five hours each 24 month period. One contact hour will be awarded for each article p							
	<ul><li>certificate of completion or a copy of the published review;</li><li>8. Participation in research or other scholarly activities that result in professional publication or acceptance for publication that relates to physical</li></ul>							
	therapy and is intended for an audience of health care professionals: A Licensees or certificate holders will be awarded a maximum of ten							
	hours each 24 month period. These include: a. Primary author of an article in a non-refereed journal. Earn five hours per article: Documentation re	equired – a copy of the art	icle;					
	b. Primary or secondary author of an article in a refereed journal. Earn ten hours per article: Documentation required – a copy of the article;							
	<ul> <li>Primary, secondary or contributing author of a published textbook. Earn ten hours per book: Docu page;</li> </ul>	amentation required – A CC						
	<ul> <li>Primary or secondary author of a poster presentation. Five hours per presentation: acknowledgement;</li> </ul>	Documentation required	d – Letter of					
	e. Primary author of a home study course. Earn five hours per course: Documentation - Letter of app	roval;						

3	9. Completion of the Jurisprudence (NE LAW) Examination: Five hours of continuing education will be awarded for passing the Jurisprudence (NE LAW) examination with a scaled score that is greater than or equal to 600; 10. Completion of a residency and/or fellowship program approved by the American Physical Therapy Association: A Licensee or certificate holder will be awarded one hour for each month of participation. Documentation required – Letter verifying participation from the agency providing the program. The dates of participation must be included in the letter; 11. Obtaining the initial Centified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS) certificate issued by the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA). Four hours of continuing education will be awarded for the Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS) certificate during the twenty hour months prior to the reinstatement application or license expiration date; or 12. Direct supervision of students for clinical education: a. The physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who is supervising the student must be an American Physical Therapy Association Credentialed Clinical Instructor of record at the Basic Level; b. The student being supervised must be from an accredited physical therapist or physical therapist and participating in a full-time clinical experience of varying length. Full time is defined as clinical experiences with durations of approximately 40 hours per week ranging from 1-18 weeks; c. One hour will be awarded for every 160 contact hours of supervision of full-time physical therapist assistant student; and e. The physical therapist any physical therapist assistant per 24 month renewal period may be awarded to each individual for supervision of a physical therapist assistant student; and e. The physical therapist or physical therapist assistant must have documentation from the accredited educational program indicating the number of hours spent supervising a student. 13. Two hours of credit will be awarded fo									
	If you <u>have not</u> completed the continuing education requirement and wish to apply for a waiver of the continuing education, submit the documentation required for the waiver you check below.									
	I AM REQUESTING A WAIVER continuing education hours. Check applicable reason(s) for waiver below:	Yes No Number of hours:								
	I have served full-time duty in the active military service of the United States, or a National Guard call to active service for more than 30 consecutive days, or active service as a commissioned officer of the Public Health Service or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration during part of the 24 months immediately preceding this PTA reinstatement application and request both my continuing education requirements and renewal fee be waived. (You <u>MUST</u> provide official documentation of Armed Forces Service, such as Active Duty Orders to claim this exemption.)	Yes No								
	I was first certified within the twenty-four months immediately preceding the date of my application for reinstatement.	Yes No								
	I have suffered a serious or disabling illness or physical disability, which prevented completion of the required number of continuing education hours during the twenty-four (24) months immediately proceeding this reinstatement application. (Attach a statement from treating physician(s) stating that you were injured or ill, the duration of the illness or injury and of the recovery period, and that the certificate holder was unable to attend continuing education programs during that period.)	Yes No								
	I was not able to complete my continuing education requirement due to circumstances beyond my control. (You must submit documentation to support this waiver request.)	Yes No								

## **SECTION G – Attestation**

<u>Attestation:</u> For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (*check ONE* of the boxes below):

#### I attest that

- □ I am a citizen of the United States; or
- □ I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.
- □ Check this box if you are <u>not</u> a citizen of the United States nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.

You may still be eligible for a credential if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and evidence of one of the following:

- a. Approved deferred action status (DACA);
- b. A pending application for asylum in the United States;
- c. A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or
- d. A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States.

#### Application Attestation: I attest that:

- 1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and
- 2. All statements on this application are true and complete.

Print Name:

Signature:

Date:

## NOTE:

The applicant must submit the following documentation:

- 1. <u>Other Credentialing Info</u>: If you are or have been credentialed to provide health services, health-related services, or environmental services in other jurisdiction(s), you must have the other jurisdiction(s) submit to the Department a certification/verification of your credential;
- <u>Conviction Information</u>: If you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor during the time period since your license was last renewed, you
  must submit:
  - (a) A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition;
  - (b) Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;
  - (c) All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and
  - (d) A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on probation;
- 3. Citizenship/non-citizenship information: You must submit a copy of at least one of the following documents:

#### If you are a U.S. Citizen, provide one of the following documents as proof of U.S. Citizenship:

- A U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired);
- A birth certificate issued by a state, county, municipal authority or outlying possession of the United States bearing an official seal; An American Indian Card (I-872);
- A Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570);
- A Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561):
- Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350);

A Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240);

Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or DS-1350);

A United States Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or I-179);

A Northern Mariana Card (I-873).

# If you are NOT a U.S. Citizen, you must submit a copy of one of the following:

If you are a Qualified Alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act:

Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport; or

Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa.

If you are not a U.S. Citizen nor a Qualified Alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act and are lawfully present in the United States, you may still be eligible for a license if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and evidence of one of the following documents under the Federal REAL ID Act: Employment Authorization Card

AND

An approved deferred action status (DACA);

A pending application for asylum in the United States;

A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States;

A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence; or in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States.

NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland Security. This process may take 4-6 weeks.

If an applicant has practiced while his/her credential was revoked, expired, inactive, or voluntarily surrendered, the Department may, with the recommendation of the Board, take one or more of the following actions:

- 1. Assess an administrative penalty, in which case a separate notice of opportunity for hearing will be sent to the applicant;
- 2. Deny the application to reinstate the credential;
- 3. Reinstate the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other disciplinary actions on the credential; and/or
- 4. Reinstate the credential.

If an applicant has committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations governing the credential, the Department may:

- 1. Deny the application for reinstatement of the credential;
- 2. Reinstate the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other disciplinary actions on the credential; and/or
- 3. Reinstate the credential.

The Department will act within 150 days on all completed applications. The Department's decision may be appealed to the Director by any party to the decision. The appeal must be in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.

#### STATE OF NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH LICENSURE UNIT PHYSICAL THERAPY

# CERTIFICATION OF CREDENTIAL IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION

All applicants applying for reinstatement of his/her Nebraska Physical Therapist Assistant credential who are or have been credentialed to provide health services, health-related services, or environmental services in other jurisdiction(s) (state), must have those jurisdiction(s) complete and submit this form directly to our office. Section A must be filled out by the applicant and forwarded to the appropriate jurisdiction(s) to complete Sections B, C and D.

	Section A must be fil	led out by the appli	cant.							
Applicant's										
Name:										
Credential		Credential		Credential	Active					
Туре:		Number:		Status:	Inactive					
Data af lasura			Data of Emirations	<u> </u>	Other					
Date of Issue:		a ampleted apply if i	Date of Expiration: t is a certification of a Phys	ical Thereniet	Crodential					
			t is a certification of a Phys	ical merapisi	Credential.					
Credential was	s issued on the basis of	:								
I National P	hysical Therapist Assis	tant Examination	Date of Examination:		Score:					
□ State Exar	mination		Date of Examination:	nation:Score:						
D Other. Ple	ease explain:									
Graduation fro	m an accredited Physic	al Therapist Assista	int Program:							
Name of Phys	ical Therapist Assistant	School:								
	•		Date o	f graduation:						
	This section must be									
	records of this Departm	ent, the applicant's c	redential:							
	d standing.									
	<ul> <li>Has been disciplined.</li> <li>Please explain any disciplinary action:</li></ul>									
Submit si	upporting document of (	disciplinary action								
	icant have any pending	· ·								
	iount nave any penaing	complaints:								
	es, please explain:									
SECTION D -	This section must be	completed								
SIGNATURE:										
DATE:	DATE:									
NAME (PRINT)										
	AGENCY									
TITLE:	TITLE: SEAL									
	GENCY NAME AND A	DDRESS								
RETURN TH	IS FORM TO:									

LICENSURE UNIT ATTN: PHYSICAL THERAPY P.O. BOX 94986 LINCOLN, NE 68509-4986