

### **Application Information Nail Technology Instructor by EXAMINATION**

#### License Requirements:

- 1. Hold a Current Active Nebraska License as a Nail Technician.
- 2. Be a citizen of the United States or lawfully present in the US.
- 3. Pass the National Instructor examination must be taken in the English.
- 4. Have graduated from an instructor program in a school of cosmetology or nail technology with at least 300 hours of training.

License Fee Waiver: Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license fee is waived:

- **Young Worker:** You are between the ages of 17 and 25 (under the age of 26).
- Low-Income Individual: You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, OR your household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
  - If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to be submitted.
  - If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a document showing current enrollment.
  - If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see the current income guidelines https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return.
- 3. Military Family: You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

#### To apply for a License:

#### **STEP 1:** Get copies of the following documents:

NON-FNGLISH DOCUMENTS. Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language.

You must	submit a copy of the original document and the translated document. The translation must be an original document enotarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his/her own documents.
1. 🗆 <u>J</u>	JS Citizenship/Lawful Presence (must be at least 17 years old):
<u> </u> [ [ [	J.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:  ☐ Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted).  ☐ U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired).  ☐ Certificate of Naturalization.  ☐ Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.
A Dri	iver's License is NOT acceptable.
] ]	NOT a U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:  Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card;  Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or  Employment Authorization Card AND  An approved deferred action status (DACA);  A pending application for asylum in the United States;  A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or  A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent Residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States.

NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland Security. This process may take up to 30 days.

		Nail Technology Instructor Information - Page 2							
2.	☐ Education: a PHOTOCOPY of:								
	Your Nail Technology Instructor's scho	ool diploma.							
	Attachment 1 completed by your school	·							
	Information Relating to Military Educat	ion. Training, or Service:							
	If you have completed education, training, or s required for this credential while you were a m	service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training nember of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National y state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your							
3.	Other State License Information: If you hold or have held a health related license in any state (other than Nebraska (such as nursing, cosmetology, massage etc.), you must contact that state and request a verification of your license (do not send a copy of your license).								
4.	system to see if the ticket is on your record as or felonies. You are required to list ALL convice required to list infractions, diversions or dismissions.	EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court a misdemeanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors ctions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT sals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through the the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal							
	If you have convictions, you must submit:  (i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;  (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and  (iii) A letter from the applicant's probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently on probation.								
		and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of atment provider must submit all evaluations/discharge summaries directly to the							
		The state of the s							
	<u> </u>	examples of convictions; this is <u>NOT</u> a complete list							
	MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor     DUI / DWI / Open Container	<ul> <li>Driving under Suspension / Revocation</li> <li>License Vehicle without Liability Insurance</li> </ul>							
	Controlled Substance	False Information or Reporting							
	Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary	Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident							
	Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction     Disturbing the Pages	<ul> <li>Operator not Carrying License</li> <li>Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs</li> </ul>							
	<ul><li>Disturbing the Peace</li><li>Assault / Prostitution</li></ul>	Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation							
	Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House	Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal							
	Fail to Appear in Court	Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check							
	discipline, you are required to report such action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the phone 402-471-0175.	icense disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license on to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary ne following website: <a href="https://dhhs.ne.gov/pages/Investigations.aspx">https://dhhs.ne.gov/pages/Investigations.aspx</a> or by							
S	<b>TEP 2:</b> Complete all Sections of the	Application							
S	<b>EP 3:</b> Ask your Nail or Cosmetolog	gy School to complete Attachment 1 of the application							
6-	<b>FEP 4:</b> Submit your application to the	ho Liconcuro Unit							
3	, , ,								
	Completed Application	License Certifications (if licensed in another state)							
╽╠	Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document	The License Fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver). See the license							
	Education Documents	application for a listing of fees for Nail Technology Instructors. Pay by check/money order (your cancelled check is your proof of receipt);							
	Conviction Records (if you have convictions)	debit or credit card is not accented							

#### **STEP 5:** Register for the Examination

- 1. Before you can register for the examination, you must receive the 'approval to test' letter from our office (Licensure Unit). This approval letter will be sent by E-MAIL.
- 2. When you receive this letter, schedule your test date and site with PSI and pay the examination fee directly to PSI. (Do not send this fee to the Licensure Unit)
- 3. The day of your examination, you must take the following to the test site:
  - The 'approval to test' letter that you received from our office. You need to print the letter in order to enter the examination site.
  - A photo ID.

**Special Accommodations:** If you have a disability that requires any accommodations for taking the examination, an "Accommodation Request" must be requested from our office and submitted with your application.

#### **Application Review:** All applications are reviewed in date order received.

- If your application <u>is missing information</u>, you will be contacted **by e-mail** within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list the information that is required to compete your application. You have 90 days to complete your application; if not completed within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed. A new application will then be required.
- If your application is complete, you will receive by e-mail your 'approval to test' letter.

**Records Retention Schedule:** When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records.

Contact Information: Licensure Unit, Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 / E-Mail: <a href="mailto:dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov">dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov</a>



# Nail Technology Instructor Application By Examination

Licensure Unit

**LICENSE FEES:** 

Check only one waiver:

P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 / E-Mail: <a href="mailto:dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov">dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov</a>

A. Fee Waiver: If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license fee is waived.

Mail this application to the address listed above.

☐ Young Worker: I am under 26 years old.

You must complete all sections of this application

Ш	Low-income individual:												
	☐ I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, OR												
	☐ My household	adjusted	d gross inc	ome is b	pelow 130	0% of the	federal i	ncome p	overty gu	ideline.			
cha iss Pa	B. Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers you must pay the fee listed in the chart below. Review the charts to determine the fee required based on the month and year in which your license will be issued  Pay by check or money order to: Licensure Unit Your cancelled check is your proof of payment. Payment is processed upon receipt. Debit or credit card is not accepted.												
	VEAD	lon	Fob	Mar	Amr	May	luna	lube	Aug	Con	Oot	Nov	Doo
Eve	YEAR en Number Year	<b>Jan</b> \$50	<b>Feb</b> \$50	<b>Mar</b> \$50	<b>Apr</b> \$50	<b>May</b> \$50	June \$50	July \$50	<b>Aug</b> \$50	<b>Sep</b> \$50	<b>Oct</b> \$50	<b>Nov</b> \$50	<b>Dec</b> \$50
Ode	d Numbered Year	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25
1	SECTION A: INFORMATION  1 You must print your Legal Name below First: Middle: Last Name:  List any other names, you are or have ever been known as (AKA), including maiden name and your last name on your birth certificate												
2 Address: Street/PO/Route:  City: State or Country: Zip:													
3	Social Security Number (SSN):  Nebraska Cosmetology or Esthetic License #												
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-123 and 38-130 requires you to provide your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not public information, DHHS may share your social security number for child support enforcement or other administrative purposes and provide it to the Department of Revenue or the Department of Labor.													
4	If you ARE NOT a your Alien Regist			□ A	#: 🗆	I-94 #							
5	Date of Birth (Mo	nth/Day/\	rear):			Place	of Birth (C	City/State	or COU	NTRY):			

	E-Mail Address:										
* p	* phone number and e-mail is optional, but providing this information will speed up communication with you										
7	Have you ever been denied the right to take a license examination in any State?  Yes □ No □ If yes, explain:										
Fai	SECTION B: CONVICTION AND LICENSE INFORMATION Failure to list any conviction(s) or disciplinary action(s), regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action.										
CC	NVICTION INFORMATIO	N: You must list A	ALL misd	emeanor or fel	ony convictions (re	egardless of	f when they occurred).				
1						Name of Court Taking Action					
	Yes □ No □										
	The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list										
	MIP/ Tobacco Use by Min     DUI / DWI     Controlled Substance     Open Container     Shoplifting / Theft / Burgla     Unauthorized use of a Fin     Disturbing the Peace     Assault / Prostitution     Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly Co		Driving under Suspension / Revocation License Vehicle without Liability Insurance Fail to Appear in Court False Information or Reporting Leave the Scene of an Accident Operator not Carrying License Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check								
	ENSE INFORMATION: The hnology, massage, etc.) in a			a license that	you currently hold	or have hel	d (such as nursing, nail				
2	Do you hold or have you held a license in any other state(s)?  Yes No   If YES, has your license ever been denied, refused renewal, limited, suspended, revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it?			If yes, what state(s)? What ty		hat type of license?					
				Action	Date of Action	Pate of Action Name of State Taking Ac					
	Yes □ No □										

Additional Phone #: (optional)\*

Phone #: (optional)\*

SECTION C: EDUCATION						
List the name of your School where you completed     vour instructor training:						
your instructor training:	School Name:					
Include photocopy of your diploma						
	Location: (City/State)					
for this credential while you were a member of the armed	r Service: you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any a of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for					
SECTION D: PRACTICE PRIOR TO LICENSE						
	e is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of \$10 per day and regulations.					
Have you practiced as a nail technology instructor in Neb (this does not apply to practice as a student instructor in s						
If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in Nebraska without a Nebraska license and what is the business name, location and telephone number of the	Number of days:					
practice:	Name of Business:					
	City:					
	Telephone #:					
SECTION E: ATTESTATION						
For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 throu	ugh 4-114 and 38-129 (check <b>ONE</b> of the boxes below): I attest that:					
☐ I am a citizen of the United States.						
	qualified alien under the federal Immigration and Nationality Act, or a with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94					
☐ I am <b>NOT</b> a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.						
☐ I am <b>NOT</b> a citizen of the United States, a nonim Immigration and Nationality Act.	migrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal					
I further attest that:						
I have read the application or have had the applicatio     I am of good character and all statements on this application.						
Print Name:						
Signature:	Date:					

**MILITARY**: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at <a href="https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx">https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx</a>



DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Licensure Unit

The records of:

P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 / E-Mail: <a href="mailto:dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov">dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov</a>

#### **ATTACHMENT 1**

Verification of Nail Technology Instructor Training

## THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE NAIL TECHNOLOGY SCHOOL

	(Name of School)									
School Address:	(City and State)									
	(Only area chanc)									
Indicate that:  (Student's Name)										
The above nar	med Student has comp	eted the following Nai	l Technology Instructor Training:							
Total Hours	of Training completed:									
		_	_							
	Date Enrolled:		Date School Diploma or Certificate Issued:							
Date	e Training Completed:									
Date of Final I	Practical Examination:		Practical Score:							
Date of Final	l Written Examination:		Written Score:							
I state that I am t	he person completing th	s form and all informatio	on provided is true and complete.							
Printed Name of	School Representative									
Signature of Scho	ool Representative									
Date Signed	<del></del>									