

### APPLICATION INFORMATION

# Nursing Home Administrator of a Facility Caring Primarily for Persons with Head Injuries and Associated Disorders

### **License Requirements:**

In order to qualify as the administrator of a facility operated primarily for caring for persons with head injuries and associated disorders, you must be licensed as a nursing home administrator and meets the requirements of this section. A license issued under this section permits the holder to serve as a nursing home administrator only in a facility operated primarily for caring for persons with head injuries and associated disorders.

To obtain a license to practice nursing home administration for this type of facility, you must:

- 1. Have at least 4-years of experience working with persons with head injuries or severe physical disabilities, at least 2 of which were spent in an administrative capacity.
- 2. Hold a Nebraska license as:
  - A psychologist.
  - A physician to practice medicine and surgery or psychiatry.
  - An educator with at least a master's degree in education from an accredited college or university.
  - A certified social worker, a certified master social worker, or a licensed mental health practitioner.
  - A physical therapist, an occupational therapist, or a speech-language pathologist.
  - An administrator or executive of a health care facility as defined in section 71-413 who is a member in good standing with an
    organization that offers voluntary certification for the purpose of demonstrating managerial knowledge and experience for
    health care managers.

#### <u>OR</u>

Have at least 8-years of experience working with persons with head injuries or severe physical disabilities, at least 5 of which
were spent in an administrative capacity in a facility operated primarily for caring for persons with head injuries or severe
physical disabilities.

### **Information for Military Spouses:**

**Temporary License:** If you have an active massage therapy license in another state and you are a military spouse, you may be issued a temporary license pending completion of the permanent license requirements. A temporary license specifically for military spouses is available under Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-129.01 and is issued for a period not to exceed 1-year. Please review the following documents required to obtain a temporary license and those listed for a permanent license to determine which process is right for you.

To apply for this temporary license, you need to be a resident of Nebraska and submit the following:

- The attached application
- A copy of your military dependent identification card identifying you as the spouse of an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces
- A copy of your spouse's military orders reflecting an active-duty assignment in Nebraska
- A copy of your massage therapy license from another state or jurisdiction
- A copy of the statutes, rules, and regulations governing your license which indicate standards that are similar to Nebraska's nursing home administrator licensing requirements.
- The permanent license fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver).

#### License Fee Waiver: Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your license fee is waived:

- 1. Young Worker: You are between the ages of 19 and 25 (under the age of 26).
- 2. <u>Low-Income Individual:</u> You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program **such as** the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, <u>OR</u> your household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
  - If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to be submitted.
  - If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a document showing current enrollment.
  - If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see the current income guidelines <a href="http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf">http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf</a>. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return.
- 3. <u>Military Family:</u> You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.

<u>MILITARY:</u> To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at <a href="http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx">http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx</a>

#### To apply for a License:

STED 1: Got the following documents:							
STEP 1. Get the following documents.	STEP 1: Get the following documents:						
1. US Citizenship/Lawful Presence (must be at	least 19 years old):						
<ul> <li>U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the followin</li> <li>□ Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birt</li> <li>□ U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired).</li> <li>□ Certificate of Naturalization.</li> <li>□ Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.</li> </ul>							
A Driver's License is NOT acceptable.							
<ul> <li>□ Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an</li> <li>□ Employment Authorization Card AND</li> <li>□ An approved deferred action status (DACA)</li> <li>□ A pending application for asylum in the Unit</li> <li>□ A pending or approved application for temp</li> <li>□ A pending application for adjustment of state</li> </ul>	t Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the car unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; ); ted States;						
	nip) are verified by our office through the Department of Hor	neland Security.					
system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misden felonies. You are required to list ALL convictions (regar infractions, diversions or dismissals. Misdemeanor and so when you check with the county court/district court, y convictions.  If you have convictions, you must submit:  (i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the convictio taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the (iii) A letter from the applicant's probation officer address on probation.  If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or co	on (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that e conviction; and ssing the terms and current status of the probation, if the appropriate treatment, to assist the Board and Department in	emeanors or OT required to list or criminal court, nor/felony  ges and final the applicant has plicant is currently review of any					
Department.	er must submit all evaluations/discharge summaries directly	to the					
The following provides <u>SOME</u> examples of convictions; this is <u>NOT</u> a complete list							
<ul> <li>MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor</li> <li>DUI / DWI / Open Container</li> <li>Controlled Substance</li> <li>Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary</li> <li>Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction</li> <li>Disturbing the Peace</li> <li>Assault / Prostitution</li> <li>Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House</li> <li>Fail to Appear in Court</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Driving under Suspension / Revocation</li> <li>License Vehicle without Liability Insurance</li> <li>False Information or Reporting</li> <li>Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident</li> <li>Operator not Carrying License</li> <li>Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs</li> <li>Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation</li> <li>Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal</li> <li>Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check</li> </ul>						

3. Other State License Information: You must contact the states in which you are licensed or have held a license and request the State Office complete a certification. (DO NOT send a copy of your license).

Disciplinary Action: If you have had any disciplinary actions taken against your credential(s), you must submit a copy of the disciplinary action(s), including charges and disposition.

<u>discipline</u>, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: <a href="http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx">http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx</a> or by phone 402-471-0175.

	Nursing Home Administrator of a Facility Caring Primarily for Persor with Head Injuries and Associated Disorder						
translation into the English language. The translation An individual may not translate his/her own docume							
STEP 2: Submit your Application to the Licer	nsure Unit						
Completed Application	License Certifications						
☐ Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document	☐ The License Fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver). See the license application for a listing of fees. <b>Pay by check/money order (your cancelled</b>						
☐ Education Documents ☐ Conviction Records (if you have convictions)	check is your proof of receipt); debit or credit card is not accepted.						
Application Review: All applications are reviews	ewed in date order received.						
• If your application <u>is missing information</u> , you will be contacted <b>by e-mail</b> within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list the information that is required to compete your application. You have 90 days to complete your application; if not completed within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed. A new application will then be required.							
• If your application <u>is complete</u> , you will receive	by e-mail your license number.						
Records Retention Schedule: When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records.							



**DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES** 

Licensure Unit
P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

<u>Dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov</u>
402-471-2117

Mail this application to the address listed above.

to the Department of Revenue or the Department of Labor.

## **APPLICATION**

Nursing Home Administrator of a Facility Caring Primarily for Persons with Head Injuries and Associated Disorders

You must complete all sections of this application

man tino apphoation to t	iio aaaio.	oo notou	abovo.			104 111	uot oom	note an e	COLICIIO	or time up	phoation	<u>-</u>
LICENSE APPLICAT	LICENSE APPLICATION CATEGORY and FEES											
□ Initial License												
□ Reciprocity License (licensed in another state)												
□ Temporary License	(only app	olies to Mi	litary Spo	ouses) – n	no fee							
A. Fee Waiver: If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license fee is waived.  Check only one waiver:  Young Worker: I am under 26 years old.												
		20 youro	oid.									
☐ Low-income Indiv	<u>idual:</u>											
medical assistance Program, or the fed	<ul> <li>□ I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, OR</li> <li>□ My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.</li> </ul>											
_							•					
discharged veteran	Military Family: I am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.											
B. Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers you must pay the fee listed in the chart below.  Pay by check or money order to: Licensure Unit  Your cancelled check is your proof of payment. Payment is processed upon receipt. Debit or credit card is not accepted.												
Fee is based on month an	d year yo	ur license	will be is	sued:								
YEAR	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	June	July	Aug	Sept	Oct	Nov	Dec
Odd Numbered Year	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166
Even Numbered Year	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166	\$166	41.50	41.50	41.50	41.50	41.50	41.50
						NC	DTE: All li	censes e	xpire 12/3	31 of ever	n-number	ed years

SE	SECTION A: INFORMATION								
1	You must print your <b>Legal Name</b> below								
	First:		Middle:		Last Name:				
	List any other names, you are or have ever been known as (AKA), including maiden name and your last name on your birth certificate								
2	Address:	Street/PO/Route:							
City: State or Country						Zip:			
3	Social Security Number (SSN):								
	Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-123 and 38-130 requires you to provide your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not public information, DHHS may share your social security number for child support enforcement or other administrative purposes and provide it								

4		ARE NOT a U.S. Citizen, list Alien Registration # or I-94 #:	□ A#: □	]  -	94 #			
5	Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year):			Plac	Place of Birth (City/State or COUNTRY):			
6	Phon	e #: (optional)*		Addi	Additional Phone #: (optional)*			
	E-Ma	il Address:	l					
* pł	* phone number and e-mail is optional, but providing this information will speed up communication with you							
7	7 Have you ever been denied the right to take a license examination in any State?			No		If yes, explain:		
8	8 Military Spouse: Are you the spouse of an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces who has an active-duty assignment in in Nebraska?  Yes  No  If checked yes and you are applying for a temporary license, you mus include all documentation identified in the instructions.							
		N B: APPLICANTS CREDE process by which you are applying			PERIE	NCE		
1		Psychologist						
2		Physician to practice Medicine and Surgery or psychiatry						
3	Educator with at least a master's degree in education from an accredited college or university. If applying by this method, you must submit a certified copy of your transcript verifying the master's degree.							
4		Certified Social Worker						
5		Certified Master Social Worker						
6		Licensed Mental Health Practitioner						
7		Physical Therapist						
8		Occupational Therapist						
9		Speech-Language Pathologist						
10	Administrator or Executive of a Health Care Facility as defined in Neb. Rev. Stat. §71-413 who is a member in good standing with an organization that offers voluntary certification for the purpose of demonstrating managerial knowledge and experience for health care managers							
OR	2							
11		8 Years of Experience working with persons with head injuries or severe physical disabilities, at least 5 of which were spent in an administrative capacity in a facility operated primarily for caring for persons with head injuries or sever physical disabilities						

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service:

If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the military, you may submit such evidence with your application for review. Military is defined as the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state.

SECTION C: EXPERIENCE
You must have at least 4 years of experience working with persons with head injuries or severe physical disabilities, at least 2 of which were spent in an administrative capacity
Briefly describe the experience you have spent in an administrative capacity:

Briefly describe the experience you have spent in an administrative capacity:							
	cility or institution in						
Address	Street/PO/Route:						
	City:		State:		Zip:		
Duration of Experience: From: M/D/Y				To: M/D/Y			

#### SECTION D: CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION

Failure to disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action, including, but not limited to, payment of a civil penalty.

<u>CONVICTION INFORMATION:</u> You must list ALL misdemeanor or felony convictions (regardless of when they occurred); you are NOT required to list infractions, diversions or dismissals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanor and felony convictions.

1	Have you <u>EVER</u> been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?		Name of Conviction	Date of Action	Name of Court Taking Action
	Yes □	No □			

#### The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list • MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor • Driving under Suspension / Revocation • DUI / DWI • License Vehicle without Liability Insurance • Controlled Substance • Fail to Appear in Court • Open Container • False Information or Reporting • Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary • Leave the Scene of an Accident • Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction · Operator not Carrying License · Disturbing the Peace • Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs • Assault / Prostitution • Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation • Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House • Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal Reckless Driving • Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or credential disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or credential discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action. Reporting forms can be obtained at: <a href="http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/investigations.aspx">http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/investigations.aspx</a> or by phone 402-471-0175.

**LICENSE INFORMATION:** The following questions relate to a license that you currently hold or have held (such as nursing, EMT, counseling, etc.) in a state **other** than Nebraska.

Cours	selling, etc.) in a state <u>other</u> than Nebraska.									
2	Do you hold or have you held a license in any other state(s)?	If yes, what state(s)?	nse?							
	Yes □ No □									
	If YES, has your license ever been denied, refused renewal, limited, suspended, revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it?	Type of Action	Date of Action	Name of State Taking Action						
	Yes □ No □									
SECTION E: PRACTICE PRIOR TO LICENSE  If you practice prior to being issued a license you are subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of \$10 per day up to \$1,000, or other action as provided in the statutes and regulations.										
_ <b>`</b>	Yes □ No Have you practiced as a nursing	nome administrator in N	ebraska without a	Nebraska license?						
	s, what are the actual number of days you ticed in Nebraska without a license and what is	Number of days:								
the	pusiness name, location and telephone number of practice:	Name of Business:								
		City:								
	Telephone #:									
SE	CTION F: ATTESTATION									
For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check <b>ONE</b> of the boxes below):  I attest that:										
	I am a citizen of the United States.									
	I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States. I am a qu nigrant lawfully present in the United States, with d		-	-						
	I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States. I have an dunder the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA,			ument (EAD) and documentation						
	☐ I am <b>NOT</b> a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.									
I fur	ther attest that:									
	I have read the application or have had the application of good character and all statements on this a		complete.							
Prin	Print Name:									
Sigr	ature:	Date:								