



September 30, 2019

Dear Residential Child-Caring Agency Licensees,

As previously communicated, on May 30, 2019, Governor Pete Ricketts signed LB460 into law. LB460 created a new statute 71-1928.01. This new statute requires any individual 18 years of age or older, currently employed or applying for employment in a residential child-caring agency, to submit fingerprints for a national criminal history record check.

Neb. Rev. Stat. 71-1928.01 was operative beginning May 31, 2019. The Department of Health and Human Services has been working with the Nebraska State Patrol to finalize the process for obtaining and reviewing the criminal histories. These procedures have been established and the agencies are ready to begin the fingerprinting required by law. This letter is being sent to advise you that any individual 18 years of age or older <u>currently working</u> in a residential child-caring agency is required to submit a full set of fingerprints to the Nebraska State Patrol by <u>October 25, 2019,</u> for the purpose of conducting a national criminal history record check.

As you were previously informed, all individuals applying for employment in a residential child-caring agency on or after October 1, 2019, must also complete the fingerprinting process and the employing agency must receive employment eligibility determination from the Department before allowing the individual to work with children. This requirement remains effective immediately.

Enclosed is a revised application with information about fingerprinting locations, options, instructions and tips to make the process easier for everyone. If you have questions about these requirements, please contact the Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit, at 800-600-1289 or by e-mail at DHHS.ChildCareLicensing@nebraska.gov.

Thank you for your ongoing service to the children and families of Nebraska.

Sincerely,

Lindsy Braddock

DHHS Program Manager II