NAME:			

DATE: _____

NEBRASKA BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE AND SURGERY JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION

Circle The Correct Answer

1. TRUE FALSE Immediate supervision means that the supervisor is on the premises and is in direct eyesight and hearing range of the animal and the veterinary technician or unlicensed assistant who is treating the animal.

2. TRUE FALSE If a client requests the medical records for their animal, the veterinarian <u>is</u> <u>required</u> to provide the medical records, regardless of whether or not the client has paid for services rendered.

3. TRUE FALSE A licensed veterinarian must earn 50 hours of approved continuing competency during the two years prior to the expiration date in order to renew his/her license to active status.

4. TRUE FALSE A license to practice veterinary medicine and surgery may be disciplined for failure to keep veterinary premises and equipment in a clean and sanitary condition.

5. TRUE FALSE Nebraska statutes do <u>not</u> define the veterinarian-client-patient relationship.

6. TRUE FALSE A licensed veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician is required to file a report to the Department of Health and Human Services Division of Public Health if he/she has been convicted of a misdemeanor.

7. TRUE FALSE Unprofessional conduct is defined in the Uniform Credentialing Act and in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery and is grounds for discipline against a license to practice veterinary medicine and surgery and as a veterinary technician.

8. TRUE FALSE The Department of Health and Human Services Division of Public Health will maintain a record of each licensee's attendance at continuing competency activities.

9. TRUE FALSE A licensed veterinary technician may perform any duties under the indirect supervision of a licensed veterinarian.

10. TRUE FALSE A person who is a student in a veterinary school or in a veterinary technician school is <u>not</u> required to hold a license in order to perform duties or actions assigned by his or her instructors or from working under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian.

11. TRUE FALSE A health care professional may be assessed an administrative penalty of \$10 per day for each day that evidence exists of practice prior to issuance, renewal or reinstatement of a license.

12. TRUE FALSE Surgery means the treatment through revision, destruction, incision, closure or other structural alteration of animal tissue.

13. TRUE FALSE A license may be denied or disciplined if the individual practiced veterinary medicine and surgery or as a veterinary technician without a license.

14. TRUE FALSE A licensed veterinary technician must earn 16 hours of approved continuing competency during the two years prior to the expiration date in order to renew their license to active status.

15. TRUE FALSE A licensed veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician who contacts the Department for assistance in obtaining a referral or treatment for himself or herself for habitual intoxication or dependence on any controlled substance will be referred to the Licensee Assistance Program.

16. TRUE FALSE A license may be denied, refused renewal, or have other disciplinary measures taken against it for misrepresentation of material facts in procuring or attempting to procure a license.

17. TRUE FALSE A licensed veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician is <u>not</u> required to report to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Division of Public Health when he or she has been subject to loss of employment due to alleged incompetence or negligence.

18. Which of the following is <u>not</u> considered to be within the scope of practice of veterinary medicine and surgery?

- A. Prescribing of oral antibiotics for infection in a hog.
- B. Prescribing of oral antibiotics for prevention of infection in an employee of the veterinarian who has been bitten by an animal at the workplace.
- C. Diagnosis of pregnancy in a cow.
- D. Flotation of teeth in a horse.

19. Unlicensed veterinary assistants may <u>not</u> perform which of the following tasks?

- A. Collection of blood specimens.
- B. Administration and application of treatment and drugs.
- C. Smoothing, filing and polishing of teeth.
- D. Patient positioning for radiology procedures.

20. A licensed veterinarian or licensed veterinary technician must file a report with the Department of Health and Human Services Division of Public Health within ______ days when he/she has had disciplinary action taken against his or her license to their profession in another state.

- A. 10
- B. 30
- C. 90
- D. 180

21. What is the expiration date for all Nebraska licenses to practice veterinary medicine and surgery and to practice as a veterinary technician?

- A. January 1 of even-numbered years.
- B. April 1 of even-numbered years.
- C. January 1 of odd-numbered years.
- D. April 1 of odd-numbered years.

22. The total number of home study continuing education hours which may be used for each renewal period may not exceed ______ of the total number of hours required.

- A. 1/4
- B. 1/2
- C. 3/4
- D. No home study is allowed

23. It is unprofessional conduct to fail to maintain treatment records for _____ year(s) after the veterinarian's most recent contact with the client and/or patient.

- A. one
- B. three
- C. five
- D. seven

24. Licensed veterinary technicians or unlicensed veterinary assistants are <u>not</u> permitted to do which of the following:

- A. Administer Rabies vaccine.
- B. Prescribe any treatment, drugs, medications or appliances.
- C. Perform surgery.
- D. All of the above.

25. A license may be disciplined if a veterinarian or veterinary technician does <u>not</u> report which of the following to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Division of Public Health?

- A. Firsthand knowledge of facts giving him or her reason to believe that a veterinarian has committed acts indicative of gross incompetence.
- B. Firsthand knowledge giving him or her reason to believe that a registered nurse may be practicing while his or her ability to practice is impaired by controlled substances.
- C. His or her own conviction of a misdemeanor in another state.
- D. All of the above.