

NEBRASKA APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR TEMPORARY HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALISTS

LICENSE FEE WAIVER: Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license and temporary license fee **may be waived.**

- 1. Young Worker: You are between the ages of 21 and 25 (under the age of 26).
- 2. <u>Low-Income Individual:</u> You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, <u>OR</u> your household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
 - If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to be submitted.
 - If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a document showing current enrollment.
 - If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see the current income guidelines,
 https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf

 To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return.
- 3. <u>Military Family:</u> You are an active-duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

APPLICATION PROCESS - To apply for a License:

Homeland Security. This process may take 4-6 weeks.

STEP 1: Get copies of the following documents:

NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS. Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language. You must submit a copy of the original document and the translated document. The translation must be and original document and contain the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his/her own documents.

	itizenship/Lawful Presence (must be at least 21 years old): Citizens_ a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following: Birth certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted) U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired). Certificate of Naturalization. Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.
A Dri	ver's License is NOT acceptable.
NOT	a U.S. Citizen (Current Immigration Status) a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:
	Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card;
	Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) <u>AND</u> an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or
	Employment Authorization Card AND one of the following
	An approved deferred action status (DACA);
	A pending application for asylum in the United States;
	A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for
	permanent residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States

NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of

2. 🗆	<u>Education and Transcript: </u> You must have your school or electronic transcript service submit a high sch	ool
	ranscript directly to our office. If sending by e-mail, send to <u>DHHS.RehabOffice@Nebraska.Gov.</u>	

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service: If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is <u>substantially similar</u> to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.

- 3.

 Other State License Information: If you hold or have held a health related license in any state you must contact that state and request a verification of your license (do not send a copy of your license). The verification must indicate whether there is any discipline on your license.
- 4.

 Conviction Information: If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or felonies. You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required to list infractions, diversions, or dismissals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanor/felony convictions.

If you have convictions, you must submit:

- A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska:
- (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and
- (iii) A letter from the applicant's probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently on probation.

If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), we encourage you to request that the treatment provider submit all evaluations and discharge summaries directly to the Department. For more recent drug/alcohol convictions, please submit a drug/alcohol evaluation with your application that has been completed within the last 2 years.

The following provides **SOME** examples of convictions; this is **NOT** an all-inclusive list:

- MIP
- DUI / DWI
- Controlled Substance
- Open Container
- Tobacco Use by Minor
- Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary
- Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
- Disturbing the Peace
- Assault
- Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
- Reckless Driving

- Driving under Suspension / Revocation
- License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
- Fail to Appear in Court
- False Information or Reporting
- Leave the Scene of an Accident
- Operator not Carrying License
- Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
- Parks Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
- Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
- · Littering / Fireworks
- Bad Check
- Not Wearing Seat Belt

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx or by phone at 402-471-0175.

5. 🗆 Examination

To be eligible for the ILE, you must have a temporary hearing Instrument Specialist license. Once you pass the ILE, you may apply for your initial Hearing Instrument Specialist license and take the practical exam.

STFP 2.	Complete all	nages and	questions o	n the Ar	onlication
OILI E.	OUITIDICE all	Dades alla	uucsiioiis o	II UIC A	Jonication.

Submit your application to the Licensure Unit							
Completed Application Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document Education Documents Conviction Records (if you have convictions)	License Certifications (if licensed in another state) The License Fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver). Pay by check/money order; debit or credit card is not accepted.						

Application Review: All applications are reviewed in date order received.

- If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail within approximately 10 business days; the e-mail will list the information that is required to compete your application. You have 90 days to complete your application. If your application is not completed within this 90-day period, it will be closed, and all documents will be destroyed. A new application will then be required to restart the process.
- If your application **is complete**, you will receive a license by regular mail. You may monitor the status of your application at DHHS.NE.Gov/lookup.

Records Retention Schedule: When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records.





APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST LICENSE

Please print or type application.

Department of Health and Human Services

Division of Public Health – Licensure Unit
P.O. Box 94986 – Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

Telephone #: 402-471-2299

LICENSE FEES:

A. Fee Waiver:

As of 08/24/17, an audiology student enrolled in an accredited college or university and engaged in supervised clinical practice, including the dispensing of hearing instruments, is not required to obtain a Hearing Instrument Specialist license. Individuals in training must have a temporary Hearing Instrument Specialist license.

	l am under 26 years old.								
Low-income In	dividual:								
	Low-income Individual:								
established		sistance Act, th	he federal Suppler		d to, the medical assistance program on Assistance Program, or the federal				
My househ	old adjusted gross income is	s below 130% o	of the federal incon	ne poverty gui	ideline.				
discharged vete surviving spous	eran of the armed services of es of deceased service mem	of the United S obers of the arr	tates, spouse of s med services of the	uch honorably e United State	ed States, a military spouse, honorably y discharged veteran, and un-remarried s.				
Temporary Lice This application	will be returned if you do no	check or mon	ey order to Licens		r cancelled check is proof of payment.				
	rsonal Information – irst:		Middle/MI:		Last				
Legal Name F	IISt.		Middle/Mi.		Last:				
(AKA), including mon your birth certif									
S Present	treet/Box/Route:								
Address	City:		State:		Zip:				
Date of Birth	lonth/Day/Year		Place of Birth		City/State or Country				
Social Security Nu	umber (SSN)								
Check the Appropriate	Alien Registration Numb	oer ("A#):							
Box(s)	I-94 #								
not public information Department of Re	mation, DHHS may disc		child support		o DHHS. Although your number is at purposes and to the Nebraska				
**Phone #:			**Fax # (Optional)		•				
**E-Mail Address	(Required)								

Have you ever been denied the right to take a license examination in any State?									
Have you ever been denied the right to take a license examination in any State? Yes No If yes, explain:									
SECTION B – Education –. Please request an official copy of your high school transcript or GED be sent									
Name of High School									
Street/PO/Route:									
Location City: State: Zip:									
Diploma	Yes No	Year of (raduatiو		GED Certificate	Yes	No	Issued B	у
Name of College if applicable									
Date of Graduation:					Major:				
If you have comp this credential wh	hile you were a m	training, o ember of	r service the arme	that you b	pelieve <u>is sub</u> of the United S	States, a	ctive or	reserve, the	ation or training required for National Guard of any state, our application for review.
SECTION C – <u>Conviction and Licensure Information</u> (All applicants must complete this section) Failure to disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action.									
CONVICTION IN	NFORMATION:	ou must	list ALL	misdeme	eanor or felon	y convict	ions.		
Question Yes No Type of Crime Date of Name of Court/Entity or Licensure Action Action Taking Action									
	Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor								
If you hav	o convictions v	ou must (eubmit:						
 If you have convictions, you must submit: A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska; 									
(ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and									
(iii) A letter from the applicant's probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently on probation.									
SECTION D – All applicants must complete this section.									
OZOTION D	7 th applicante in	YES	NO	, 000110111	•				
Do you hold or	have you	120	110	If yes,	what State(s) are	10/	L - 4 4 f	
ever held a cre				credentialed		VV	nat type of	credential do you hold?	
was issued by state(s)	was issued by another								
If yes , has your	r credential			Type o	f Credential	Action		ate of	Name of Entity Taking
ever been deni	ed, refused			1 9 0 0	orodornar	7 (01/01)	P	Action	Action
renewal, limited revoked or had	•								
disciplinary me									
against it?									

If you answered YES to any of the questions above, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this office:

- Certification of your credential in another state
- Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action was taken

SECTION E – Practice in Nebraska Prior to Obtaining a Credential – An individual who practices prior to issuance of a credential is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of \$10 per day up to \$1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential. A temporary license <i>is required</i> before you may begin training.								
Have you practiced or trained as a temporary Hearing Instrument Specialist in Nebraska prior to submitting this application? Yes No								
If yes, what was the actual number of days you practiced or trained in Nebraska? Please provide the business name, location, and telephone number where you practiced or trained. # of days:								
Name of Business: City/State								
Name of Supervisor:			Telephone	none				
SECTION F - Supervisor In	oformation - Supervisor m	ust complete this	coction					
Name of Licensed Hearing Instrument Specialist	IIO/mation - Supervisor m	ust complete tills a	section.					
Nebraska License Number								
Name of Business								
	Street/PO/Route:							
Business Address	City:		-					
Business Telephone (Optional)		Supervisor Signature						
SECTION G – Attestation								
Attestation: For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below): I attest that: I am a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act or a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94 document, asylum, etc. I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.								
I am NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act. I further attest that: 1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me; 2. All statements on the application are true and complete;								
Print Name:								
Signature:Date:								

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx