

## NEBRASKA APPLICATION INFORMATION FOR HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALISTS

**LICENSE FEE WAIVER:** Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license and temporary license fee **may be waived.** 

- 1. Young Worker: You are between the ages of 21 and 25 (under the age of 26).
- Low-Income Individual: You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical
  assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance
  Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, <u>OR</u> your household
  adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
  - If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to be submitted.
  - If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a document showing current enrollment.
  - If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see the current income guidelines,
     https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf

     To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return
- 3. <u>Military Family:</u> You are an active-duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

#### **APPLICATION PROCESS - To apply for a License:**

Homeland Security. This process may take 4-6 weeks.

#### STEP 1: Get copies of the following documents:

**NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS.** Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language. You must submit a copy of the original document and the translated document. The translation must be and original document and contain the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his/her own documents.

	Citizenship/Lawful Presence (must be at least 21 years old):  . Citizens, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:  Birth certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted)  U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired).  Certificate of Naturalization.  Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.
A D	river's License is NOT acceptable.
NOT	「a U.S. Citizen (Current Immigration Status) a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:
	Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card;
	Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) <u>AND</u> an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or
	1100, 01
	Employment Authorization Card <b>AND one of the following</b>
	<ul> <li>Employment Authorization Card <u>AND one of the following</u></li> <li>An approved deferred action status (DACA);</li> <li>A pending application for asylum in the United States;</li> </ul>

NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of

2. 

Education and Transcript: You must have your school or electronic transcript service submit a high school transcript directly to our office. If sending by e-mail, send to <a href="mailto:DHHS.RehabOffice@Nebraska.Gov">DHHS.RehabOffice@Nebraska.Gov</a>

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service: If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is <u>substantially similar</u> to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.

- 3. 

  Other State License Information: If you hold or have held a health related license in any state you must contact that state and request a verification of your license (do not send a copy of your license).
- 4. □ Conviction Information: If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or felonies. You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required to list infractions, diversions, or dismissals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanor/felony convictions.

#### If you have convictions, you must submit:

- A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska:
- (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and
- (iii) A letter from the applicant's probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently on probation.

If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), we encourage you to request that the treatment provider submit all evaluations and discharge summaries directly to the Department.

#### The following provides **SOME** examples of convictions; this is **NOT** an all-inclusive list:

- MIP
- DUI / DWI
- Controlled Substance
- Open Container
- Tobacco Use by Minor
- Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary
- Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
- Disturbing the Peace
- Assault
- Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
- Reckless Driving

- Driving under Suspension / Revocation
- License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
- Fail to Appear in Court
- False Information or Reporting
- Leave the Scene of an Accident
- Operator not Carrying License
- Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
- Parks Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
- Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
- Littering / Fireworks
- Bad Check
- Not Wearing Seat Belt

NOTE: If you have <u>any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction</u> or license discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: <a href="https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx">https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx</a> or by phone at 402-471-0175.

5. □ **Examination** If you have taken exams in another state, you must request the scores be sent to our office. A. International Licensing Examination (ILE) for Hearing Healthcare Professionals is the written portion of the licensure examination. The International Hearing Society (IHS) administers this examination. You must have passed the written examination (ILE) before you can apply for a HIS license and sit for the practical examination. If you have not passed the written examination, do not submit this application for a HIS license. You need to apply for the temporary HIS license, pass the ILE, then apply for the Hearing Instrument Specialist license. Nebraska Practical Examination The practical examination is developed and administered by the Nebraska Board of Hearing Instrument Specialists. The Nebraska Board and the Licensure Unit will administer two - three exams a year. These will be listed on the DHHS HIS website. https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Hearing-Instrument-Specialist.aspx STEP 2: Complete all pages and questions on the Application. Submit your application to the Licensure Unit ☐ Completed Application License Certifications (if licensed in another state) ☐ Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document The License Fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver). Pay by check/money order; debit or credit card is not Education Documents accepted. Conviction Records (if you have convictions) **Application Review:** All applications are reviewed in date order received. If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail within approximately 10 business days. Th e-mail will list the information that is required to compete your application. You have 90 days to complete your application. If all required documentation is not submitted within 90 days, your application will be closed, and all documents destroyed. A new application will then be required.

If your application is complete, you will receive your license by regular mail. You may monitor the status of

Records Retention Schedule: When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for

your application at DHHS.NE.Gov/lookup...

your records.

Revised date: 09/15/2023



# APPLICATION FOR HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST LICENSURE

DHHS, Public Health Licensure Unit- HIS P.O. Box 94986 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 DHHS.RehabOffice@Nebraska.Gov

Check below the basis for application: (Please print or type application)  Examination							
I have a license in another state. Please list the state:							
You must be issued a temporary Hearing Instrument Specialist license and pass the written examination (ILE) pefore you may submit this application for a Hearing Instrument Specialist license and sit for the practical exam.  A. Fee Waiver:  If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license and temporary license fee may be waived. Check only one box:							
Young Worker: I am under 26 years old.							
Low-income Individual							
I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, OR							
☐ My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.							
Military Family: I am an active-duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.  MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at <a href="https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx">https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx</a>							
SECTION B -Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers:							
Review the following chart to determine the fee required based on the month and year in which your							
license will be issued: Determine the month and year in which you are submitting your application.							
YearJanFebMarAprilMayJuneJulyAugSeptOctNovDec							
<b>Even</b> \$165 \$165 \$165 \$165 \$165 \$165 \$165 \$165							
Odd         \$165							

Your cancelled check is your proof of payment. Payment is processed upon receipt. Debit or credit card is not accepted.

SECTION A – Personal Information – NOTE: All mailings from this office will be sent to the address you indicate							
below – If you change your address, you must advise this office.							
Legal	First:	Middle/MI:	Last:				
Name							
	names, you are or have ever been know						
including maid	en name and your last name on your bir	th certificate					
Present							
Address	City:	State:	Zip:				
	•		•				
Date of	Month/Day/Year	Place of Birth:	City/State or Country				
Birth	-						
Social Security Number (SSN):							
	,						

If you are not a U.S. Citizen, list			Alien Registration Number ("A#"):									
your A# or I-94#:		I-94 #	I-94 #									
If you have both a SSN and an A# or I-94 number, you must report both. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not public information, DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue.						3 mandates DHHS may						
Phone #: **Fax #												
L Mail Address	(Optional)											
(Required)	E-Mail Address (Required)											
Have you ever	been d	enied th	ne right to t	ake a lice	ense	examina	tion i	n aı	ny St	ate?		
Yes No	ı	If yes, e	explain:									
SECTION C – be sent directly												ertificate
Name of	to our	Office.	A college t	ransonpt	ma	y DC SUDII	iittou	1113	icau	паррпсави	<i>.</i>	
High School												
	Street	/PO/Ro	ute:									
Location										Τ		
Location	City:				St	ate:				Zip:		
	Yes	No `	Year of Gra	Graduation GED Yes No Issued E				Issued By	y			
Diploma				Certificate Certificate								
Name of							•		-11	ı		
College if applicable												
Date of						Maiam						
Graduation:						Major:						
If you have complethis credential whi	Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service:  If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.						f any state,					
SECTION D - E	xaminat	tion info	ormation. (	ALL applic	ants	must com	plete	this	secti	on.)		
Refere you can	cubmit	thic an	nlication	ou must n	2000	the Interne	tiona	LLic	oncin		YES	NO
Examination (ILE	Before you can submit this application, you must pass the International Licensing Examination (ILE) given by the International Hearing Society (previously International Institute for Hearing Instruments Studies). Have you passed the ILE?											
What date did you take the examination? You must request a copy of the score report be sent to Nebraska.												
Have you taken a Practical Examination?												
If yes, in which state did you take the Practical Examination through and the date?  State:												
If the exam was taken in a state other than Nebraska, you will need to provide documentation from that state showing what the examination covered so our office can determine if it is equivalent to the Nebraska practical examination.												
I need to take the exam date.	e Nebras	ska Prad	ctical Exami	nation. Ple	ease	notify me	of the	ne:	xt	_		

<b>SECTION E – Conviction and Licensure Information –</b> Failure to disclose any felony or misdemeanor conviction, or failure to disclose disciplinary action in another jurisdiction, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action, including, but not limited to payment of a civil penalty. Answer each of the following questions by placing an (X) in the appropriate box (Yes or No) and completing the information requested. All 'Yes' responses MUST be explained in detail, and you must submit the requested documentation.								
Question	Yes	No	Type of Crime or Licensure Action	Date	of Action	Name of C Entity Tak		on
Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?								
(i) A copy of the court record re final disposition, if the convic  (ii) An explanation of the events applicant has taken to address  (iii) A letter from the applicant's p	final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska.  (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and							
currently on probation.								
Licensure Questions – All applicants	must an	swer.						NI.
	Do you hold or have you ever held a credential that was issued by other state(s) to provide health services, health related services, or environmental services?							
Type of Credential		tate	chilaled in.		Na	me of examin	ation(s)	
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,						. ,		
**Request certification of your cre credential. Request scores of a								
Has your credential ever been denied disciplinary measures taken against i	l, refuse t?	d renew	al, limited, suspended, r	evoked		ther	Yes	No
If yes, state date and type of action; r	ame an			action:				
Type of Action		Dai	te of Action		Enti	ty Taking Acti	on	
If you answered YES to any of the questions above, you must request the Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action was taken be sent directly to this office.								
SECTION F – Practice in Nebras Nebraska prior to issuance of creden \$1,000, or such other action as provional Have you actively practiced in Nebrask Do NOT count time that you trained un A Temporary license is required to do	t <mark>ial is su</mark> led in th (a as a l der a Te	<mark>bject to a e statute</mark> Hearing l emporary	assessment of an Admir es and regulations gover Instrument Specialist pri y Hearing Instrument Sp	<mark>nistrative</mark> ning the ior to lic	e Penalty e credenti ensure?	of \$10 per da al.	y up to	No T
If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced or did hands-on training in  Webraska? What is the business name, location, and telephone number?  # of days:								
Name of Business	Name of Business City:							
Name of Supervisor					Т	elenhone #·		

SECTION G - Attestation				
For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check <b>ONE</b> of the boxes below): I attest that:				
I am a citizen of the United States.				
I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act or a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94 document, asylum, etc.				
I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.				
I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act				
I further attest that:	_			
<ol> <li>I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and</li> <li>I am of good character and all statements on this application are true and complete.</li> </ol>				
Print Name:Signature:				
Date:				

<u>MILITARY:</u> To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at <a href="https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx">https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx</a>

Attachment A Rev: 04/14

### CERTIFICATION OF HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST LICENSE

(Must be completed by licensing agency (Print or Type)

/Annlinentie		earing Instrument Specialist on	, 20
(Applicant's	,	e International Hearing Societ	y
<u>l</u>	nternational Licensing Exami	nation (ILE) for Hearing Health	ncare Professionals
		Candidate Score:	
IHS recom	mended Passing % score: 70%	Candidate % Score:	<del></del>
		OR	
		nmination for the Hearing Instr al Institute for Hearing Instrur	
Date of exa	amination:	_ International Licensing Examin <u>Score</u>	ation Scores: Pass/Fail (P/F)
Scale 1. Scale 2. Scale 3. Scale 4.	Presenting Problem and Needs Test and Analyze Hearing Prescribe and Analyze Hearing Aid Fit, Adjust and Service Hearing Aid		
Scale 5.	Educate and Maintain Professional F	Relations	
Written Ov	erall Score		
Section	C Practical Exam		
Practical te	ests of proficiency in the following tech	niques as they pertain to the fitting of t	he hearing instruments:
Conduction Live Voice Masking w Recording to determin Taking ear	audiometry, including air conduction to testing or recorded voice speech audiometry hen indicated and evaluation of audiograms and spe ne proper selection and adaptation of a mold impressions	eech audiometry a hearing instrument	Score
The applica	ant's overall score		

Section C	(continued)	
Requirements for	licensure in	at the time this license
was issued were _		nte)
and are currently:		
(Copies of regulat attached as docur		re at the time of issuance of license and present requirements must be
Section D	(must be completed for	all applicants)
Based on the reco	ords of this department, the ap	pplicant's license:
(a)	is in good standing, and endorsement.	so far as our records are concerned, the applicant is entitled to
(b)	has been disciplined.	
Please exp	lain any disciplinary action:	
Licensing Agency	:	<u> </u>
Name and Title:		
Address:		
City/State/Zip Cod	le:	
Signature (NO SIC	GNATURE STAMP):	
Date:		Telephone Number:
		(Optional)
(SEAL)		
Please return to:		DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH - HIS

DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH - HIS
Licensure Unit
P.O. Box 94986
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986