## **Dialysis Patient Care Technician**

## FAQ's

**Q**. What are the requirements to be a Registered Dialysis Patient Care Technician in Nebraska?

**A**. To be active on the State of Nebraska Dialysis Patient Care Technician (DPCT) Registry you must meet the following requirements:

- You must be 19 years of age or older
- Meet citizenship/Lawful Presence requirements
- Have a High School diploma or GED
- Be enrolled in or have successfully completed approved DPCT training in work setting under the direction of a registered nurse.
- Successfully complete an approved National Certification Examination within <u>18</u> <u>months</u> of hire.

(Posted 1/3/2019)

Q. Can I register if I am 18 years old?

**A**. No. The Uniform Credentialing Act states you must be at least 19 years old to practice as a Dialysis Patient Care Technician.

(Posted 1/3/2019)

Q. How do I become a Registered Dialysis Patient Care Technician in Nebraska?

**A.** Complete the application. Submit all required documents. Include the \$95 application fee. Mail it to Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). The application process may take up to 30 days once a complete application is received.

(Posted 1/3/2019)

**Q.** Can I perform the duties of a Dialysis Patient Care Technician before I am active on the Registry?

**A**. No. You need to be **ACTIVE** on the Dialysis Patient Care Technician Registry prior to performing any duties or activities as a Dialysis Patient Care Technician. If you practice as a DPCT and you are not ACTIVE on the Registry you may be fined.

(Posted 1/3/2019)

**Q:** I was recently hired and have not completed my worksite training. At what point do I submit my application to the registry?

A. We suggest you submit your application as soon as you are hired as a Dialysis Patient Care Technician. You must be active on the registry in order to complete a portion of your worksite training. Any training involving performing duties or activities as a Dialysis Patient Care Technician requires you to be active on the registry. (Posted 1/3/2019)

**Q.** I have completed the DCPT worksite training. I have not yet received my national certification. May I perform dialysis patient care technician activities while waiting to receive my national certification?

**A.** Yes, if your application has been approved and you are active on the registry. You need to submit an application and wait to be issued a registration number prior to preforming duties of a DPCT. You then must submit to DHHS your national certification within 18 months of your hire date to remain active.

(Posted 1/3/2019)

**Q.** I've submitted my application. When will I become active on the Dialysis Patient Care Technician Registry?

**A.** It may take 30 days to become active once we receive your complete application. If there are forms missing or further information is needed this will delay the process.

(Posted 1/3/2019)

Q. I have a criminal conviction. Am I eligible to apply for a dialysis technician credential?

A. Yes, you may apply and must submit the complete court case for review.

(Posted 1/3/2019)

**Q.** If I have a criminal conviction what additional information do I need to submit with my application?

**A**. You must submit:

- A copy of the entire court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions
- Your explanation of the events leading to the conviction. Include a summary of actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the conviction
- If you are currently on probation, a letter from your probation officer addressing the terms and current status of your probation.

\*\*\*NOTE: The registry evaluates drug and/or alcohol conviction(s). Submit all evaluation/discharge summaries where drug and/or alcohol treatment was obtained. Evaluations/discharge summaries must be submitted by the provider directly to the registry.

(Posted 1/3/2019)

**Q.** I am a Dialysis Technician in another state. How can I become credentialed as a Nebraska Dialysis Patient Care Technician?

**A.** You need to submit an application and all requested documents. In addition you must contact the other state and request a verification of your credentials. **Do not send a copy of your license/certification/registration**.

(Posted 1/3/2019)

**Q.** I am a contract/traveling/float DPCT that resides out of state but occasionally work in Nebraska on assignments. Am I required to register?

**A.** Yes. If you're going to practice in Nebraska you must be active on the Nebraska Registry.

(Posted 1/3/2019)

Q. Can my employer verify my credential on your website?

A. Yes. Online verification can be obtained at: **Dialysis Patient Care Technician Registry** 

(Posted 1/3/2019)

Q. Can you send me or my employer a copy (re-print) of my credential?

**A.** The registry does not mail Dialysis Patient Care Technician (DPCT) credentials. Credentials are available to print online at: **Dialysis Patient Care Technician Registry** 

(Posted 1/3/2019)

Q. Where can I obtain a copy of the State of Nebraska Dialysis Patient Care Technician Act?

**A.** Following is a link to the statute: http://dhhs.ne.gov//Licensure/Documents/DialysisPtCareTechRegistrationAct.pdf

(Posted 1/3/2019)

Q. How do I report a change of address?

A. Here is the link to our online address change form. https://nebraska.mylicense.com/

(Posted 1/3/2019)

**Q**. How do I submit a name change?

**A**. If you have a name change please download this form and follow the directions on the form. (Must be submitted with proof of name change)

Name change Form

(Posted 1/3/2019)