DRAFT MINUTES

of the Third Meeting of the Optometry Technical Review Committee July 27, 2022 9:30 a.m. to Noon

TRC Members Present

TRC Members Absent

Program Staff Present

Daniel Rosenthal, PE, (Chair) Christine Chasek, LIMHP, LADC Marcy Wyrens, RRT Jessica Roberts, ATC Sarah Pistillo, REHS Brandon Holt, BSRT David Deemer, NHA

Matt Gelvin Ron Briel Jessie Enfield

I. Call to Order, Roll Call, Approval of the Agenda

Chairperson Rosenthal called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. The roll was called; a quorum was present. Mr. Rosenthal welcomed all attendees. The agenda and Open Meetings Law were posted, and the meeting was advertised online at https://dhhs.ne.gov/Licensure/Pages/Credentialing-Review.aspx. The committee members unanimously approved the agenda for the third meeting and the minutes of the second meeting.

II. The Presentation of Applicant Group Testimony

Dr. Christopher Wolfe, OD, came forward to coordinate applicant group testimony on behalf of the Optometry proposal, and began by introducing the first applicant testifier who was Dr. Richard Castillo, MD, OD. Dr. Wolfe also utilized a power point presentation to assist in the presentation of applicant group testimony. Other applicant testifiers following Dr. Castillo presented their testimony in the following order:

- Dr. Nate Lighthizer, OD
- Dr. Joseph Shetler, OD
- Dr. Paul Barney, OD
- David McBride, JD

III. Responses to Committee Questions and Concerns by Ophthalmology Representatives

Dr. Shane Havens, MD, a Glaucoma specialist, formerly of the UNMC Residency Program, coordinated opposition testimony, and began by introducing Dr. Scott Ferguson, MD, as the first opposition testifier. Other opposition testifiers following Dr. Ferguson presented their testimony in the following order:

- Dr. Paul Watts, MD, President of the Nebraska Medical Association
- Dr. Patricia Terp, MD
- Dr. John Peters, MD
- Dr. Shane Havens, MD
- Barbara Johnson, RN

IV. Follow-Up Comments, Questions, Rebuttals

Applicant testifiers who made follow-up comments were as follows:

- Dr. Christopher Wolfe, OD
- Dr. Richard Castillo, MD, OD
- Dr. Nate Lighthizer, OD

Opponent testifiers who made follow-up comments were as follows:

- Dr. John Peters, MD
- Dr. Shane Havens, MD
- Amy Reynoldson, Executive Vice-President of the Nebraska Medical Association

V. Other Business and Adjournment

Program staff stated that they would be in touch very soon regarding scheduling a date and time for the fourth meeting of the Committee. There being no further business, the committee members unanimously agreed to adjourn the meeting at 11:55 a.m.