

Division of Public Health Licensure Unit 301 Centennial Mall South PO Box 94986

Lincoln NE 68509-4986

Effective: 05/24/2018 Revised: 07/21/2021

# Nebraska Application Information Respiratory Care Licensure

**LICENSE FEE WAIVER:** Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial application license fee **is** waived:

- Young Worker: You are between the ages of 19 and 25 (under the age of 26).
- Low-Income Individual: You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, OR your household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
  - If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to be submitted.
  - If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a document showing current enrollment.
  - If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see the current income guidelines, <a href="https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/Low IncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf">https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/Low IncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf</a>. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return.
- 3. Military Family: You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.

MILITARY:\_To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

## **APPLICATION PROCESS - To apply for a License:**

### STEP 1: Get copies of the following documents:

NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS. Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language. You must submit a copy of the original document and the translated document. The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his/her own documents.

1. US Citizenship/Lawful Presence (must be at least 19 years old):

Security. This process may take up to 30 days.

<u>U.S. Citizen</u> a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:
☐ Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted).
U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired).
☐ Certificate of Naturalization.
☐ Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.
A Driver's License is NOT acceptable.
NOT a U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:
☐ Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card;
☐ Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or
☐ Employment Authorization Card AND
☐ An approved deferred action status (DACA);
☐ A pending application for asylum in the United States;
☐ A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or
☐ A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien law fully admitted for permanent
Residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States.
NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland

Application Information Page 2

	e your school submit (mail) an official college or university trans censure Unit, P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, NE 68509. Transcripts mu	
believe is substantially similar to the education or	raining. or Service: If you have completed education, training, or training required for this credential while you were a member of nal Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the repplication for review.	the armed forces
	old or have held a health related license in any state (other than of your license (do not send a copy of your license). Attachmer	
to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdeme You are required to list ALL convictions (regardle infractions, diversions or dismissals. Misdemeano	received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the canor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors ess of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT requirement and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic occurr, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanors.	s or felonies. uired to list or criminal court,
disposition if the conviction(s) occurred in a state (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the co has taken to address the behaviors or actions rela	nviction (w hat, w hen, w here, w hy) and a summary of actions that	the applicant
	I/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in you to request that the treatment provider submit all evaluations are	-
The following provides <u>SOME</u> exa	amples of convictions; this is <u>NOT</u> a complete list	
<ul> <li>MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor</li> <li>DUI / DWI / Open Container</li> <li>Controlled Substance</li> <li>Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary</li> <li>Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction</li> <li>Disturbing the Peace</li> <li>Assault / Prostitution</li> <li>Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House</li> <li>Fail to Appear in Court</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Driving under Suspension / Revocation</li> <li>License Vehicle w ithout Liability Insurance</li> <li>False Information or Reporting</li> <li>Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident</li> <li>Operator not Carrying License</li> <li>Unlaw ful Display of Plates/Renew al tabs</li> <li>Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation</li> <li>Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal</li> <li>Littering / Firew orks / Bad Check</li> </ul>	
STEP 2: Complete all pages and questions on the	e Application	
STEP 3: Submit your application to the Licensure	e Unit	
<ul> <li>□ Completed Application</li> <li>□ Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document</li> <li>□ Education Documents</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>□ Conviction Records (if you have convictions)</li> <li>□ License Certifications (if licensed in another state)</li> <li>□ The License Fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver).</li> </ul>	
Application Review: All applications are reviewed in	date order received.	
required to compete your application. You have completed within this 90 days, your application w be required.	will be contacted <b>by e-mail</b> ; the e-mail will list the information that 90 days from the date of the e-mail to complete your application; ill be closed and all documents destroyed. A new application would wall license <b>by mail</b> to the address on this application.	if not
Records Retention Schedule: When your license is	s issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Depa	artment for

5 years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records.



State of Nebraska

Department of Health and Human Services

Division of Public Health

Licensure Unit Print or type application and mail to the address on the left.
P.O. Box 94986 Print the application pages one (1) sided only.

Lincoln, NE 68509-4986 Do not print application-double sided

Check below the basis for application:

Examination After July 17, 1986 (For new graduates who have never held licensure)
Examination Before July 17, 1986 (For applicants who have never held licensure)
Active License in Another Jurisdiction (state) – Current Practice
Active License in Another Jurisdiction (state) – Not Currently Practicing
Passed Examination, More Than Three Years – Not Currently Practicing

	ctive Licens assed Exar													
			A	PPLICA	TION F	OR RES	SPIRATO	ORY CA	RE LI	ICENS	SURI			
SECTI	ON A-LIC	ENSE	FEE											
A. Fee Waiver: If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license and temporary license fee is waived. Check only one box:														
☐ <u>Young Worker:</u> I am under 26 years old.														
Low-income Individual:														
I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program; OR														
	☐ My ho	useho	old adjus	ted gross	ncome is l	below 130%	% of the fed	deral incom	e pove	rty guide	line.			
	discharged	l vete	ran of th	ne armed s	ervices of	the United	in the arme States, sp armed serv	ouse of su	ch hon	orably d				
Review The ir number and n All re	B. Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers.  Review the following chart to determine the fee required based on the month and year in which your license will be issued:  The initial Respiratory Care application fee is \$118.00. If your license is issued within 180 days of the expiration date of June 1 <sup>st</sup> even- numbered years, the application fee is prorated and will be \$29.50. Make your check or money order payable to "Licensure Unit" and mail with your application. Debit or credit card is not accepted.  All respiratory care licenses expire June 1 of even-numbered years.								1 <sup>st</sup> even- u <b>re Unit</b> "					
Even Year	Jan \$29.5	0   9	Feb \$29.50	Mar \$29.50	Apr \$29.50	May \$29.50	Jun \$118	July \$118	Aug \$118		Sep 118	Oct \$118	Nov \$118	Dec \$118
Odd Year	Jan \$118		Feb \$118	Mar \$118	Apr \$118	May \$118	June \$118	July \$118	Aug \$118	- 1	Sep 118	Oct \$118	Nov \$118	Dec \$29.50
SECTI	ON B-PE	RSON	AL INF	ORMATION	N (All app	olicants m	ust compl	ete this se	ction.)	١				
1	Name	Last	:				First: Middle/Maiden:							
	Maiden Name	Nam	ne:				Other names you are known as (AKA)							
2	Mailing Address	Stre	et/PO/Ro	oute/APT N	<b>1</b> O:	•								
		City:					State:				Zip:			
3	Date of Bir	th:							/	Age:				
4	Place of B	rth:	City/Co	ounty/State	Country:				<u>l</u>					
				THIS BOX I	S FOR OFF	ICIAL USE	ONLY							
	KGROUN		HECK											
	RD REVIE	W												
LICE	NSE #													

Effective: 05/24/2018

Revised: 12/10/2019

FUL	LNAME:			_						Page 2		
5	Check the Appropriate		ırity Number (	· ·		:	SSN#					
	Box(s):	☐ Alien Regist	Alien Registration Number ("A#")				<b>A</b> #					
	Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not public											
	information, DHHS may share your social security number for child support enforcement or other administrative purposes and provide it to the Department of Revenue or the Department of Labor.											
6	Phone #: Fax # E-Mail Address: (optional)											
7	Have you ever been denied the right to take a license examination in any State?											
	Yes □ No □ If yes, explain:											
SEC	TION C - CONV	ICTION AND LICE  The conviction or convictio	CENSUREIN	IFORMATIO	N (All	applicants m	ust comple	te this:	section)	Failure		
disc	iplinary action,	including, but no	ot limited to	, payment o	f a civi	il penalty.	action occ	irreu, c	Jourd 168	suit III		
Answ	er each of the follo	w ing questions by j	placing a ( 🗸	) in the approp	oriate be	ox (yes or no) a	and completing	the info				
	Have you ever been Charge/Crime	en convicted of a m	<u>isdemeanor o</u>	rtelony? (Use	additio	nal sheet if spa Date of Char			☐ Yes Location			
-												
2	Have you practice	d in Nebraska as a	respiratory ca	are practitioner	prior to	licensure?			Yes	□ No		
	If yes, how many of licensure?	days have you prac	ticed in Nebra	ska as a resp	iratory o	are practitioner	prior to	Nu	ımber of c	lays:		
	Name of Business	s:										
	Location/Address	of Business:										
	Phone Number of	Business:										
		sly held a respirator ou been credentiale				-related service	es, or environ	nental	☐ Ye			
	services in Nebras	ska or in another jur s where you hold a	isdiction (state	e)?					□ Ye			
	inadequate.)		·	u crederillais.	(COTILII							
	State	Type of Credent	tial			License Numb	er Date Iss	ued	Expira	iration Date		
-												
-	Request to have o	ertification of your o	credential(s) fr	rom all states I	isted at	ove (except Ne	ebraska) be s	ent to ou	ur office. F	Refer to		
	Attachment A-2 "C	Certification of Crede	ential" form to	be completed	by othe	er states.						
	currently pending?				. , ,				☐ Ye	es 🗖 No		
	If yes, list the type Action	of action; date of a	Date of Act			ime and addres f Credential	s of entity tak					
			_ 3.0 31710		.,,,,,,,,	2. 2. 2						
			1				1					
	Submit a copy of t	he disciplinary action	on(s), including	charges and	l dispos	ition.	1					

FULL NAME: Page 3

		<b>D – Examination (All applicants must complete</b> ure examination sent directly to this office.	ethis section) Applicants must	t have docume	ntation o	fpassing						
1		you taken and passed any of the National Board for Resbelow?	spiratory Care (NBRC) national exa	aminations	☐ Yes	□ No						
2	Date	CRT Examination passed	(month/day/year):	•								
		RRT Examination passed	(month/day/year):									
		Therapist Multiple-Choice Exam passed (TMC)	(month/day/year):									
	If you	have not taken and passed any examination listed above	e, please indicate the date you pla	n to take the Th	erapist Mu	ıltiple-						
5		e Examination (TMC):	<u> </u>									
5		•										
SEC	TION	E - EDUCATION - Complete this section if you g	raduated from an approved Res	spiratory Care	Program							
	Name Respiratory Care College or University:											
	Address of Respiratory Care College or University:											
Type	Type of Respiratory Care Degree Awarded: (Certificate,											
		Bachelor's, etc.)										
Date	Deare	e Aw arded (month/day/year)										
Infor	m atio	n Relating to Military Education. Training, or Ser	vice: If you have completed edu	cation, training,	or servic	e that you						
believ	e is s	substantially similar to the education or training required	for this credential while you we	re a member of	the armed	forces of						
		States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any sta										
		bmit such evidence with your application for review.										
		F - Passed NBRC examination more than thre	e vears prior to Application da	ate-not curre	ntly prac	ticina						
		ion must be completed by the following applica		ato not carro	nitry prac	tromg						
5	A.	If you passed the NBRC examination more that		of this applica	ation and	l are not						
	Λ.		an timee years prior to the date	or triis applica	ation and	raie not						
	D	currently practicing; or	n three veers prior to the date of	fthio applicati		not hold						
	B.	If you passed the NBRC examination more tha										
		a credential to practice respiratory care in anoth										
1		inuing Education Requirements – If you passed the exa										
		ently practicing, or have passed the NBRC examination										
		neld a credential to practice respiratory care in another ju										
		eptable continuing education with a minimum of 15 hours	in each of the categories below.	Continuing educ	ation mus	t be						
	Willi	in the three years preceding this application.										
		A. Pharmacology;										
		B. Mechanical ventilation;										
		C. Non-invasive ventilation support; and										
	1 !- 1	D. Practice of respiratory care	0		-1							
		your continuing education below for each required categories										
	is in	adequate. Submit your certificates of attendance and co	ourse outline(s) or course prochure Course Presenter	Date completed		earned						
		Friamacology Course fille	buise Fleseillei	Date Completed	1 1115.	earrieu						
	Α.											
			_									
		Mechanical Ventilation Course Title	Course Presenter	Date completed	Hrs.	earned						
	B.											
	D.											
		Non-invasive Ventilation Support Course Title (	Course Presenter	Date completed	Hrs.	earned						
				•								
	C.											
		Practice of respiratory care Course Title (	Course Presenter	Date completed	Hre	earned						
		Tradition of respiratory date course fille	Auto Hosomoi	Pate completed	1113.	Carrica						
	D.											
					_							

active MUS pract	e license to pra T complete this tice facility nam	actice respiratory ca s section G-1, G-2, ie, address and be	are in anoth G-3 and G gin and end	er jurisdiction and 4A. NOTE: If you dates. If your er	NOTHER JURISDI d are currently prac- u are currently prac- nd date is prior to you	ticing or not currenticing, you must listour application for I	tly praction	cing, rent			
			ontinuing ed	lucation in Sectio	n G4B and submit of	documentation.					
1	Name of Agenc	cy Issuing License:									
	Address:	Street/PO/Route:									
		City ()		State:		7in.					
		City: State: Zip:									
2	Date Issued:					•					
3	Name of Writter	n Examination:									
4A	License in ar	nother jurisdiction	n (state) – c	urrent practice							
			ntinuous prac	tice of respiratory	care immediately pred	ceding the date of	Ye	es	No		
	Give location, a				respiratory care. (0						
	additional sheet	t if space is inadequa Facility	te.) <b>NOTE:</b>	DO NOT put your Addres	Traveling Agency n	ame and address i  Dates (Beginnir					
		<b>.</b>				, ,	J	- 3/			
4B	Hold current	license in anothe	r jurisdicti	on (state) – not o	currentlypracticin	g					
	If you have an a	active license in anot	her jurisdiction	on, but are not prac	ticing at the time of t	his application, you n	nust have	obtai	ned		
					0-006.01A through 1						
					f this application. Lis lequate.) <b>Submit</b> yo				ıroo		
					to Attachment A-1 for				uise		
	education.		, , , ,					3			
	Course Title			Course Presenter		Date Completed	Hrs. ear	ned			
	Submit signed of application.	certificate of attendan	ce; course c	utline, brochure of	course for each of the	e courses listed abov	e with yo	ur			

Page 4

FULL NAME: \_\_\_\_\_

SECTIONH – Attestation (All applicants must complete this section.)
Attestation: For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §4-108 through §4-114 and §38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below):
☐ I am a citizen of the United States.
I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act or a non-immigrant law fully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94 document, asylum, etc.
☐ I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.
☐ I am NOT_a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act
Application Attestation: I attest that:
<ol> <li>I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and</li> <li>All statements on this application are true and complete.</li> </ol>
Print Name:Signature:
Date:

Page 5

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at <a href="https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx">https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx</a>

FULL NAME: \_\_\_\_\_

#### RESPIRATORY CARE ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION

This section applies to applicants who hold current license in another jurisdiction (state) – not currently practicing (Section G - 4B of the application)

In order for a learning experience to be accepted for renewal of a license, the learning experience must relate to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of respiratory care and it may focus on research, treatment, documentation, management or education. Acceptable continuing education activities are:

- 1. Programs at State and National association meetings which relate to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of respiratory care;
- 2. Formal education courses/presentations in which:
  - a. Courses or presentations are formally organized and planned instructional experiences;
  - b. Courses have a date, location, course title, number of contact hours, signed certificate of attendance, and are open to all licensees:
  - c. The objectives relate to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of respiratory care; and
  - d. The instructor has specialized experience or training to meet the objectives of the course.
- 3. University or college sponsored courses relating to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of respiratory care:
- 4. Home study where the content of home study activity relates to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of respiratory care whether the subject is research, treatment, documentation, education, or management, e.g. videotapes, internet courses, and/or correspondence courses. The program must have a testing mechanism scored by the named study provider.
- 5. Management courses which relate to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to the practice of respiratory care. A respiratory care practitioner may complete a **maximum of four hours** of continuing education utilizing management courses.
- 6. Nationally recognized specialty certification examinations. A licensee will earn contact hours for successful completion of nationally recognized specialty certification examinations related to an area of specialty practice in the field of respiratory care each 24 month renewal period. A licensee's documentation must include a copy of the certification that shows the date of the examination. Continuing education hours will be awarded as follows:
  - a. Certified Pulmonary Function Technologist (CPFT), ten hours;
  - b. Registered Polysomnographic Technologist (RPSGT), ten hours;
  - c. Neonatal Pediatric Specialist (NPS), ten hours;
  - d. Registered Pulmonary Function Technologist (RPFT), ten hours; and
  - e. Registered Respiratory Therapist (written and clinical simulation examinations, 15 hours.
- 7. Basic cardiac life support or advanced cardiac life support for adults and pediatric or neonatal courses.
  - a. Maximum of one hour credit for the Basic Cardiac Life Support course;
  - b. Maximum of 12 hours credit for initial ACLS certification course or six hours credit for re-certification;
  - c. Maximum of 8 hours credit for initial Neonatal Advanced Life Support certification course or four hours credit for recertification.
  - d. Maximum of 12 hours credit for Pediatric Advanced Life Support certification course or six hours credit for recertification.
- 8. One hour credit will be awarded for each hour of scientific presentation by a licensee acting as an essayist or lecturer to licensed respiratory care practitioners if the program relates to the theory or clinical application of theory pertaining to respiratory care. A licensee may receive continuing education credit for only the initial presentation during a renewal period, with a maximum of four hours of continuing education for presentations.
- 9. In-services that meet the requirements for formal education as outlined in item #2 above that cover:
  - a. Therapeutic respiratory care procedures; or
  - b. Respiratory care equipment.
- One hour of credit will be awarded for each hour of attendance. Credit will not be awarded for breaks, lunch, or dinner.



#### Attachment A-2

STATE OF NEBRASKA
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF PUBLIC HEALTH

### **CERTIFICATION OF CREDENTIAL IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION**

All applicants applying for a Nebraska Respiratory Care credential who are or have been credentialed to provide health services, health-related services, or environmental services in other jurisdiction(s) (state) must have the jurisdiction(s) (state) complete and submit this form directly to our office. Section A must be filled out by the applicant and forwarded to the appropriate jurisdiction(s) to complete Sections B, C and D.

SECTION A -	This section must be	completed							
Applicant's Name:									
Credential Type:		Credential Number:		Credentia Status:	☐ Active☐ Inactive☐ Other				
Date of Issue:		•	Date of Ex	piration:					
SECTION B -	This section must be	e completed only if it is	a certification of	a Respiratory Care	Credential.				
Credential wa	is issued on the basis of	:							
☐ NBRC Exa	amination Date of	Examination:		Score: _					
☐ State Exa	mination Date of	Examination:		Score:_					
☐ Other. Ple	ease explain:								
	om an accredited Respir	atory Care Program		Date of grad	duation:	_			
SECTION C -	This section must be	e completed							
Is in good Has beel Please e Submit s	Based on the records of this Department, the applicant's credential:    Is in good standing, and so far as our records are concerned, the applicant is entitled to endorsement   Has been disciplined.   Please explain any disciplinary action: Submit supporting document of disciplinary action.								
☐ No	icant have any pending es, please explain:	complaints:							
SECTION D -	This section must be	e completed							
SIGNATURE:									
DATE:									
NAME (PRINT)	)				AGENCY				
TITLE:					SEAL				
LICENSING A	GENCY NAME AND A	DDRESS:							

RETURN THIS FORM TO: LICENSURE UNIT ATTN: RESPIRATORY CARE P.O. BOX 94986 LINCOLN, NE 68509-4986