

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE AS A RADON MITIGATION SPECIALIST

Division of Public Health – Licensure Unit PO Box 94986 - Lincoln NE 68509-4986 402-471-2299

LICENSE FEES Waiver: Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license fee is waived

A. Fee Waiver:

If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license fee *is waived*. Check only one box:

- □ Young Worker: I am under 26 years old.
- □ <u>Low-income Individual:</u>
 - □ I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, OR

☐ My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.

- If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to be submitted
- If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy
 of a document showing current enrollment.
- If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see the current income guidelines, <u>https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf</u>. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return.
- Military Family: I am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.

To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

B. Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the fee waivers:

Prorated Fee – The fee for initial licensure is \$92. If your license is issued within 180 days of the expiration date, the fee for initial licensure is \$25.

Year	Jan	Feb	Mar	April	May	June	July	Aug	Sept	Oct	Nov	Dec
Odd-numbered year	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92
Even-numbered year	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$92	\$25	\$25	\$25
All Licenses Expire On March 31st Of Each Odd-Numbered Year												

Pay by check or money order to: Licensure Unit

Your cancelled check is your proof of payment. Payment is processed upon receipt. Debit or credit card is not accepted.

Proof that you are at least 19 years old. Include with your application a copy of your driver's license, state identification card, birth certificate, or other acceptable government-issued identification.

Proof of US Citizenship or lawful presence in the United States.

- U.S. Citizens- a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:
 - Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted;
 - U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired);
 - Certificate of Naturalization; or
 - Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.
- NOT a U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:
 - Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card;
 - Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or
 - Employment Authorization Card <u>AND</u>
 - □ An approved deferred action status (DACA);

- □ A pending application for asylum in the United States;
- A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or
- □ A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent Residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States.
- Conviction Information: If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or felonies. You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required to list infractions, diversions or dismissals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanor/felony convictions.

If you have convictions, you must submit:

(i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;

(ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and

(iii) A letter from the applicant's probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently on probation.

If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), we encourage you to request that the treatment provider submit all evaluations and discharge summaries directly to the Department.

The following provides <u>SOME</u> examples of convictions; this is <u>NOT</u> a complete list							
MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor	Driving under Suspension / Revocation						
DUI / DWI / Open Container	 License Vehicle without Liability Insurance 						
Controlled Substance	 False Information or Reporting 						
 Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary 	• Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident						
Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction	Operator not Carrying License						
 Disturbing the Peace 	 Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs 						
Assault / Prostitution	 Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation 						
 Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House 	 Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal 						
Fail to Appear in Court	 Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check 						

NOTE: If you have <u>any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction</u> or license discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary **action.** Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: <u>https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx</u> or by phone 402-471-0175.

	Tł	nis Application Can	Be Comp	pleted Ele	ctronically,	but Must	Be Signe	ed By the Applicant		
Section A – Personal Information – This section is public information and will be displayed on the internet at										
http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi. Note: All mailings from this office will be sent to the address										
	elow. If you change your address, you must notify this office. First: Middle/MI: Last:									
Legal Name	First:			Middle/I	VII:	ast:				
Maiden Name	Na	me:		Other na	ames you a	re known	as (aka), if any:		
Current	Street/Box/Route:									
Mailing	0:4		7							
Address	Cit	y:		State:				ζip:		
Place of Business	Name and Address of Licensed Radon Business you will work for:									
Employers Phone Number										
Additional Infor	rmat	ion – This sectio	n is not p	oublic inf	ormation a	and will n	not be di	splayed on the internet		
Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year	Place of Birth – City/State or Country									
	- /-		tu Numbe				SSN			
Check the Appropriate		Social Securi	•	. ,			A#			
Box(s):		Alien Registr	ation Nun	nber (A#)						
If you have both a SSN and an A#, you must report both. <u>Neb. Rev. Stat.</u> § 38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not public information, DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue.										
Telephone #:	Fax #: E-Mail Address:									
I				1						
Have you ever been denied the right to take a license examination in any State?										
Yes \square No \square If yes, explain:										
Section B – Initial Training and Course Information: All applicants must provide a certificate of successful completion of the training course issued by the training provider. All applicants must provide the official documentation of the test scores obtained on the NRPP (National Radon Proficiency Program) / NRSS (National Radon Safety Board) examination. AND a college transcript and/or resume for both Initial Training and Relevant Post-Secondary Education or Work Experience. List below. Attach transcript or documentation of work experience)										
Name of Course):									
Number of Cours		lours:								
Training Provide	er:									
Date Completed	•									
Date Completed										
Proof of Relevan	IL I	Name of Progran	1:							
Post-Secondary Education or	-									
Work Experience	е	Name of College								
(attach transcript or documentation		Location:								
of work experience)	Date Completed:									

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service: If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.									
Section C – Conviction And Licensure Information – Failure to disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action,									
regardless of when the ac	ction of	ccurre	d, could result in disciplinary action, including, but no	t limited to, payme	nt of a civil				
penalty. Answer each of t	he follo	owing	questions by placing a check mark in the appropriate	e box (yes or no) a	nd				
completing the information requested. All 'yes' responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the									
requested documentation.									
	Type of Crime or Date of Name of Court/Entity								
	Yes	No	Licensure Action Action	Taking Act					
Have you ever been				0					
convicted in any									
jurisdiction of a									
misdemeanor or felony?									
,									
If you answered YES to the question above, you must submit the following documents with your application:									
	 Copy of the court record(s), which includes charges and disposition; Written explanation of the events leading to the conviction(s) (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you have taken to 								
address the behaviors/a				innary of actions you	nave laken lu				
			s and proof of treatment, if the conviction(s) involved a drug	and/or alcohol relate	d offense and				
if treatment was obtained									
			Idressing probationary conditions and current status, if yo	are currently on pr	obation.				
The following questions relate to a credential(s) that you hold or have held in health services, health related									
services or environmental services in Nebraska or another jurisdiction.									
Do you hold or have you	Yes	No							
If yes, what State?									
Has your license ever been: Denied; Refused Renewal; Limited; Suspended; Revoked; or Yes									
had other disciplinary measures taken against it? If yes you must request the following									
documents be sent directly to this office:									
Certification of your credential in another state; and									
 Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action was taken 									
Section D. Practice Prior To License. An individual who practices prior to issuance of a license is subject to									
Section D – Practice Prior To License – An individual who practices prior to issuance of a license is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of \$10 per day up to \$1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes									
and regulations governing this license.									
				Yes	No				
Have you practiced Rado									
If yes, what is the actual number of days you practiced without a license in Nebraska and # of days:									
what is the business nam	e, loca	ation a	nd telephone number of the practice?						
Business Name and Add	ress:		·	Phone#					

Attestation: For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below):						
I attest that:						
□ I am a citizen of the United States; <u>OR</u>						
I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act or a non- immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94 document, asylum, etc.						
I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc. <u>OR</u>						
□ I am NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.						
I further attest that:						
 I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and All statements on this application are true and complete. 						
Print Name:						
Signature: Date:						

NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS. Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language. You must submit a copy of the original document and the translated document. The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his/her own documents.

<u>MILITARY</u>: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

We do not print and mail a license card. To print a copy of your license visit the following website: <u>https://dhhs.ne.gov/lookup</u>