Guidance Document

Effective January 1, 2024



LICENSING OF RESIDENTIAL CHILD-CARING AGENCY

The purpose of the Guidance Document is to assist Agency providers to become a licensed Residential Child-Caring Agency for children placed in their care.

1. <u>Licensing Process</u>

The link below accesses the DHHS Children's Services Licensing homepage.

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Residential-Child-Caring-Agency-Licensing-and-Child-Placing-Agency-Licensing.aspx

You will find:

- Statutes and Regulations for Residential Child-Caring Agency in the right column
 - Read over all the statutes and regulations to better understand what is required to operate a residential child-caring agency for children/youth in Nebraska.
 - As you read over the regulations in 391 NAC Chapter 7, please note that these regulations apply only to youth up to the age of 19 years who are in need of out-of-home placement services. There are additional regulations within the chapter which will apply if you intend to serve special populations such as pregnant/parenting youth, programs serving youth under 19 years alongside persons over age 19 (youth and adults), or youth needing transitional or independent living services.

Per the requirements contained in both Nebraska Revised Statute and Residential Child Caring regulations, to apply for a Child-Caring Agency license you will need to complete and submit the following:

- License Application and Full Disclosure of Ownership Statement
- Results of completed background checks for owner(s) and executive director as outlined in regulation, current within six months
- Check or money order for \$25.00 non-refundable license fee (Please note we are unable to process fingerprints for your employees until we receive your fee to create your agency application in our database)
- A copy of your Personnel and Program Policies and Procedures, Staff Job Descriptions, and all forms that will be used in your RCCA program
- Evidence of adequate Liability Insurance or if self-insured, of sufficient funds to pay liability claims
- Evidence of Limited Liability Company, Incorporation, and/or Non-profit status
- A copy of the floor plan of the facility which includes all room dimensions, identifies use of all areas, and shows exits.
- Certificate of occupancy or approval from local zoning authority

Upon receipt, review, and approval of the documents listed, a referral for a fire and sanitation inspection are completed. Your initial Residential Child-Caring Agency licensing inspection will be scheduled after fire and sanitation approvals are received.

Included in Inspection:

- Review and verification of all documents submitted to date against the current regulations.
- Compliance Checklist.
- Review of all documents supporting licensure.
- Walk-through of your premises to determine all areas used by youth meet physical compliance.
- A "mock" youth file for review.
- Review of files of any volunteers and employees hired up to the date of the initial inspection.
 - These files must contain the required content as listed in regulations 391 NAC 7-005.03 through 7-005.04(E).

2. How to Apply

• Please contact DHHS.ChildCareLicensing@nebraska.gov for additional information on CPA licensure and an application to being the process.