

Application Information Nail Technician by RECIPROCITY Licensed in Another State

Information for Military Spouses

Temporary License: If you have an active Nail Technology license in another state and you are a military spouse, you may be issued a temporary license pending completion of the permanent license requirements. A temporary license specifically for military spouses is available under Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-129.01 and is issued for a period not to exceed 1-year. Please review the following documents required to obtain a temporary license and those listed for a permanent license to determine which process is right for you.

To apply for this temporary license, you need to be a resident of Nebraska and submit the following:

- The attached application
- A copy of your military dependent identification card identifying you as the spouse of an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces
- A copy of your spouse's military orders reflecting an active-duty assignment in Nebraska
- A copy of your Nail Technology license from another state or jurisdiction
- A copy of the statutes, rules, and regulations governing your license which indicate standards that are similar to Nebraska's Nail Technology licensing requirements.
- \$25 temporary license fee and Permanent license fee (unless you qualify for a fee waiver).

Permanent Nail Technology License in Nebraska - Requirements And Process

- 1. You must be at least 17 years old and Lawfully Present in the United States.
- 2. You must have graduated from High School or have a GED (or similar education).
- 3. You must be currently licensed as a nail technician (or similar title) in another State and this license(s) must have never been disciplined or revoked.
- 4. You must have completed at least 300 hours of nail technology training, including at least 16 hours of nail drill training, and have successfully passed a written examination. If a written examination <u>was not</u> required for licensure in another jurisdiction, must take the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) nail technology examination. If you did not complete a 300 hour nail technology training program, we can consider 100 hours for each month of practice as a nail technician towards the 300 hours.

<u>License Fee Waiver:</u> Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license and temporary license fee <u>is waived</u>:

- 1. Young Worker: You are between the ages of 17 and 25 (under the age of 26).
- Low-Income Individual: You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, <u>OR</u> your household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
 - If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to be submitted.
 - If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a document showing current enrollment.
 - If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see the current income guidelines, https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return.
- 3. <u>Military Family:</u> You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

To apply for a License:

STEP 1: (Get co	pies of	the	following	documents:
------------------	--------	---------	-----	-----------	------------

NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS. Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language. You must submit a copy of the original document and the translated document. The translation must be an original document and

con	stain the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his/her own documents.
1.	US Citizenship/Lawful Presence (must be at least 17 years old):
	U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following: ☐ Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted). ☐ U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired). ☐ Certificate of Naturalization. ☐ Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.
	A Driver's License is NOT acceptable.
	NOT a U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following: Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or Employment Authorization Card AND An approved deferred action status (DACA); A pending application for asylum in the United States; A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent Residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States. NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland Security. This process may take up to 30 days.
2.	Education: a PHOTOCOPY of: Your High School diploma, GED or similar Educational document. Your Nail Technology school diploma.
	Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service: If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.
3.	Conviction Information: If you have <u>EVER</u> received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or felonies. You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required

If you have convictions, you must submit:

misdemeanor/felony convictions.

(i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska:

to list infractions, diversions or dismissals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court

- (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and
- (iii) A letter from the applicant's probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently on probation.

If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), we encourage you to request that the treatment provider submit all evaluations and discharge summaries directly to the Department.

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list

- MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor
- DUI / DWI / Open Container
- Controlled Substance
- Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary
- Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
- Disturbing the Peace
- Assault / Prostitution
- Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
- Fail to Appear in Court

- Driving under Suspension / Revocation
- License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
- · False Information or Reporting
- Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident
- Operator not Carrying License
- Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
- Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
- Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
- Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action

	bsite: https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx
	must contact the states in which you are licensed or have held a license and a similar document. (DO NOT send a copy of your license) .
STEP 2: Complete all pages of the A	pplication
STEP 3: Get a Certification of your Li	cense - Attachment 1
·	
STEP 4: Submit your application to the	ne Licensure Unit
☐ Completed Application	License Certifications (for each state that you hold a license)
☐ Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document	☐ The License Fee (unless you qualify for a fee waiver). See the license
☐ Education Documents	application for a listing of fees. Pay by check/money order (your
Conviction Records (if you have convictions)	cancelled check is your proof of receipt); debit or credit card is not accepted.

Contact Information: Licensure Unit, Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 / E-Mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

Application Review: All applications are reviewed in date order received.

- If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list the information that is required to compete your application. You have 90 days to complete your application; if not completed within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed. A new application will then be required.
- If your application is complete, you will receive by e-mail your 'approval to test' letter.

Records Retention Schedule: When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records.



DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

LICENSE FEES:

Check only one waiver:

Licensure Unit P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 E-Mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

Mail this application to the address listed above.

RECIPROCITY Nail Technology Application (Licensed in another State)

You must complete all sections of this application

Ш	Young Worker:	I am und	der 26 yea	ars old.									
	Low-income Indi	vidual:											
	☐ I am enrolled i medical assistance Assistance Progra	e progra	ım establis	shed pur	suant to t	the Medic	al Assista	ance Act,	the fede	ral Supple	emental N	Nutrition	
	☐ My household	adjusted	d gross ind	come is	below 13	0% of the	federal ir	ncome po	verty gui	ideline.			
	Military Family: I discharged vetera remarried survivin	an of the	e armed s	services	of the U	nited Sta	tes, spou	se of su	ch honor	ably disc	harged v		
D	Eac Boquired if	VOLLD	O NOT	auglify.	for one	of the ol	hava fac	woiver	0 VOII 19	auct nov	, the fee	listed i	n the
ch iss Pa	Fee Required if art below. Reviewed by check or more arcancelled check	w the ch	arts to det	termine t ensure l	he fee re Jnit	quired ba	sed on th	e month	and year	in which	your lice	nse will k	e
	YEAR	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	June	July	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec
	en Number Year d Numbered Year	\$95 \$95	\$95 \$95	\$95 \$95	\$95 \$95	\$95 \$95	\$95 \$95	\$95 \$25	\$95 \$25	\$95 \$25	\$95 \$25	\$95 \$25	\$95 \$25
SE 1	CTION A: INFO			alow									
•	First:	ai Logai	i itame bo		ldle:				La	ast Name	<u> </u>		
	List any other nar including maiden								<u> </u>				
2	Address:	Street/	PO/Route):			·						
		City:					Stat	e or Cour	ntry:		Zip	:	
3	Social Security N	umber (S	SSN):				l				1		
4	If you ARE NOT a your Alien Registi			☐ Ai	#: □ I-94	1 #							
<u>Ne</u> pul	b. Rev. Stat. §§38-1	23 and	38-130 red	quires vo	ou to prov	ide vour	social sec	curity num	ber to D	HHS. Alt	hough vo	ur numh	er is not

A. Fee Waiver: If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license and temporary license fee is waived.

5	Date of Birth (Month/Day/	Year):	Pla	ce of Birth (City/Sta	te or COUNTRY):	
6	Phone #: (optional)*		Add	ditional Phone #: (o	ptional)*	
	E-Mail Address:					
* p	hone number and e-mail is	optional, but providing this i	nform	nation will speed up	communication wi	th you
7	Have you ever been denied Yes □ No □	ed the right to take a license If yes, explain:	exar	mination in any Sta	te?	
8		u the spouse of an active dutes Armed Forces who has			nd you are applying all documentation	for a temporary license, identified in the
Fa	ECTION B: CONVICTION illure to list any conviction(s) tion.				tion occurred, could	d result in disciplinary
<u>CON</u>	VICTION INFORMATION:	You must list ALL misdem	eanc	or or felony conviction	ons (regardless of	when they occurred).
1	Have you EVER been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?	Name of Conviction			Date of Action	Name of Court Taking Action
	Yes □ No □					
	<u> </u>					<u> </u>
		ng provides <u>SOME</u> examp				
	 MIP/ Tobacco Use by Mi DUI / DWI Controlled Substance Open Container Shoplifting / Theft / Burgl Unauthorized use of a Fi Disturbing the Peace Assault / Prostitution Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly 	lary nancial Transaction	•	Driving under Sus License Vehicle w Fail to Appear in C False Information Leave the Scene of Operator not Carry Unlawful Display of Park Rule Violation Dog at Large / Fai Littering / Firework	ithout Liability Insur Court or Reporting of an Accident ying License of Plates/Renewal to n / Curfew Violation I to Vaccinate Anim	abs

<u>NOTE:</u> If you have disciplinary charges pending on your license in another state or if your license has been revoked, suspended, limited, is on probation or disciplined in any way, please contact the state(s) taking the action and request a copy of the disciplinary action be sent to the Nebraska Licensure Unit.

<u>LICENSE INFORMATION:</u> The following questions relate to a license that you currently hold or have held (such as nursing, nail technology, massage, etc.) in a state <u>other</u> than Nebraska.

1	Do you hold or have you held a license in any other state(s)?	If yes	s, what (s)?	What typ	oe of lice	ense?	
	Yes □ No □						
	If YES, has your license ever been denied refused renewal, limited, suspended, revoked or had other disciplinary measure taken against it?	Туре	of Action	Date of	Action	Name of State Ta	king Action
	Yes □ No □						
				<u> </u>			
SE	CTION C: EDUCATION						
	Did you receive a High School Diploma OR tificate:	<u>GED</u>	Check the High S	appropriate bo chool □ GE			
	lude photocopy of Diploma or GED with plication.	this					
2. wh	List the name of your Nail Technology Schooler you completed your training:	ool	School Na	ne:			
Inc	lude photocopy of your diploma						
			Location:	(City/State)			
	Total Number of Nail Drill Training Hours mpleted:						
If y for sta	ormation Relating to Military Education, ou have completed education, training, or s this credential while you were a member of te, the military reserves of any state, or the iew.	ervice that the armed	t you believed I forces of th	e United State	s, activ	e or reserve, the Na	ntional Guard of any
SE	CTION D: EXPERIENCE						
List b	r nail technology program was <u>less than</u> : elow the Name of the Salon, Location, Tele the <u>Last 5 Years Prior to sending</u> this Ap	phone Nui		•	ne Nail	Technology Practic	e you worked
Nar	ne of Salon	City	State	Telephone	#	Date Began	Date Ended

SECTION E: PRACTICE PRIOR TO LICENSE	age is subject to appearant of an Administrative Density of \$10 per day
up to \$1,000, or other action as provided in the statutes	nse is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of \$10 per day and regulations.
Have you practiced Nail Technology in Nebraska withou	ut a Nebraska Nail Technology or Cosmetology license?
□ No □ Yes	
nails. (3) cutting, filing, buffing, shaping, trimming, polishing, of a person when done as part of the artificial nail service.	material in preparation for attaching, fitting, shaping, or adjusting artificial coloring, tinting, cleansing, reshaping, or other cosmetic acts on the nails
A Nail Technologist cannot cut nail beds, corns, or ca and cannot remove hair with wax.	lluses or provide medical treatment involving the feet, hands, or nails
If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in Nebraska without a Nebraska license and what is the business name, location and telephone	Number of days:
number of the practice:	Name of Business:
	City:
	Telephone #:
SECTION F: ATTESTATION	
For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 thr I attest that:	ough 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below):
☐ I am a citizen of the United States.	
	a qualified alien under the federal Immigration and Nationality Act, States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-
	an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.
☐ I am NOT a citizen of the United States, a non and Nationality Act.	immigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration
I further attest that:	
 I have read the application or have had the applicat I am of good character and all statements on this application. 	
Print Name:	
Signature:	Date:



DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Licensure Unit, P.O. Box 94986 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Telephone: 402-471-2399 Fax: 402-742-1106

E-mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

This form must be completed by the State Licensing Board in all States that you are licensed

NAIL TECHNOLOGY CERTIFICATION OF LICENSE

Print or Type

1 Name of Licensee: 2 License #: 3 License Type: 4 Date Issued: 5 Date Expires: 6 Disciplinary Action: If YES, provide copies of the Disciplinary Action 7 Examination Score: 8 Date of Examination: NAIL TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION Name of School Address
2 License #: 3 License Type: 4 Date Issued: 5 Date Expires: 6 Disciplinary Action: If YES, provide copies of the Disciplinary Action 7 Examination Score: 8 Date of Examination: NAIL TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION Name of School
4 Date Issued: 5 Date Expires: 6 Disciplinary
5 Date Expires: 6 Disciplinary Action: If YES, provide copies of the Disciplinary Action 7 Examination Score: 8 Date of Examination: NAIL TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION Name of School
6 Disciplinary Action:
Action: If YES, provide copies of the Disciplinary Action 7
Score: 8 Date of Examination: NAIL TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION Name of School
8 Date of Examination: NAIL TECHNOLOGY EDUCATION Name of School
Name of School
Name of School
Address
City/State/Zip
Graduation Date
Total Hours Earned
CTATE ACENCY INFORMATION
STATE AGENCY INFORMATION 1 Name of State:
2 Address:
City State Zip Code
City State Zip Code
3 OPTIONAL Telephone
3 OPTIONAL Telephone Number: 4 Name and Title of Person Completing Name Title
3 OPTIONAL Telephone Number: 4 Name and Title of Name Title
3 OPTIONAL Telephone Number: 4 Name and Title of Person Completing Name Title
3 OPTIONAL Telephone Number: 4 Name and Title of Person Completing Name Title
3 OPTIONAL Telephone Number: 4 Name and Title of Person Completing Form Title