

## Application Information Cosmetology or Esthetics by RECIPROCITY Licensed in Another State

#### **Information for Military Spouses**

**Temporary License:** If you have an active cosmetology license in another state and you are a military spouse, you may be issued a temporary license pending completion of the permanent license requirements. A temporary license specifically for military spouses is available under Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-129.01 and is issued for a period not to exceed 1-year. Please review the following documents required to obtain a temporary license and those listed for a permanent license (starting with STEP 1 below) to determine which process is right for you.

To apply for this temporary license, submit the following:

- The attached application
- A copy of your military dependent identification card identifying you as the spouse of an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces
- A copy of your spouse's military orders reflecting an active-duty assignment in Nebraska
- A copy of your cosmetology/esthetics license from another state or jurisdiction
- The statutes, rules, and regulations governing the license which indicate standards that are similar to Nebraska's cosmetology/esthetics licensing requirements.

#### Permanent Cosmetology or Esthetics License In Nebraska - Requirements and Process

- 1. You must be at least 17 years old and Lawfully Present in the United States.
- 2. You must have graduated from high school
- 3. You must be currently licensed as a cosmetologist or esthetician (or similar title) in another State.
- 4. You must have completed at least 1800 hours of cosmetology training or 600 hours esthetic training and have successfully passed a written examination. If a written examination was not required for licensure in another jurisdiction, you must take the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) examination. If you did not complete an 1800 hour cosmetology or 600 esthetic training program, we can consider work experience as follows: For each month of full-time practice as a cosmetologist or esthetician within the 5 years immediately prior to this application, each month counts for 100 hours. Work experience must be after issuance of the license in the other jurisdiction and within 5 years immediately prior to application.

<u>License Fee Waiver:</u> Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license and temporary license fee is waived:

- 1. Young Worker: You are between the ages of 17 and 25 (under the age of 26).
- 2. <u>Low-Income Individual:</u> You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program **such as** the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, <u>OR</u> your household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
  - If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required to be submitted.
  - If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a
    document showing current enrollment.
  - If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see the current income guidelines, https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return.
- 3. <u>Military Family:</u> You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.

**MILITARY:** To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Licensing-Home-Page.aspx

Cosmetology/	C - 41 : C	<b>)</b> :: <b>.</b>	l £ ±:	D 0

#### To apply for a License:

ST	ΕP	1: Get copies of the following documents:
You	mus	NGLISH DOCUMENTS. Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language st submit a copy of the original document and the translated document. The translation must be an original document and the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his/her own documents.
1.		US Citizenship/Lawful Presence (must be at least 17 years old):
		U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:  ☐ Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted).  ☐ U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired).  ☐ Certificate of Naturalization.  ☐ Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.
	A	Driver's License is NOT acceptable.
		NOT a U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:  Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card;  Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or  Employment Authorization Card AND  An approved deferred action status (DACA);  A pending application for asylum in the United States;  A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or  A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent Residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States.  NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland Security. This process may take up to 30 days.
2.		Education: a PHOTOCOPY of:  ☐ Your High School diploma, GED or Equivalent Educational document. ☐ Your Cosmetology or Esthetics school diploma.  Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service:  If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training
		required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.
3.		Conviction Information: Conviction Information: If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or

#### If you have convictions, you must submit:

traffic and criminal court misdemeanor/felony convictions.

(i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;

animal control, check the court system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or felonies. You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required to list infractions, diversions or dismissals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both

- (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and
- (iii) A letter from the applicant's probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently on probation.

If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), we encourage you to request that the treatment provider submit all evaluations and discharge summaries directly to the Department.

#### The following provides **SOME** examples of convictions; this is **NOT** a complete list

- MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor
- DUI / DWI
- Controlled Substance
- Open Container
- Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary
- Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
- Disturbing the Peace
- Assault / Prostitution
- Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
- Reckless Driving

- Driving under Suspension / Revocation
- · License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
- Fail to Appear in Court
- · False Information or Reporting
- · Leave the Scene of an Accident
- Operator not Carrying License
- Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
- Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
- Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
- · Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

NOTE: If you have <u>any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction</u> or license discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: <a href="https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx">https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx</a> or by phone 402-471-0175

or by phone 402-471-0175						
4. Other State License Information: You must contact the states in which you are licensed or have held a license and request the State Office to complete Attachment 1 or a similar document. (DO NOT send a copy of your license).						
STEP 2: Complete all pages of the A	pplication					
STEP 3: Get a Certification of your Li	cense - Attachment 1					
STEP 4: Submit your application to the	ne Licensure Unit					
☐ Completed Application	License Certifications (for each state that you hold a license)					
☐ Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document	☐ The License Fee (unless you qualify for a fee waiver). See the license					
☐ Education Documents	application for a listing of fees. Pay by check/money order (your					
☐ Conviction Records (if you have convictions)	cancelled check is your proof of receipt); debit or credit card is not accepted.					

Contact Information: Licensure Unit, Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 / E-Mail: https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx

**Application Review:** All applications are reviewed in date order received.

- If your application <u>is missing information</u>, you will be contacted **by e-mail** within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list the information that is required to compete your application. You have 90 days to complete your application; if not completed within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed. A new application will then be required.
- If your application <u>is complete</u>, you will receive by e-mail your license number.

**Records Retention Schedule:** When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records.



Licensure Unit P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106

E-Mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

Social Security Number (SSN):

Mail this application to the address listed above.

# RECIPROCITY Cosmetologist or Esthetics Application (Licensed in another State)

You must complete all sections of this application

LICENSE TYPE and FEES:													
Check the license type that you are requesting: ☐ COSMETOLOGY ☐ ESTHETIC													
A. Fee Waiver: If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license and temporary license fee is waived.  Check only one waiver:													
☐ <b>Young Worker:</b> I am under 26 years old.													
☐ Low-income Individual:													
	☐ I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, OR												
	☐ My household	adjusted	d gross ir	ncome is	below 13	0% of the	e federal i	ncome p	overty g	uideline.			
	Military Family: discharged vetera surviving spouses	n of the	armed se	rvices of	the Unite	d States,	spouse of	f such ho	norably o	discharge	-		-
B. Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers you must pay the fee listed in the chart below. Review the charts to determine the fee required based on the month and year in which your license will be issued  Pay by check or money order to: Licensure Unit Your cancelled check is your proof of payment. Payment is processed upon receipt. Debit or credit card is not accepted.													
	SMETOLOGIST YEAR	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	June	July	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec
Eve	n Number Year	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25
Ode	d Numbered Year	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95
ES	THETICIAN:							NOTE: I	₋icenses	expire12	-31 of ev	en-numb	ered years
	YEAR	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	June	July	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec
	n Number Year	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$95	\$95	\$95
Ode	d Numbered Year	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95	\$95
	NOTE: Licenses expire 9-30 of even-numbered years												
SEC 1	TION A: INFOR			olow									
1	You must print yo First:	our <b>Lega</b>	i Name D		ddle:				L	ast Name	:		
	List any other nar including maiden												
2	Address:	Street/	PO/Rout	e:			•						
		City:					Stat	e or Cou	ntry:		Zip	):	

4		11. 4								
	If you ARE NOT a U.S. Citiz your Alien Registration # or		□ I-94#							
publ	. <u>Rev. Stat</u> . §§38-123 and 38- ic information, DHHS may sh provide it to the Department	are your social se	ecurity number	for child support en						
5	Date of Birth (Month/Day/Ye	ear):	Plac	ce of Birth (City/State	e or COUNTRY):					
6	Phone #: (optional)*		Add	Additional Phone #: (optional)*						
	E-Mail Address:									
* ph	Phone number and e-mail is optional, but providing this information will speed up communication with you									
7	Have you ever been denied Yes □ No □ If	the right to take yes, explain:	a license exam	nination in any State	?					
8	Military Spouse: Are you to member of the United State active-duty assignment in ir	es Armed Forces		Yes No lf checked yes and you are applying for a temporary license, you must include all documentation identified in the instructions.						
Failu	SECTION B: CONVICTION AND LICENSE INFORMATION Failure to list any conviction(s) or disciplinary action(s), regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action.  CONVICTION INFORMATION: You must list ALL misdemeanor or felony convictions (regardless of when they occurred).									
1	Have you <b>EVER</b> been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?	Name of Convid	ction		Date of Action	Name of Court Taking Action				
1	convicted of a	Name of Convid	ction		Date of Action					
1	convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?	Name of Convid	ction		Date of Action					
1	convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?	Name of Convid	ction		Date of Action					
1	convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?	Name of Convid	ction		Date of Action					
1	convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?	Name of Convid	ction		Date of Action					
1	convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?	Name of Convid	ction		Date of Action					
1	convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?	Name of Convid	ction		Date of Action					
1	convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?  Yes   No			of convictions; this	Date of Action  s is NOT a complete	Action				
1	res  No  The following MIP/ Tobacco Use by Mir	ing provides <u>SO</u>	<u>ME</u> examples	Driving under Sus	s is NOT a complet	Action e list				
1	res □ No □  The following MIP/ Tobacco Use by Mire DUI / DWI	ing provides <u>SO</u>	ME examples	Driving under Susp	s is <u>NOT</u> a complet pension / Revocation ithout Liability Insura	Action e list				
1	convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?  Yes □ No □  The followi  MIP/ Tobacco Use by Mir DUI / DWI Controlled Substance	ing provides <u>SO</u>	ME examples	<ul><li>Driving under Susp</li><li>License Vehicle w</li><li>Fail to Appear in C</li></ul>	s is <u>NOT</u> a complet pension / Revocation ithout Liability Insura Court	Action e list				
1	restance of a misdemeanor or felony?  Yes □ No □  The followi  MIP/ Tobacco Use by Mir  DUI / DWI  Controlled Substance  Open Container	ing provides <u>SO</u>	ME examples	Driving under Susponential License Vehicle was Fail to Appear in Cappan False Information	s is NOT a complet pension / Revocation ithout Liability Insura Court or Reporting	Action e list				
1	convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?  Yes □ No □  The followi  MIP/ Tobacco Use by Mir DUI / DWI Controlled Substance	ing provides <u>SOI</u>	ME examples	Driving under Susponential License Vehicle was Fail to Appear in Cape False Information Leave the Scene of	s is NOT a complet pension / Revocation ithout Liability Insura court or Reporting of an Accident	Action e list				
1	restance of a misdemeanor or felony?  Yes □ No □  The followi  MIP/ Tobacco Use by Mir  DUI / DWI  Controlled Substance  Open Container  Shoplifting / Theft / Burgla	ing provides <u>SOI</u>	ME examples	Driving under Susponential License Vehicle with Fail to Appear in Conference of False Information of Leave the Scene conference Operator not Carry	s is NOT a complet pension / Revocation ithout Liability Insura court or Reporting of an Accident ving License	Action  Te list  The ance				
1	convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?  Yes □ No □  The followi  MIP/ Tobacco Use by Mir  DUI / DWI  Controlled Substance  Open Container  Shoplifting / Theft / Burgla  Unauthorized use of a Fir	ing provides <u>SOI</u>	ME examples	Driving under Susponential License Vehicle with Fail to Appear in Conference of False Information of Leave the Scene conference Operator not Carry	s is NOT a complet pension / Revocation ithout Liability Insura court or Reporting of an Accident ving License of Plates/Renewal tal	Action  Te list  The ance				
1	rhe followi  MIP/ Tobacco Use by Mir  DUI / DWI  Controlled Substance Open Container Shoplifting / Theft / Burgla Unauthorized use of a Fir Disturbing the Peace	ing provides <u>SO</u>	ME examples	Driving under Susponder Su	s is NOT a complet pension / Revocation ithout Liability Insura court or Reporting of an Accident ving License of Plates/Renewal tal n / Curfew Violation I to Vaccinate Anima	e list nance				

**NOTE:** If you have disciplinary charges pending on your license in another state or if your license has been revoked, suspended, limited, is on probation or disciplined in any way, please contact the state(s) taking the action and request a copy of the disciplinary action be sent to the Nebraska Licensure Unit.

What type of license?

<u>LICENSE INFORMATION:</u> The following questions relate to a license that you currently hold or have held to provide health related services (such as nursing, nail technology, massage, etc.) in a state <u>other</u> than Nebraska.

If yes, what

state(s)?

Do you hold or have you held a license in

any other state(s)?

Yes □ No □							
If YES, has your license ever been denied, refused renewal, limited, suspended, revoked or had other disciplinary measures taken against it?	Туре	e of Action		Date of Action Name of		State Taking Action	
Yes □ No □							
SECTION C: EDUCATION							
Did you receive a High School Diploma OR GED certificate:	)	Check the	approp	oriate box:			
Include photocopy of Diploma or GED with this Application.		☐ High S	School				
List the name of your Cosmetology or Esthetics     School where you completed your training:		School Nar	ne:				
Include photocopy of your diploma							
		Location:	(City/S	State)			
Information Relating to Military Education, Train If you have completed education, training, or servic for this credential while you were a member of the a state, the military reserves of any state, or the nava review.	e that armed	you believe if forces of the	Unite	d States, activ	e or reserve, the	National Guard of any	
SECTION D: EXPERIENCE							
If your cosmetology program of studies is less than 1800 hours or your esthetic program of studies is less than 600 hours, complete the following. For each month of full-time practice as a cosmetologist or esthetician, each month counts for 100 hours. Work experience must be after issuance of the license in the other jurisdiction and within 5 years immediately prior to application.  List below the Name of the Salon, Location, Telephone Number, and Dates of Full Time Practice you worked within the Last 5 Years Prior to sending this Application:							
Name of Salon City		State	Tele	phone #	Date Began	Date Ended	

SECTION E: PRACTICE PRIOR TO LICENSE							
If you practice in Nebraska without a Nebraska license, you are subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of \$10 per day up to \$1,000, or other action as provided in the statutes and regulations.							
□ No □ Yes  Have you practiced cosmetology or esthetics in Nebraska without a Nebraska license?							
If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in Nebraska without a Nebraska license and what is the business name, location and telephone number of the							
practice:	Name of Business:						
	City:						
	Telephone #:						
SECTION F: ATTESTATION							
For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check <b>ONE</b> of the boxes below):  I attest that:							
☐ I am a citizen of the United States.							
☐ I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the federal Immigration and Nationality Act, or a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94 document, asylum, etc.							
☐ I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.							
☐ I am <u>NOT</u> a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.							
I further attest that:							
<ol> <li>I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and</li> <li>I am of good character and all statements on this application are true and complete.</li> </ol>							
Print Name:	<u> </u>						
Signature:	Date:						

<u>Contact Information:</u> Licensure Unit, 301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Telephone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 / E-Mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov



DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Licensure Unit, P.O. Box 94986 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Telephone: 402-471-2399

Fax: 402-742-1106 E-mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov This form or similar form with the same information must be completed by the State Licensing Board in all States that you are licensed.

### COSMETOLOGY OR ESTHETICS CERTIFICATION OF LICENSE

Print or Type

LI	CENSE INFORMAT	TION				
1	Name of					
	Licensee:					
2	License #:					
3	License Type:					
4	Date Issued:					
5	Date Expires:					
6	Disciplinary Action:	☐Yes ☐No If YES, provide copies of the	e Disciplinary Action			
7	Type of Examination and Score:					
8	Date of Examination:					
C	OSMETOLOGY OF	R ESTHETICS EDUCATION	N			
Na	ame of School					
	ldress ty/State/Zip					
Gr	aduation Date					
To	tal Hours Earned					
ST	TATE AGENCY INF	ORMATION				
1	Name of State:					
2	Address:					
		City	State		Zip Code	
3	OPTIONAL Telephone Number:					
4	Name and Title of Person Completing Form	Name		Title		
Sid	gnature					
`	-				c	STATE SEAL
Da	te				3	TATE SEAL
1						