Effective January 1, 2024



LICENSING OF CHILD-PLACING AGENCY

The purpose of the Guidance Document is to assist Agency providers to become a licensed Child-Placing Agency for children placed in their care.

1. Licensing Process

The link below accesses the DHHS Children's Services Licensing homepage.

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Residential-Child-Caring-Agency-Licensing-and-Child-Placing-Agency-Licensing.aspx

You will find:

- Statutes and Regulations for Child-Placing Agency in the right column
 - Read over all the statutes and regulations to better understand what is required to operate a child-placing agency for children/youth in Nebraska.
 - Regarding regulations in 391 NAC Chapter 8, please note that these regulations apply only to serving youth up to the age of 19 years who are in need of out-ofhome placement services for purposes of reunification or adoption. Agencies engaged only in adoption activities will not need to develop policy for 391 NAC 8-005.12 (E).

Per the requirements contained in both Nebraska Revised Statute and Child-Placing regulations, to apply for a Child-Placing Agency license you will need to complete and submit the following:

- License Application and Full Disclosure of Ownership Statement.
- Results of completed Child and Adult Abuse and Neglect Central Registry check and Criminal history record checks for executive director and/or owners, current within six months.
- Check or money order for \$25.00 non-refundable license fee.
- A copy of your agency's personnel and program policies and procedures, staff job descriptions, and all forms/documents that will be used in your CPA program which address all requirements listed throughout 391 NAC Chapter 8.
 https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Forms.aspx.
- Evidence of adequate Liability Insurance or if self-insured, of sufficient funds to pay liability claims.
- Evidence of Limited Liability Company, Incorporation, and/or Non-profit status.

Upon receipt, review, and approval of the documents listed above, your initial Child-Placing Agency licensing inspection will be scheduled.

Included in Inspection:

- Review and verification of all documents submitted to date against the current regulations.
- Compliance Checklist.
- Review of all documents supporting licensure.
- Walk-through of your premises to determine the agency meets physical compliance.
- Review of files of any volunteers and employees hired up to the date of the initial inspection.
 - These files must contain the required content as listed in regulations 391 NAC 8-005.02 through 8-005.06(B)(i).

2. How to Apply

• Please contact <u>DHHS.ChildCareLicensing@nebraska.gov</u> for additional information on CPA licensure and an application to begin the process.