

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Licensure Unit PO Box 94986 Lincoln, NE 68509-4986

402-471-2117 Fax: (402) 742-1106 Email: DHHS.Licensure2117@nebraska.gov

# RENEWAL APPLICATION Alcohol and Drug Counselor

**EXPIRES 9.1.2024** 

Your renewal application and fee must be POSTMARKED ON OR BEFORE 9.1.2024 to avoid expiration of your license.

<u>Online License Renewal:</u> You may renew your license online at <a href="https://nebraska.mylicense.com/">https://nebraska.mylicense.com/</a>. To register on-line you will need your license number, your social security number and a credit or debit card with a MasterCard or Visa logo.

<u>Fail to Submit Renewal by Expiration Date:</u> If you fail to submit a completed renewal by the expiration date, your license expires. To practice after this date, your license must be reinstated. If you practice without an active license, an administrative penalty of \$10 per day up to \$1,000 will be assessed for each day of practice.

# **License Information:**

1:00000 #:							
License #:							
Name:	First:		Middle:	Last:			
☐ If this is a							
CHANGE in name, check the box							
	Name Changes: If your name has changed, submit a photocopy of your marriage certificate, court order, etc., so						
	we can change your name on our records.						
Address:							
☐ If this is a NEW							
address, check the							
box							
City/State/Zip:	City:		State:		Zip:		
D. /F 'I							
Phone/E-mail:	Division		F				
	Phone:		E-mail:				
To renew your lies	ance veu	must have a valid Cosial Cosurity	Number or Alien Degistration Num	har			
To reflew your fice	ense, you	must have a valid Social Security	Number or Alien Registration Num	ber.			
Social Security Num	nber:						
-							
Alien Registration Number:							
3							
SS#: Neb. Rev. Stat	. §38-123 i	requires disclosure of your social s	security number to DHHS. Although	n your nun	nber is not public		
information, DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes as well as to the Nebraska Department of Revenue,							
Department of Labor and for other Administrative purposes.							

## Renewal Status (Select ONLY One):

☐ Yes	Active (\$175): I choose active status for my license. The renewal fee is (\$175)  Make check/money order payable to: DHHS, Licensure Unit. We do not except electronic payments for paper renewals.
☐ Yes	Inactive Status (\$0): I choose inactive status for my license. I cannot practice my profession in Nebraska after 9.1.2024. There is no fee or continuing education requirement for inactive status.
☐ Yes	Active-Military (\$0): I choose Active-Military status. We encourage you to check with your employer before choosing active-military. I served for 30 consecutive days on full-time active duty or approved leave after 9.1.2022. Military service is defined as full-time duty in the active military of the United States, a National Guard call to active service for more than 30 consecutive days, or active service as a commissioned officer of the Public Health Service or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. I understand that I may be required to submit a copy of my military orders to the DHHS Licensure Unit. There is no fee or continuing education required.

## **Renewal Questions:**

## Continuing Education (Answer YES to only ONE of the questions below):

#### **CE Completion:**

Continuing Education (CE): Do NOT submit CE Licenses to this office unless they are requested

I have met or will meet the continuing competency requirements on or before SEPTEMBER 1, 2024.

You MUST have completed 40 hours of acceptable continuing education, or have met one of the waivers, between September 1, 2022 and September 1, 2024 in order for your license to be renewed to ACTIVE status (not required if you request inactive status).

#### **CE Waiver Request:**

\_\_\_\_ Military Service: After 9/1/2022 I have served full-time duty in the active military service of the United States, a National Guard call to active service for more than 30 consecutive days, or active service as a commissioned officer of the Public Health Service or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Military service may also include any period during which a service member is absent from duty on account of sickness, wounds, leave, or other lawful cause. If you meet this waiver, you are not required to pay the renewal fee or meet the continuing education requirements.

\_\_\_\_ Initial License: I received my LADC license within the past 24 months (issued after 9/1/2022). If you received your LADC license less than 24 months ago, you are not required to meet the continuing education requirement, but you must pay the fee.

\_\_\_\_ Illness/Disability: I have suffered a serious or disabling illness or physical disability which prevented completion of the 40 hours of continuing competency requirements during the 24 months preceding the license renewal date. (Submit a statement from treating physician(s) stating that you were injured or ill, the duration of the illness or injury and the recovery period, and that you were unable to attend continuing education programs during this period.)

Continuing Education requirements are listed below:

ALCOHOL AND DRUG SPECIFIC HOURS: At least 20 hours of continuing education per renewal period must be alcohol and drug specific. (All 40 hours may be alcohol and drug specific) Continuing education hours approved by the Department or presented/approved by one of the following organizations will be deemed alcohol and drug specific:

- 1) Addiction Technology Transfer Centers (ATTC);
- 2) American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM); or
- 3) National Association of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC)

NON-ALCOHOL and DRUG SPECIFIC HOURS: A licensee may earn up to 20 hours of continuing education per renewal period in activities that may not be alcohol and drug specific. To count for renewal, these hours must be approved by one of the following organizations:

- 1) American Counselors Association (ACA) or National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC);
- 2) American Medical Association (AMA); Nebraska Medical Association (NMA);
- 3) American Nurses Licensing Center's Commission on Accreditation;
- 4) American Psychological Association (APA);
- 5) National Association of Social Workers (NASW);
- 6) American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists (AAMFT); or
- 7) Nebraska Nurses Association (NNA)

For each renewal period, a licensee may earn up to a total of:

- 1. 15 hours of CE through home study programs.
- 2. 10 hours of CE through research. This must be a peer review environment by either poster session or publication.
- 3. 15 hours of CE as the presenter. Hours will not be granted for repeat presentations within the same biennial.

Conviction:				
☐ Yes	I was convicted of a misdemeanor or felony after 9.1.2022			
□ No	If you have a conviction, You must submit the following:  1. A copy of the court record for each conviction (if they occurred in a State other than Nebraska);  2. Your explanation of the events leading to each of the convictions (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;  3. If currently on probation, a letter from your probation officer addressing the terms and current status of your probation.			
	NOTE: If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), the treatment provider must submit all evaluations/discharge summaries directly to the Department.			
Other Li	cense(s):			
☐ Yes ☐ No	I was licensed by another state(s) to provide health-related or environmental services after 9.1.2022			
☐ Yes	This license(s) has been denied, refused renewal, or disciplined after 9.1.2022			
□ No	<b>Disciplinary Action:</b> If your license from a different state <b>(NOT NEBRASKA)</b> has been revoked, suspended, limited, placed on probation, or disciplined in any way in the last 2 years, and you haven't reported it yet, we need an official copy of the disciplinary action that includes charges and disposition.			
	<b>NOTE</b> : ALL license disciplinary actions must be reported within 30 days of the conviction/action. Failure to report may result in disciplinary action against your Nebraska license.			
Citizens	hip/Lawful Presence (Answer yes to only ONE of the questions below):			
☐ Yes	I am a citizen of the United States.			
☐ Yes	I am <b>not</b> a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the federal Immigration and Nationality Act, or a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94 document, asylum, etc.			
☐ Yes	I am <b>not</b> a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and			
	documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc			
resident ca	zen: If you are NOT a citizen of the United States, submit a copy of your evidence of lawful presence, such as a permanent ard, Form I-94, asylum document, etc. OR an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation listed Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.			
resident ca under the l	zen: If you are NOT a citizen of the United States, submit a copy of your evidence of lawful presence, such as a permanent and, Form I-94, asylum document, etc. OR an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation listed Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.  ion:			
Attestat	zen: If you are NOT a citizen of the United States, submit a copy of your evidence of lawful presence, such as a permanent and, Form I-94, asylum document, etc. OR an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation listed Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.  ion:			

We will process your renewal as quickly as possible, but it may take up to a week if no additional documentation is required. You can check your renewal status at **dhhs.ne.gov/lookup**. When your renewal date changes, that means your license has been renewed, and you can print your wallet card. We will contact you if additional documentation is needed. We cannot renew your license until we have ALL of the required documentation.

We NO LONGER send the paper renewed license card; to PRINT YOUR RENEWED CARD go to:

dhhs.ne.gov/lookup

Date: \_