Minutes of the April 3, 2017 Board of Emergency Medical Services Conference Call

Dr. James Smith, Chairperson, called the conference call meeting of the Board of Emergency Medical Services to order at 3:00 p.m. on Monday, April 3, 2017 in Conference Room 3D on the 3rd floor of the Nebraska State Office Building located at 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska. The meeting was duly publicized by distribution of the Notice of Meeting and Agenda at least ten (10) days prior to the meeting and posting the agenda at the entrance of the Department of Health and Human Services Division of Public Health at least twenty-four (24) hours prior to the meeting.

Dr. Smith announced that this is a public meeting and the Open Meetings Law is posted.

The following Board members and staff called into the meeting:

Randy Boldt Karen Bowlin Joel Cerny Dr. Thomas Deegan Ann Fiala Don Harmon Troy Hiemer Linda Jensen Dr. James Smith Scott Wiebe

Mark Meyerson, Investigator Lisa Anderson, Assistant Attorney General

The following Board members and staff were present in the conference room:

Charles LaFollette

Claire Covert-ByBee, Program Manager

Jacye LaFayette-Dymacek, Health Licensing Coordinator

Mike Bailey, Dr. John Bonta, and Dr. Mike Miller were absent from the meeting.

Mr. Boldt moved, seconded by Mr. Hiemer to adopt the agenda. Voting aye: Boldt, Bowlin, Cerny, Deegan, Fiala, Harmon, Hiemer, Jensen, LaFollette, Rennerfeldt, Smith, and Wiebe. Voting nay: None. Absent: Bailey, Bonta, and Miller. Motion carried.

Mr. Rennerfeldt moved, seconded by Dr. Deegan to go into closed session at 3:05 p.m. to hear discussions regarding confidential information and to protect the reputation of individuals named or referenced in such discussions. Voting aye: Boldt, Bowlin, Cerny, Deegan, Fiala, Harmon, Hiemer, Jensen, LaFollette, Rennerfeldt, Smith, and Wiebe. Voting nay: None. Absent: Bailey, Bonta, and Miller. Motion carried.

Ms. Fiala moved, seconded by Mr. LaFollette to return to open session at 3:47 p.m. Voting aye: Boldt, Bowlin, Cerny, Deegan, Fiala, Harmon, Hiemer, Jensen, LaFollette, Rennerfeldt, Smith, and Wiebe. Voting nay: None. Absent: Bailey, Bonta, and Miller. Motion carried.

Mr. Boldt moved, seconded by Mr. Rennerfeldt to issue Alvo Rescue Squad a license to operate as a Basic Life Support Transport Service pending receipt of a valid back-up response plan signed by the Physician Medical Directors of all services identified in the plan and a quality assurance procedure signed by the Physician Medical Director. Voting aye: Boldt, Bowlin, Cerny, Deegan, Fiala, Harmon, Hiemer, Jensen, LaFollette, Rennerfeldt, Smith, and Wiebe. Voting nay: None. Absent: Bailey, Bonta, and Miller. Motion carried.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott Wiebe, Secretary